We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need to go”

Las Cazuelas del Don
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The best charcoal grilled american steak cut, fresh local chicken and vegetable dishes, slow cooked in a traditional cazuela (clay pot) for additional, unique flavor... Simply delicious! El Don invites you to kill your capital sins... Bite by bite!! Where about: Coming from Cabo San Lucas to San Jose del Cabo on the Transpeninsular Highway, you pass Walmart (on your right hand side), at 100 meter is a traffic light wait for the left arrow, cross the hiaghway (there is a "Gift Shop" right on the corner), we are on the same block as the Oxxo store but on the other corner.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“need to go”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went there because of the reviews, I took my parents, they really enjoyed the soup, we like it so much we went, the second time. You need to go if you are in the area. The owner and his wife took time to talk to us. The food was great. The place was very clean.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gogene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are glad your parents enjoyed our Torrilla Soup and that you came back to have some more. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    41
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LI, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Homely Atmosphere & Great Unique Mexican Food!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were greeted by Alberto - Chef / Owner - of this nice quaint restaurant. We had a very nice lunch consisting of freshly prepared Portobello mushrooms; one with thinly fried queso on a sandwich roll and another on a large baked potato :) The Tortilla soup was also delicious and enough to share for two.

Alberto is very hospitable, explained the menu choices in detail and then prepared them with pride! The place is clean and off the beaten path in a residential area.

We hope to return here again on our next trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, reading that you enjoyed your visit and our food make us feel great and give us strength to keep working as hard as we do. Remember to come back on your next visit to Los Cabos, we will always have a table waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Portobello Pleasure”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Earlier this yearI visitred here and was totally impressed with the food, the ambiance and the very cordial staff. Most recently I returned and while things were great before, somehow they enhanced everything. Maybe that is to adjust to the swelling number of satisfied customers.
I have enjoyed their meat, fish and chicken volcanoes. When In asked the cheF for something new and different. He suggested the Portabello Volcanos. I had 2. OMG I can't remember the last time I tried something new that was that fantastic. This, with a delicious tast volcano is very light with a delicious taste and its own special aroma. I am on a diet and this healthy presentation was just what I needed. I couldn't believe the presentation and unique taste of this item. OMG I think I am in love.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
It is always a great pleasure to read this notes, we appreciate your concern to let us know your experience with our food. Portobello mushrooms are great elements to work with and our combination with the charcoal grill, the Cazuela and the other ingredients all together are awesome. Come back soon dear fried and enjoy our food as much as we enjoy your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cazuelas so nice, we ate them twice!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stopped here after reading rave reviews and we were very pleased to say the least! We had lunch and it was a little warm out but, Alberto was amazing and explained everything on the menu. He basically ordered for us. There were 5 of us an we shared 2 tortilla soups which, was maybe the best tortilla soup, ever! He then recommended the chicken and beef Cazuelas for us to share. These are slow cooked meats in a clay pot mixed with different vegetables (onion, cactus, etc) and then lots of gooey, melty cheese is added..he brought us out fresh tortilla's and we made taco's with them. It was heaven!
We loved it so much we went back and told our family, who was also staying in Cabo (for our wedding). A few days later we called to order MORE for our family. Alberto and his wife made enough for all 15 of us, packaged everything in their own tupperware containers, we took it back to their resort and devoured it! We returned their containers the next day and told them how much our family had a new found love for cazuelas.
You must go here. Great, local spot. Also, I think another reviewer mentioned, this place is BYOB. I believe they only carry flavored water.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandyW740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Brandy, how is the marriage life?
We truly hope you both are doing great and enjoying every minute.
Thank's so much for your comments, it was our pleasure to serve you, we enjoyed meting you.
We hope you come back soon and who knows... May be with a new member of the family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
386 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Que Rico”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This little gem is located outside of the tourist zone. That's just part of the adventure. Very unassuming,small,clean family run restaurant. We felt very welcomed by the owner,wife and their family. It's amazing this little place rated number 1 on TA is serving such great food at such reasonable prices. We shared the tortilla soup,had three tacos each,drinks (no alcohol served) and tip for around $20.00. A refreshing change from some of the overpriced restaurants in SJD.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mogcambomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
It was our pleasure to serve you, we enjoyed talking to you and hear your impressions about your visit to Los Cabos; we are glad you like it and hope you come back soon. Have a nice trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Cazuelas del Don also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Las Cazuelas del Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing