We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alberto is the man!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Cazuelas del Don

Las Cazuelas del Don
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The best charcoal grilled american steak cut, fresh local chicken and vegetable dishes, slow cooked in a traditional cazuela (clay pot) for additional, unique flavor... Simply delicious! El Don invites you to kill your capital sins... Bite by bite!! Where about: Coming from Cabo San Lucas to San Jose del Cabo on the Transpeninsular Highway, you pass Walmart (on your right hand side), at 100 meter is a traffic light wait for the left arrow, cross the hiaghway (there is a "Gift Shop" right on the corner), we are on the same block as the Oxxo store but on the other corner.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alberto is the man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Went here during spring break with my family. We arrived before he was opened, but he was already cooking, but he opened and invited us to sit and was extremely gracious. After ordering, we walked next door and got some beer and water bottles. Returned for the tortilla soup, which was awesome, with great depth of flavors. Smokes meat the chops it and slow cooks it with cactus, onions, garlic, etc. He serves it in various forms, with cheese and tortillas, as tacos, as tostadas, etc. We tried them all, and everyone was very happy. Open air, very casual and an amazing value in a touristy world. As long as you are not looking for white tablecloths and wine lists, you will be happy to hit this restaurant. Good for the whole family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It is always great to read these reviews, they make us feel so satisfied and willing to keep giving our best effort. Come back soon guys and thank's for your lines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    38
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Las Cazuelas del Don seemed to be the hot choice in San Jose on Tripadvisor so how could you not try it? There are plenty of great taquerias and high-end restaurants that serve the same dishes done their own way. I'm always on the lookout for something different so a visit was in order. All the reviews rave about the tortilla soup. I'm not really a fan but the owner Don suggested we share a bowl while we decide on our order. Now I know why it is always mentioned-it's very good. Don takes the time to explain the cazuelas. Each day there are three of his five available. You can't go wrong with any choice. Most of the ingredients are grilled first on a mesquite fire, then go into a cazuela for some serious slow cooking. The end result is a combination of flavors that you can't find anywhere else. After you choose the cazuela, you need to decide which way you want it served-tacos, torta, volcano, or papa. We visited twice and had a beef cazuela first, chicken on the second, ordering with tortillas. Along with the soup it is plenty of food for two. On a visit to the Organic Market on a Saturday we had the fish tostada. It would be hard to pick a favorite, all three choices were excellent. I don't think this is the top restaurant in San Jose but it is definitely one of the best choices. The fantastic flavors and the warm, friendly service in a casual, easy to find setting make a great evening. Visit Don and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
It is always a great pleasure to read comments like yours, we are pleased we sure are ready for your next visit. One we know for sure, if every time we cook we receive such comments, then we can't be wrong. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The very best in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The Tortilla soup was the best I have every had. And me and my wife had a bowl of anger and it was out of this world super good. And don talked with us for at least half hour. Very nice family I'll will be back for sure. I'm the big guy with the leg brace

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank's for taking the time to drop us some lines. We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to read you and your wife enjoyed our food. Our best wishes to you, good luck with your leg operation, have a full recover and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Different but very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Don was very cordial and he and his wife both made sure we had great service. I would say it has a very casual atmosphere and is very clean and modern. Since the main dishes are prepared in advance, they are very efficient and the food is brought to the table with very little wait time. Although the menu is somewhat limited, the food we tried was very good; we had tortilla soup, beef and chicken at the restaurant. We saw them at the organic market and tried the fish, which was also delicious. They served their food out of the beautiful clay pots used to slow cook the meat. Overall a very nice place to eat, we were glad we tried it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you at the restaurant and at the San Jose Organic Market, we love when this happen because we get the change to serve you more personally and offer you a few more choices. We hope to see you back soon and thank's for taking the time to drop us some lines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique Local Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Greeted by Don as we entered the patio seating area. Very friendly, he explained the menu to us and we tried a variety of items. As other reviewers noted the Tortilla Soup is excellent as are the Volcanoes (we had chicken). We also had the fish prepared with cactus, peppers and cheese in the clay pot -- delicious. Note that this is a very rustic eatery. Today, while shopping at the Organic Market in San Jose, Don and his weft both spotted our family and greeted us. Amigos!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonesUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfersan, Propietario at Las Cazuelas del Don, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you guys for your visit and your comments, it was a pleasure to serve you all. We are glad we could see you at the San José Organic Market on Saturday, we hope you enjoyed it as much as we all do. Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Cazuelas del Don also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Las Cazuelas del Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing