We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tacos ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Claros

Los Claros
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best tacos ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Currently this place is rated 29 th of 150 restaurants on tripadvisor but it belongs much closer to number 1. I have been scouring the top rated restaurants in cabos with this fine ap but today was feeling lazy so I just asked the guy at the front desk of our hotel. He said that this place was local, cheap, and delicious and boy was he right! The waiter and some of his other staff all came out to greet us and make us feel welcome. We saw the menu had a huge variety of tacos and each tried 3 different ones. mine included the marlin surfNturf and grilled shrimp. So delish. My gf had the scallop grilled fish and the marlin too. She puts it in her top 5 meals of all time! We will be back Saturday for lunch before we fly out!
Muchos gracias!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    64
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican cantina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had eaten at the San Jose site in July, 2012, but it was new and not yet listed on Trip Advisor for San Jose. Small, yellow front on Blvd. Mijares, across from small "mall." Four of us had lunch with beer. Constant music with a guitarist and keyboard-vocalist did songs like Margaritaville. If you want to talk, better to take seats at the other end, not next to them, but music was good. Menu mostly tacos and enchiladas, also some burritos. Last year mostly locals; more gringos this year, fairly busy for lunch. A topping table has sauces, onions, mushrooms, shredded veggies, shredded cheese, etc. for you to add your own toppings. We liked all the eats: "the surf and turf"or the shrimp or chicken or fish tacos, the shrimp and cheese enchiladas etc. All very good. Tortillas very fresh and flexible. Average for the 4 of us was 28 use.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bugdr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to go for tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've owned a place in San Jose del Cabo for the past 10 years. We're always on the look out for authentic taco places that have good value. This is it. The fish/seafood is cooked many different ways for around 25 pesos per taco. The salsa bar has everything you need to compliment your tacos. The owners buy small amounts of fresh fish everyday, and run out to get more if necessary.Beer is cold and inexpensive. Nice open walled seating area, and it's an easy walk from the hotel zone. We went on Cinco de Mayo, and the service was not slow. We will be back for more shrimp tacos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't be beat for quality or price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

3x times in a week, group had grilled fish Tacos, grilled shrimp Tacos, battered shrimp Tacos, and crunchy fish Tacos. right around $2 each.
No complaints from anyone, as a matter of fact, we all raved about the place. Big open Palapa, free fresh onion rings and battered chiles, beers under $2 each, service isn't always rapido, but you are in Mexico. Can't speak for other locations but this spot is Hot!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kntnrayn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Authentic Feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Not sure if it was an authentic taco place since a tourist like me was there. However, I seemed to be surrounded by locals. We had a fantastic smoked marlin taco, oyster taco, scallop taco, fish taco x 2 and octopus taco plus tip for $15. Although I was a little worried about the salsa bar with fresh toppings, none of our group of 4 got sick. Was the 2nd best meal of our stay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5fortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Claros also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Los Claros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing