We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why go anywhere else when there's a Las Olas Condo?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Olas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Olas
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why go anywhere else when there's a Las Olas Condo?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Las Olas only has one draw back and that's the road noise (and only if you let it bother you) as the pluses far outweigh any negative; the PERFECT beach location close to town, on the surf breaks (small, mediium and large) and within walking to dining, entertainment and spa's. We were very happy with our condos B401 (comfy bed and sofas, padded chase lounges and nice patio and chairs, redone master shower, newer BBQ, large TV which we rarely used, WIFI) and B402 (great view, nicely stocked kitchen, Umbrella, Chairs, surflocker) for amenities but they were both very very nice. There are many short and long term rentals available in Las Olas from 1 - 3 Bedrooms. If your unit does not have WIFI it is available down in the common room which also has new work out equipment and a book lending library.
If you don't have enough of an in your face surf picture from the comfy sofa you can always take a chair by the pool or move your party to a umbrella covered picture perfect table beachside. Everyone is so friendly. Just bring your sunscreen and smile. Las Olas is a warm welcoming oasis not to be missed. The kind of place that makes you want to extend the vacation and call it "home."

Room Tip: B building is nosier that A Building. Higher floors have better ocean views but lower units are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank costaazullpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Perfect family vacation location. Two adults and two kids, 9 and 12, just returned and enjoyed the place so much I signed up on tripadvisor just to compliment the owner. We stayed in unit 401b, very clean with great views. The unit was well furnished, big screen, wifi, new furniture and great ocean front view that over looked the pool and ocean. A positive vibe from all locals and other renters, along with perfect chest high clean waves all week. Surfers dream!! Arleady to reserve for next year!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Las Olas #401 A (3bdrm, 2ba) is situated on the corner with an amazing outdoor patio that has a large dinning table and chairs/ couch for lounging. We had 6 in our party and there was plenty of room for all of us. The owners are very accomedating and are quick with their communication responses. Our family enjoyed the small private beach, watching the surfers and even rented 2 paddle boards from Costa Azul for a very resonable charge. In the evenings we enjoyed the pool and hot tubs. It was very peacful and quiet when we were there. The condo is close enough for a day trip to Cabo and a quick hop from the Mega mart. We mostly cooked our own meals. Zippers is next door and served excellent fish tacos and pina coladas. Also near by is 2 great snorkeling beaches. We prefered Chileno beach. It was a great suncation. We will definetly return in the near future.

Room Tip: This is a corner unit near the back of the condo. There is some road noise but didnt keep us up at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kjk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

There is a strange dichotomy between the natural splendour encompassing this condo, so evidently visible from each poorly aligned window/door/screen doors, and the appalling state of affairs inside these walls. People often use the phrase " if these walls could talk, imagine the stories they would tell" well in this case of A600, that would be a tale of woe and disappointment. A "Penthouse" by definition epitomizes luxury, decadence, convenience cleanliness and comfort; this has not been our experience. Imagine having seen the world, stayed at first class resorts and enjoyed the splendours of countless tropical vacations only to arrive here and find conditions that would warrant a refund and apology in even the basest hostel. In lieu of enjoying the sunshine and surf, we were forced to sanitize the kitchen and bathrooms immediately upon arrival. Our discomfort was only compounded when we discovered that there weren't even any cleaning supplies available to remove the filth left behind by countless other guests. By the time we trekked to Mega to retrieve what should have been provided, we had the awful experience of scrubbing the floors ourselves...in the dark. Yes, that's right, 1/2 of the lightbulbs were burnt out husks. After fumigating our sinuses, and the various unwashed dishes, with bleach we were forced to endure almost an hour of confused scrambling in the dark in a vain effort at reviving that rusted out shell of a BBQ. Originally we thought that it wasn't working because it was so dirty all the lines were clogged with rusted grease. Lo and behold, two days later we received a replacement propane tank which fixed half of the problem. The industrial level of corrosion and accumulated grease and debris still made cooking an uncomfortable exercise. Sure, a good scrub got the grill clear of rotten food and stray metal but it also ruined our clothing. Had we known that cooking a hotdog would require head to toe protection from stray particulates of rusted steel, we would have hired a mechanic to do it for us. The interior had little more to be proud of. The curtains hung from their rods like drunken fools. The linens and towels were only in sufficient quantity for a single guest, preferably small, hydrophobic and blind. The various stains bore a striking resemblance to gravel slurry sprayed onto a wedding dress. The dark blotches on the couch screamed vomit. With this laundry list of defects, one would think that we were describing an apartheid era shantytown. Of course, those poor suppressed races of Africa at least had access to proper kitchen utensils and equipment. No such liberty was granted here. We had to buy a frying pan just to cook dinner. We had to grovel on the neighbour's doorstep to borrow a carrot peeler. The knives were so dull the cucumbers laughed at them. The remaining implements were a meagre selection of broken, crippled and utterly worthless collection of hand me down cast offs. The glasses were insufficient both in quantity and quality. Aside from the myriad reasons why 6 people don't want to share the same cup for breakfast, there remains the logistical problem of cleaning the few remaining dishes. The dishwasher likes to kneecap people with a ferocity the IRA would envy. It probably wouldn't assault your guests if someone bothered to finish installing it. Suffice it to say, this condo would barely quality as a vacation destination. An example of how not to manage properties perhaps, but certainly not somewhere anyone without an unhealthy dose of masochism would ever consider pleasant or enjoyable. We do understand that there is a bit of a demand for a "rustic" look but a jagged piece of rusted metal jutting up from the dining room tale is a little extreme. This is a health concern at the very least. Something could also be said for the age and condition of the front door. The locking mechanism was basically non-existent, patience is definitely a virtue when trying to secure your belongings. All sarcasm aside, the condition of the condo was almost a constant conversation piece amongst our family since we arrived and if for no other reason, we thought we should voice our displeasure. We have been all over the world and have rented a variety of homes and condos and quite frankly , this one is probably in the worst condition we have encountered. In many of the places we have stayed in, the cost was less than 50% of the rate that we paid at A600 and received much better value for the cost. We had conversations with other guests in the complex and they have had similar concerns.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert L, Owner at Las Olas, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Yes, at Las Olas we do own both the A-600 Penthouse.and the B-600 Penthouse.
We had left the care and control of the A-600 Penthouse for many years under the management of a local property management firm and it has only been recently that we have personally taken over the management of our A 600 Penthouse.
This now has been refurbished and brought to a standard that is to be expected.
I do apologise for not having investigated sooner those conditions.
regards, Albert Lecomte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steamboat springs co
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Las Olas # 402 "B" (a 2 bedroom/2 bath) was rumored to be the "best equipped" condo in the rental pool. It was my first visit so I can't confirm by comparision but CAN from my experience. I enjoy cooking and the kitchen had everything I needed. The 2 bedroom/2 bath unit is very clean and comfortable. The outdoor "double" covered balcony is a terrific bonus where I spent hours enjoying the sunrises w/bird symphony at daybreak, reading/relaxing, delighting in ocean viewing, whale watching, the paddle boarders, surfers, and eating many delicious fresh homemade meals (complete with placemats & owner provided candles).

The pool area is excellent. Early each morning staff preps the pool area down to raking the sand area, not to clean the sand, but seemingly to even it out and give uniform lines to welcome and start the new day fresh.

After an outing to explore the city, It always felt good to return to the complex with the guarded gate and back to the peace and solitude Las Olas offers. The complex is small enough tho, that after repeat visits to the pool, if desired, some interaction with owners or other visitors is inevitable. After only a couple of days we enjoyed a "happy hour" at another unit and several days later, a poolside "birthday" party for someone who returns to Las Olas for two months each winter.

From my observation there was only one fact on why I didn't rate Las Olas excellent and
it is because of traffic noise off the Hwy. It is only noticable when in the parking lot or entering the unit from the streetside. If one is a light sleeper it could be a concern. For me and other guest...it wasn't a big deal and everything else wonderful kept us in full grateful mode.

The Las Olas location is an excellent combo of privacy with convience. The property is set just above the Sea so unlike most of the other complexes people walking by can't look into the pool area. However, when it's time for socialization or action, one just needs to walk out the Las Olas gate down to the beach which takes about 1 minute.

I could go on and on raving about my experience because I've traveled to many seaside resorts and countries including Hawaii, the Keys, The Mexican Rivera, Costa Rica and Belize so comparatively " hands down" the ease of the access from the airport to San Jose to Las Olas and everywhere else the area has to offer by far beckons my return sooner than later. In fact, I will be one of the converts from staying a week to longer & longer instead. Total thumbs up!

Room Tip: 402 B is on vrbo #118374
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountainhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Overall, this condo was excellent with only a couple downsides.

The condo is in a very beautiful location right on a major surf-break. In fact, if you are a surfer, this is really the place to be, and there was no shortage of other surfers kicking back by the pool, or hauling there boards down to the beach. There was a surf shop next door that rented boards and gave lessons. Locals came to play in the surf here, skim-board, boogie board, and surf. My youngest daughter found the surf intimidating, but it was quite safe with no undertows or rip-currents that I spotted.

The condos are well appointed. We stayed in a two bedroom, and it had all the comforts of home. We had everything we needed and it truly felt like a home away from home. It was comfortable and relaxing. The nearby Mega store provided us with all the supplies we needed to cook our meals, including some excellent fresh fish, marinated steak and fresh tortillas. If you don't feel like cooking, there are plenty of nearby restaurants both on the road and on the beach.

The center of San Jose is just a short drive away in is a good place to hang out in the evenings. The vibe here is much more laid-back than in San Lucas, but there are still hustlers.

The swimming pool was in great condition, and we used it every day. The view from the balcony was outstanding, and we enjoyed watching the surfers while we ate our dinner, and watching the moon rise over the water.

Parking at the condo was never a problem for us, and the guards were helpful and friendly. We felt welcome at the condo, and never felt like strangers or intruders.

I'd definitely stay here again.


Traffic Noise and car-less travel

Much has been said in other reviews about the traffic noise. The condo is situated directly adjacent to the main road between San Jose and San Lucas, and is really one of the last condos as you leave town. The road is very close, and from the entrance door side of the condo, the traffic noise is significant. However, once inside, the noise is much diminished. The only areas within the condo that experience any significant noise are the bedrooms. How much this bothers you really depends on the person. None of us had any trouble sleeping whatsoever.

From the balcony side of the condo, the ocean noise completely drowns out any traffic noise, and is in many ways, much louder, and much more pleasant.

Engine braking is technically permitted on the hill adjacent to the condo, though we heard this sort of thing maybe a half-dozen times in our 5 night stay.

There was no construction or other sources of noise that bothered us.

Overall, noise was a NON-ISSUE.

I could not imagine staying here without a car, as it is not situated close to many services (though there are many things within walking distance. ) I'm sure public transportation is not that far away, but it would be a pain to stay here with a family and have to marshall everyone up and down that busy road to get taxi or bus. I had a car, so I can't really comment from experience.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bassomatic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Las Olas Condos is located at the 28km mark on the highway running between San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. It is directly across the highway from the Costa Azul Surfshop.

The complex has 2 bldgs. Each bldg is 4 or 5 apartments "wide" and 5 or 6 stories high. They are positioned to form a 'V' facing the ocean. Bldg A faces southwest, Bldg B faces southeast. The views from Bldg A are slightly better and Bldg A is better positioned with respect to the highway. A high concrete wall separates the complex from its next door neighbor "Las Residencias de la Costa Azul".

There is beach access. The steeply inclined sand formation directly in front of the complex means that the waves swell up just a few feet from the water line and then crash in the final couple of feet. For bathers wanting nothing more than a bathtub ripple, this can be intimidating; instead walk eastward a hundred yards.

The complex offers immediate proximity to several surfing breaks, including (from east to west) Zippers, The Rock, and Acapulcito. Zippers is a beachbreak for shortboarders, The Rock is a reliable break but better for skilled surfers, and Acapulcito is directly infront of Cabo Surf Hotel and Spa and is filled with beginners, surf lesson students, and even more experienced surfers.

We stayed in B102, a ground floor 2 bedroom unit. It was clean and comfortable, although the sofas were a bit tired and worn. We did not have any complaints about the complex or the condo-unit itself. We really enjoyed our stay.

Bring ziplock bags, tiny ants and crawlies are everywhere in the region. No buildings seem immune to them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExNeddiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.2 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#22 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Los Cabos
Hotel Aeropuerto Los Cabos
#30 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Property: Las Olas
Address: Km 28 | Playa Costa Azul, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Specialty Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Las Olas Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Las Olas Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing