We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 7 days/6 nights while in Cabo for a friend's wedding. The wedding was being held at a resort that was not all-inclusive and we decided that an all-inclusive would be the most cost-effective option for us. We chose the Barceló after looking at other all-inclusive resorts close to the wedding location and the Barceló had the best reviews and over-all looked to be more our taste.

We arrived on November 2, the day after the Barceló became the Hyatt Ziva. We had only GREAT experiences with staff. Our check-in was smooth and we were greeted with welcome drinks. Our bags were brought to our room by Cruz, who was very friendly and informative. He pointed out where restaurants and other points of interest are while on our way to the room. We stayed in room 2524 (King suite) and had a nice view of the ocean. I was surprised by the size of the room and bathroom. Both were very spacious. We enjoyed having the mini bar in the room. It was restocked daily and one day we were in the room when they came to fill it and the staff let us choose what and how much we wanted. Other wise it was 2 waters, 1 corona, 1 corona light, 1 pepsi, 1 pepsi light, sprite and some Mexican juices. Also 1 bag of chips and some peanuts that my husband tried but did not enjoy! We didn't have any issues with our room being cleaned. We noticed that they cleaned late afternoon and they cleaned every day except one time when we had our do not disturb sign out. They slipped a note under the door letting us know why they did not clean. They did ask at check-in if we wanted it cleaned at a certain time of day, but we didn't request anything special.

This was only our second All-Inclusive experience and this place did not even come close to our first AI. We love to travel but we're young and our expectations are pretty standard. The food was always cold. We ate at the French restaurant our first night and our main course took a long time to come out, which didn't bother us, but our food was COLD when it got to us. The flavor of everything was great, but it was not enjoyable because of the temperature. We also ate at the Japanese restaurant and that was much better. The Verde salad was delicious and the sushi was great! Main dishes were warm when they got to us so that was a plus. We had dinner once at the international buffet and everything was cold. We also had breakfast every day at the international buffet (the only choice for breakfast) and everything was cold unless you got a made to order omlette. The Hacienda was definitely our favorite restaurant for lunch. They had a big salad bar with a lot of choices and then different burger choices. We got salmon burgers both times we went, they were so good! Coco Loco is close to the pool and you can get lunch there to bring to have by the pool or bring to your room. The shrimp tacos there are AWESOME but whatever you do, DO NOT get a hamburger!!!! They're like hockey pucks, absolutely terrible. The lobby bar is open 24 hours and they always have a little snack bar set up and a coffee machine. We were glad that there were always healthy options (fruits, veggies, salad bar, etc).

We didn't see any of the entertainment but the sports bar opened early and played American Football games all day on Sunday, which we enjoyed. We got a couples massage at the spa and that was great. I had 2 $20 off coupons from the resort credits we got from Expedia but because of the switch to the Hyatt, the spa receptionist said the computer didn't have the option for the coupon. Instead, she gave us 20% off our total which was a bit of a better deal! I think the total after the coupon was $215 (American) for 2 80 minute massages, which we didn't think was too bad.

Service for drinks at the pool was good and even better if you give a tip. We enjoy tipping and the ladies serving drinks to us at the pool definitely earned a good pne! The only thing we didn't like was that some of the servers stood and waited awkwardly for tips. Sometimes we left the room without cash and weren't able to tip so it could be uncomfortable, especially when at an AI where gratuity is supposed to be included. Others were just very good servers and were extremely appreciative for even a couple bucks. The drinks varied depending on what you ordered and where you were! We had some excellent mimosa's and servers recommended good shots, but one day at the pool I must've drank at least 6 Mai-Tai's without feeling the slightest buzz. You could not walk past an employee without hearing "Hola"; every employee we met was friendly and helpful. We didn't notice much of a language barrier, unless we were making joke; then it was obvious our sense of humor didn't translate very well!

We felt very safe both at the resort and on the beach. There are vendors on the beach, but they leave you alone if you say no thank you and ignore. One slapped a bracelet on my wrist and tried to sell it for $40, we told him we only had $15 and he took that. We walked the beach nearly every day to get to the resort where the wedding events were. At night we walked close to the resorts where it was well lit and during the day we walked by the water. There was about 4 times I walked the beach alone and I felt completely safe. The bellman always got us a taxi quickly when we needed one and let us know what the price should be to our destination so we didn't get hosed.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the things we didn't LOVE didn't ruin our trip. However, if we return to Cabo we will try another resort. There really wasn't anything specific to this resort that left a lasting impression, or made us want to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trudeaulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

At Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos we always appreciate all of your comments. Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection as possible.

Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Cruz, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

Thank you so much for your time and your comments, we are happy to hear from you.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,632
    736
    224
    94
    63
See reviews for
1,121
1,495
52
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
564 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

On November 1st this will become a Hyatt property and we hope they won't change much. We have stayed here several times and it's always excellent. Aside from some maintenance issues, which I expect Hyatt will deal with, this has always been an excellent place to visit. Great people who all expect to stay under the new management ( but aren't employees always told that?) As with all properties, people make the difference and here they're all excellent. They enjoy their jobs, many remember us from year to year, and they do their jobs well. We book with Delta Vacations for the extra benefits and are glad to see Hyatt still listed with them.
The food, security, and people are all the best and if it stays the same we'll go back every year.

Room Tip: Higher up floors have less noise from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and the time you took to write them.

We are pleased that you enjoy from our service and facilities, our main goal is to create unique experiences and being the favorite place to spend your vacations.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

we´ve been @barcelo one week last August for our honeymoon (after a week travelling in the USA) and we were very positively impressed! Nothing could have gone better! (we have traveled quite a lot and this was not our first AI)

If you want to party, we suggest Cabo San Lucas, we were there to relax and enjoy each other´s company!

The room was great with all the amenities described and it was always cleaned properly (we were in an ocean view room on the 6th floor on the left building from the reception)! They knew we were on a honeymoon so when we arrived we found a bottle of champagne and a box of fruit, that was lovely!

All the swimming pools are clean and very well taken care of and there is always someone asking you if you need something to drink!

Food at the buffet was great and varied at every meal (and there were always plenty of choices!) and waiters were extremely nice and friendly!
We tried four of the restaurants (Japanese, Spanish, French and the steak house) and they were all very nice! Contrarily to many review, my least favorite (even though it was good!) was the Japanese and I absolutely LOVED the stake house! We did not have any problems with booking the restaurants, but maybe it is because we were there during low season!

Also all the bars and snack bar were very nice and we were always treated very nicely!

You were never allowed to swim in the beach but we took the local bus to Chileno beach twice (a few dollars and around 10/15 minutes drive) which was amazing! naturally we also did trips to Land´s end and la playa del amor and a general snorkeling one! The surroundings are amazing!

taking advantage of the coupons, we also had a couple massage at the SPA! It was great to feel pampered and the spa is very good (also because after the massage you are free to use the separate spa section with sauna, steam bath and various water massages)

we have not been to many of the evening shows, but they seemed very well organized and fun!

I do not know what else to add, besides the fact that we loved our stay and we hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviola86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time during your honeymoon.

Chileno Bay is one of the most famous beaches were you can enjoy from snorkeling, kayaking and of course swimming, also you can enjoy the tranquility and beautiful sceneries that this paradise has to offer you.

We are happy to know that you felt more than welcome, we cannot wait to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just returned from a 1 week stay at what was the Barcelo Los Cabos and is now Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos. We were underwhelmed by most things - here is my review of the pros and cons:

Cons:
The Ocean in Los Cabos is not swimmable (we knew this ahead of time), but because of this you really rely on the pool for your swimming needs. The Pool was so cold - the coldest pool I've ever had at a resort. The 2 hot tubs at the front were never turned on (a previous guest said they were broken 7 months before and have never been fixed). Really nowhere enjoyable to swim!

Room was severely lacking general maintenance and generally in poor condition (just not what I expected from a 5 star resort). We arrived on a Saturday and the first time our room was cleaned was on Tuesday night, only because we called the front desk 5 times to ensure it would get cleaned (as we had called numerous times before) and then had to visit the desk in person. During our 7 day stay I believe our room was cleaned 2 times. We only placed the do not disturb sign on the door for approx. 2 hours every afternoon while our daughter napped. Several other guests at the resort told us their room had not been cleaned more than a few times throughout their stay as well - this was unacceptable! I didn't even know they had turn down service until half way through the week a maid showed up while we were in the room and handed me some chocolates. Also, we asked for a ground floor room, each room is supposed to have a balcony/terrace, and we thought it might have chairs or table. The terrace was actually concrete 1 ft x 3 ft with no chairs.

Many people got sick while we were there (myself included), be very careful of what you eat here, I was being very cautious and I still can't pin point what made me ill.

Activities by the pool throughout the day were minimal. I did see pool/beach volleyball but not much else.

The poolside bar, which is great snack food, has at least 1/2 hr - 1 hr wait each day for lunch and becomes very chaotic. Drinks by the pool were steady and served with a smile by Estella (sp?) each day, but when she wasn't there service was a bit slower. She really does a great job!

Pros:
Most staff were friendly and wanting to assist.

Kid's club was very nice - Claudia and Carla are fantastic and do a great job with kids activities each day.

Entertainment was top notch - There is a kid's show every night at 8pm - put on by Claudia and Carla, so the kids know them, it is a lot of fun. Again, they are both fantastic to deal with and do a great job.

The "main" show was each night at 9pm, and was a great as well. We loved it and appreciated the hard work by everyone involved, they have a very talented group making up the entertainment staff as a whole.

Food was overall good, restaurants were quick at serving - service was always good. Wish the restaurants would have had a kid's menu, I think Hyatt may be working on this change.


There were a couple other things worth noting:

Because of the change in ownership the day before our arrival, it almost seemed as if the resort had not been maintained for the last while. There was a lot of construction going on during our stay. Menus changed at each restaurant mid-week. It rained a couple times during our stay and they had to tarp off the transformer in front our room. By the main pool, were some planter boxes being worked on with a 15 foot drop half covered by plywood - that's just unsafe with so many children around. There was a mouse trap right outside our room.

Lastly, there was a large conference that came into the resort mid-week. The conference was not an issue and the large increase in resort capacity was handled well. What I found troublesome was the signage all over the resort. I couldn't even get a picture of the main area with the fire pits because every glass ball had the company logo on it. Our last day at the pool we had grabbed some chairs before breakfast, and when we came back every chair by the front pool had been moved so they could set up a corporate event that evening. Not only was all of our stuff relocated to the worst location possible. But there was no ocean view from the main pool (the setup was about 20 feet high) and the front part of the resort was unusable. That evening the show went until 11:30 right outside of all of the rooms with loud music. Another night the main part of the resort couldn't be walked through as they were having another function so you had to walk all the way around to get to the restaurants.

To summarize, these things don't make or break a trip - but for the price they charge, I don't feel like the delivered!

Tips to management: If housekeeping misses a room because your do not disturb sign is up, maybe they could slide something under the door, saying sorry I missed you please call x.#### to arrange a cleaning.

Also, other resorts have provided something each night under your door that show the weather forecast for the next day, and the entertainment for kids/families the next day etc...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation for your comments, since they help us to keep improving.

Our main goal is exceed your expectations, we are sorry to learn that you could not enjoy our services and did your stay less than perfect, your feedback helps us to improve. We are in continue training to offer all our guests the best quality and service, the departments involved are aware of the comments you pointed out and the properly actions has been taken.

We hope you give us another opportunity to show you our true level of service.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. All the staff members were very nice and helpful. Very beautiful view from all the rooms,clean and big rooms. 'A' class entertainment in the evening. But, we were disappointed by the restaurant. Before, I book the hotel, I call two times to make sure, that, they can provide us the veggie food or not. And they always answer me, yes they will make some arrangement for us. On our arrival at hotel, they gave us very warm welcome in lobby. On the front desk, they already had the information about my request. They told me, they have sent email to all the res. mangers and they will cook veggie food for us. We stayed there 5 nights, and everyday we went to the same buffet restaurant, and every time we need to call the chef, and request again for veggie food. and you know what can they cook in 10 minutes. Daily we told them about our period of stay, but they never bother to cook any dish for us. I do not know, If they can cook pasta with meat, rice with pork or fish, salad, with pork, sandwich with ham, different type of meat soups. why not they can cook one or two items from these things with vegetables. I was told by restaurant staff, that they can not cook any thing without exe. chef's approval. So this was exe chef's menu. But I will never recommend this hotel to any of my friends or relatives, as most of them are vegetarians

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amarjeet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly value your comments and the time you took to write them.

We are sorry to learn that you could not find many options from vegetarian food, nowadays our Executive Chef and his Team are in continue improvement to offer a variety of plates for all tastes.

We hope you give us another opportunity to show you our true level of service.

Best Regards

Francisco J.Silva

General Manager
Hyatt ZIva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,690 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,818 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,077 reviews
17.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Property: Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing