We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“El ganzo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Ganzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Ganzo
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“El ganzo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good service and a nice hotel is not on the beach but the y tale You byte boat .it is hard to Finder it if You aré going forma the airport and You dont know were is located. I knew it was in puerto Los cabos that's how I got there

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank melchor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    64
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
24
195
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel El Ganzo for 3 weeks while filming a movie there. Let me just say that this hotel is the most magical place you could ask for. If you're looking for an authentic and incredible Mexican experience, look no further than the Ganzo. Tucked away in its own private marina, far from the Frat-packed cabo San Lucas, it sits beautifully awaiting the next group of guests. It's quiet, peaceful, relaxing and also enthralling to be there. It's thick with art and culture. Rich would great food and drinks. A truly spectacular place to lay your head at night. The service is attentive and endearing. The front desk will do anything, and I mean anything for you. Being there for a long period of time gave me an opportunity to really get to know the staff and for that, I am grateful. Make your next stay in cabo at the Hotel El Ganzo and you WILL NOT regret it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckiJo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at El Ganzo for nearly a month, and when it came time to depart, I felt like I was moving away from home. While I wished there was one more boat to take people to the beach club (there is only 1 so sometimes the wait is long), or large fans (floor and ceiling) to circulate the humid air in the restaurant outside at night, and on the roof top during sweltering concerts (I hope there are when I return), the only things I have to report are the incredible service from a generous and attentive staff (yes, some waiters are better than others, but patience is key - and if you aren't happy with something, simply speak up), amazing guest rooms with incredible beds and linens, wonderful fish tacos, amazing tuna/mango ceviche at the Container... it was all glorious. One additional item of interest: the hotel filters the water. We would buy a couple bottled waters and simply refill from the sink tap in our room. Even though the restaurant closes at 10pm, there is room service 24/7 and you can have it delivered outside at the restaurant or on the roof top anytime. The beach is safe to swim in (no dangerous undertows thanks to a break wall). El Ganzo is also located far away from the mall-like spring-break-like cluster-&%#k known as Cabo San Lucas, and this is a very good thing. It's actually peaceful and dreamy... quiet and relaxing. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writer/Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Where do I start? My husband and I stayed her in mid July 2014. Based on the photos we saw on the hotel's website along with the activities they promoted we were excited to begin our stay. Upon arrival and once we had a chance to check out the hotel, our disappointment began.

Service - Slow and unresponsive. Every time we sat down for a meal at one of the overpriced and over rated restaurants we had to wait for a server, wait for refills, wait for the sugar or cream to arrive after the coffee got cold. Etc.

Restaurants - Lack of variety, bland food, horrible hours. The hotel boasts that it has 3 restaurants. The one on the roof is only open briefly during the day, so any late night or afternoon sushi cravings will have to wait till the next day. The "Downstairs" restaurant along with "The Container" across the way serve almost the same food. The "Downstairs' also closes around 10 p.m. , so don't plan to eat here after a long day. "The Container" is open a bit longer but only till 11p.m. I ordered oatmeal and when it arrived it tasted like warm mush. My husband's egg's were overcooked and almost tasted powdered. For lunch and dinner you are pretty much limited to the local fish catch, a burger (but don't expect cheese, they ran out), or fajitas. As to the bar, don't bring any high expectations. Top shelf here is your "happy hour" swill from a dive bar.

Activities, what activities - We stayed Sunday through Thursday. There was not ONE event during this time period. No live music, no pool party, nothing. The lobby was a quite as a church on a midday afternoon.

Water, expect to pay - As most people know it is not advisable to drink the water in Mexico, so we went to the local market to purchase bottled water. When we attempted to bring in the bottles we were told that the per room limit is 2. The hotel does provide you with a daily allowance of 4 bottles, however they are 8 oz. bottles. So for 2 people, that is 2 glasses of water a day. Want more than that, expect to pay per bottle, plus tip as the hotel does not have a store of any kind so everything must be ordered.

HOT, HOT, HOT - The only place to escape the heat is your room. There is NO air conditioning in the hotel common areas or the restaurants. Even the lobby is HOT. So if you need a respite from the heat, expect to stay in your room.

Room - The only good thing here is the bed, which is very comfortable. The shower head is horrible and uncomfortable. Hot water, not really, its lukewarm. Run out of body wash, use the bar soap, they don't replace the bottle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El_Ganzo_GM, Manager at Hotel El Ganzo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hola Teresa P,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated and will help to improve our services.

Timely service in the hotel and in particular in our food and beverage operation is what we strive for , and regret that it was not up to your expectations .

The hotel’s open air design is made so guests can enjoy the beauty of Puerto Los Cabos, the Yacht Marina as well as the natural surroundings. During the summer months which are the warmest historically, guests come to enjoy longer hours at the pool or the beach club, and the very well air conditioned rooms hopefully provided a refreshing retreat for a comfortable nights sleep.

It is a shame you did not find any activities to your liking. Our music program is ample during the second half of the week however our music director maintains playlists daily throughout the hotel to set the tone. Our hotel daily activities include complimentary bikes and private beach club access with full restaurant and bar where there are Paddle boards, surf boards, and canoes are available for guests to rent as well as easy access to the Dolphin Discovery, also Transformational breathing weekly (wed) and Hatha Yoga (tue). Any additional activities can be booked outside the hotel through the concierge.

Once again thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again when we have our music month in the fall . when it would be a pleasure for our concierge to prepare a tailor-made program for you.

Best Regards


Ella Messerli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful super trendy hotel which you could spend all day relaxing on the rooftop pool.

The food was excellent, the guacamole and tacos were superb.

The beach club with the boat transportation was a nice touch and the paddle boards were super fun.

Only two complaints, one that the hotel is far away from classic downtown, which can be a good thing and a bad thing depending on what your looking for. And that they charge $75 per a person extra for the room even if they cannot offer double beds, which was dissapointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostInAsiaSince2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was a guest of the hotel from Thursday July 3 through Sunday July 6, 2014. During our stay nearly everyone in our group encountered inconveniences ranging from long wait times (for drinks, food, and checkout) to not being allowed to consume food and drink that we purchased in the public areas of the hotel. Also, you will ascertain below, we were extremely unhappy with the hospitality upon arrival. When my friend’s wife made our reservation over the phone in December (very far in advance in order to receive the group rate for the wedding we were attending) she made it very clear that we needed a room with two beds because four of us were staying in the room. My friend and his wife were first to the hotel and checked in. When my girlfriend and I arrived later that day, we were held at the front desk until my friend came down to sign a voucher for an outrageous additional nightly, per person charge. Although we explained the situation several times, no one seemed to care. At no time during the initial reservation process did anyone mention the egregious charge of $70 plus 29% tax, per person per night for additional occupants. And because this hotel is in the middle of nowhere (you will be shocked at the surrounding area) we had no other alternative but to essentially be extorted for the money by the front desk as otherwise we would not be allowed to access the room. This amounted cost us an additional $550 in expenses we had not planned on. If it was clear that we were going to be charged for having two additional people in the room, the total charges would have been substantially similar to both couples each procuring a separate room. Obviously, reasonable people would have chosen to reserve two rooms instead of one, to secure optimum privacy and comfort, if the cost of doing so was substantially the same as reserving one room. The whole reason for the two couples reserving one room was to save money, which, without remedy, we did not accomplish.

Upon our return home we tried to contact hotel management to explain the issue hoping they would issue a refund for the misunderstanding on their part. Know what the hotel’s general manager they told us? She claimed the reservation was only for two people, AND that because the charge was already processed by their central office they are unable to reverse it. End of Story. CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT? (Again - Why would a newly married couple book a room with two beds, and why did no one mention the additional per person charge (plus 29% tax) when the original reservation was very clearly made for FOUR PEOPLE?) As we were getting nowhere with the hotel we then tried to contact the Preferred Hotel Group which the El Ganzo is a member of to explain the situation and hopefully get some sort of remedy. They did not even bother to return either of the two emails we sent.

I am a very ethical person and am not in the practice of attempting to get a refund on goods and services that are fairly priced and represented as such. However, in this case, I feel very strongly that we were unfairly charged and would have expected the hotel to make things right. They did not, and I thought everyone should be warned about the way business is conducted at this establishment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you are searching for a place where you can enjoy wonderful hospitality, excellent service, luxury rooms, a fantastic infinity pool on the roof, and a private sandy beach protected from the main rough waters of the Sea of Cortez, the Hotel El Ganzo is certainly a great find. Swimming in the pool or taking a bath under the starry sky is unforgettable. The boat rides between the hotel, the beach, and the restaurants are pure pleasure. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The food and the drinks are exceptional, and the service is outstanding. Love the artsy waterfall inside the building. The park around the marina with fancy yachts is great for walking or biking. There is a beautiful artwork with paintings and sculptures by a Mexican artist Leonora Carrington along the trail. So many opportunities for taking amazing pictures! Love the place!

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the park, the marina, and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HPARFENO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,407 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 3,460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#10 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,543 reviews
7.7 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#1 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ganzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ganzo

Property: Hotel El Ganzo
Address: El Tiburon s/n, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Ganzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Ganzo is Los Cabos' hippest and most unique luxe boutique hotel, often described as a place of experiences. With its very own Cultural, Art & Musical program, it is a member of 'Preferred Lifestyle' and offers 60 deluxe ocean view rooms, three Master, four Large and two Very Large suites. Expansive views of the Sea of Cortez and Puerto Los Cabos Yacht Marina set the tone. Perfectly situated between the area's natural beauty and modern delights, the property stands at the mouth of Marina Puerto Los Cabos bordered by the fisherman's wharf, and is only a 20-minute drive to the airport or just 5 minutes to the historic town of San José del Cabo and the famous Art Walk. Dining options are multiple on site with the Gachoo Sushi Bar, the Upstairs Bar wrapped around the infinity pool and signature glass Jacuzzi, Ganzo Downstairs Restaurant overlooking the marina, or the private Beach Club Restaurant on our swimmable beach. With a complete spa and golf 5 minutes away at Puerto Los Cabos Golf Course, El Ganzo truly is a unique hotel and experience in Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Ganzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Ganzo Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing