We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy local spot”

George's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy local spot”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at this great little local hideaway. They have amazing salads at dinner and cook your fresh fish. Music and lots of local characters around visiting the Hotel owners George and Joanne. Good food, good prices and lots of fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillOnaghAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Little Place for Lunch”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a great little place tucked away at the Marina. Right next to the boat docks with good service and great food. A new hotel/resort has been built in front of it which kind of ruined what must have been a spectacular view of the Marina, but its still a nice place. Very reasonable too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WesWooHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish, nice location , fish a little overcooked”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We drove down here from La Paz for a day. The restaurant is located adjacent to a charming hotel near the new luxury yacht marina just outside of San Jose Del Cabo. The fish is very fresh, portions generous and the prices good. I ordered a mixed seafood dish, which was very flavorful but slightly overcooked My husband had shrimp and marlin fajitas, which were quite good but his shrimp was overcooked and the marlin unevenly cooked. I read in Moon Guides that the author had the same observation. If they can take the fish off the stove just a minute or two sooner, the food would be close to excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Charm, Authenticity, Value”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The food facts: Fresh fish !!!! I mean really fresh!!! The menu shows 130 pesos for the chicken dinner and 120 pesos ($12) for the fresh fish. ( Less for the fish?) Because the place serves the fish caught daily directly from the panga fleet around the corner the fish costs them less than a chicken to serve. I prefer the basil and garlic covered fish but you can have it a number of different ways. Get there before 5 and enjoy "Happy Hour" with 2x Beers for $1.50.
The Charm: At the back of the new marina , on a dirt road leading to the locals beach of La Playita, in the Puerto Los Cabos development is this fine old hotel and restaurant. In the courtyard is a palapa roofed dining area adjacent to the pool. With palm frawn designed light shades and carved woods the roof itself is a piece of art. This is a tourist hotel from the 60's and hasn't changed much since then. With immaculate surroundings you will feel you stepped back in time. Before the advent of the " Timeshare" invasion when Los Cabos was a sleepy spot discovered by avid sports fisherman and hollywood stars.
Authenticity: Expect to hear laughing from the totally visible cooking area as these fine and welcoming people prepare your food. Domingo, the chef, was a chef with the famous '' One and Only Palmilla" for years and brings the culinary skills of the finest chefs in all of Mexico to you. A woman with a stack of clean and flower smelling blankets goes around to the tables offering a cover up at night as the dining area is outside under the beautiful palapa.
This is one of those,"we never come to Cabo without coming here to eat" places and no one I have sent in the last 10 years has done anything but rave.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Found by accident! Lucky thing...”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had spent the day at La Playita (the beach at Puerto San Jose) and when we decided to leave found that there were no taxis, as it is a long way into San Jose Del Cabo and there are no buses we decided to just wait it out for a taxi ... and fortunately found La Marina Inn just across the (dusty) street... We just ordered beer as we were not that hungry. However, the kitchen area and grill were right in front of us and I watched the activity as the cooks were preparing for the evening - grilling the peppers, making ceviche etc - everything smelled wonderful. I asked for some chips and salsa - expecting the usual. How could chips and salsa be this good? The salsa was incredible - I watched them grilling the tomatoes and onions which gave a rich smoky taste and it also came with a delightful smoked tuna dip. Fully expecting to be charged for the chips and salsa we were amazed, when the bill came, that they were actually FREE! The bar/restaurant is part of a little hotel - which was colourfully decorated with a nice pool area, and used to have a view of the marina.... sadly a huge ugly hotel/resort has been built right across the street and the only view now is of the back and service entrance of that hotel... however I would go back just for the food!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susiq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Restaurant also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to George's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing