We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was the second year in a row that we stayed at Secrets for our Anniversary and it was everything we could hope for and more. The staff, the location, the views, the pools, the service and the peacefulness of the resort make it a place we want to keep coming back to year after year. In fact we love it so much we've already booked our Anniversary trip to Secrets in July 2014 and we can't wait! We stayed on the 5th floor both times and the views from our room were just incredible. If you want to relax but still have the option to have some fun with the activities staff or just go to the spa and relax by the pool all day this is the resort for you. July can't come soon enough....

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor are amazing! We stayed in 516 and 520.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDADof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara A, General Manager at Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your heartwarming feedback. We are honored to be your resort of choice for such an important occasion as your anniversary and we are very much looking forward to your visit in July. I couldn’t agree more that, among other factors, it’s the peacefulness of our resort that keeps many of our guests coming back year after year, and how wonderful that you are among them. In fact, for an even more relaxing experience I would like to recommend that you try our full-service Holistic Spa during your next stay. It is one of the largest spas in Latin America and is truly a sanctuary of peace and pampering.
Hasta pronto!

Kind Regards,
Ankara Angulo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    318
    87
    31
    24
See reviews for
107
1,213
39
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband & I and another couple stayed at this resort March 8th through the 15th. We had a great time! It's only half and hour from the airport and right off a highway, but you'd never know it. The lobby is beautiful and open with a view of the ocean. Our room was spacious with a jacuzzi tub and plenty of closet space. We booked with Costco and got upgraded to an ocean front room, but it seems all of the rooms are ocean front. Our room was kept clean and we always had plenty of towels. There's nightly turn down service- they missed us twice, but it was no big deal. The restaurants were excellent. Yes, one restaurant was always closed for dinner, but there was always a nice choice of food. The seafood was amazing, especially the ceviche! All the food seemed very fresh. The infinity pools were so pretty, overlooking the ocean. The beach was great for long walks. It's such a shame you can't swim in the ocean. It looked so calm and the water was so clean, but apparently too dangerous due to riptides. The Hilton is a short walk from Secrets and there is a area of the ocean roped off that you can go in, but it's not very big. We even we to Cabo San Lucas and there too, just a small area of the ocean is swimmable. It didn't matter, we just relaxed by the pools at Secrets! Everyone we met from the resort was friendly, yet professional. Alejandro was our waiter the morning we left and asked that we mention him if his service was good, so I will, but as I said, we really thought everyone was terrific. Even the people selling things on the beach, off the property, were polite and not pushy. I know the resorts pay attention to these reviews. I hope Secrets management continues to keep up the good work. We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I don't think you need to pay for an ocean front room. I'm thinking the only rooms that mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanD42658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

All rooms have an excellent view of Sea of Cortez except some of the luxury casitas. If you want to go into the ocean this isn't the place. Guests are not permitted into the water. One has to walk to a beach in front of the nearby Hilton. However the sand is very soft and walking isn't easy. No kayaks or water sports offered.
Food is very good and it has a variety of restaurants. First impression wasn't good. Our flight was an hour late and while no fault of the resort we didn't arrive until after 8:30 P.M. Was just told go to the Italian restaurant, even though the French was also open. Although lots of tables were set and available we were told to wait. Service was dismal and we weren't served until 45 minutes later. After a 4+ hour flight and delay seems resort could have been more accommodating to the late arrivals.
This problem with waiting to be seated extended to the rest of the week. The French restaurant one night said no inside seating was available even though a table was open. A foursome came and was told a 90 minute wait! A threesome came shortly after and was seated about 15 minutes later. Seems some restaurant staff doesn't want many to serve.
Rest of resort staff was excellent. Around the pool and in the Dos Mares seafood restaurant service was impeccable. If you wanted a beach umbrella moved, food or drink brought to your beach chair it was done with pleasure. They went out of their way to please.
Room size is good, room service good and on time. A sofa for 2 is in the room and each has a balcony. Bring binoculars to see whales. We were there March 9 to 15 and saw several.
A drawback was the catering to large convention groups. This seems to be occurring at many resorts.

Room Tip: Try for 4th or 5th floor. Lower floors near the center bar area can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theatregoernap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent 4 days at this resort to get out of the cold. We have travelled extensively and
found the food at this all inclusive absolutely outstandingl!! The grounds are well kept
and the staff were wonderful. I had a massage by Nicki, who was fantastic. The only
slight negatives would be that some of the furniture is a little worn. Also, if you are
an ocean swimmer, Cabo in general, is not the place to go. In the morning before the
tide comes in, you can actually walk from the Marquis to the Hilton or the Westin on
the beach. Seems that all the rooms face the beach and have a lovely view. Bring
your binoculars to view the whales in March!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveld803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful resort from February 19 through February 26. This was our second stay at Secrets Marquis, but we have been to many other all-inclusive resorts in Mexico.

Secrets Marquis provides everything I’m looking for in an all-inclusive resort: serene atmosphere, a beautiful beach, good food and drinks, and superbly attentive service.

We initially selected this hotel specifically because it was adults only. I significantly underestimated how the absence of children changed the entire vacation experience. At the end of the day, the pools remained pristine – no floating plastic cups and bits of food and God knows what else in the pool. The majority of vacationers are couples of all ages either on honeymoons, anniversary trips, or romantic getaways. This results in a tranquil resort. Music is played by the pool during the day, however it is not thumping club music. It varies from spa-like instrumentals to 80-90’s hits which are kind of fun to sing along to. We did see one couple in their mid-sixties who seemed to take the all-inclusive drinks as a challenge and got falling down-hit their head on the pool-needed first aid-drunk. A waitress ended up helping them back to their room. On our first stay in October 2013, there was a group of twenty-somethings staying who apparently booked their stay without reading Tripadvisor because they were there to party spring break style. They were drunk, loud, and disruptive by two in the afternoon. Management was very “attentive” to this group and firmly but politely shut them down, bless them.

As we stayed in the thick of whale season, we brought along binoculars and spent the majority of the day watching the ridiculous number of whales breaching. Some days were spent at the gorgeous infinity pools, the other days we spent on chaises on the beach. We never had to do the early morning chaise save to get a seat. On beach days we would begin to move the chaises, table, and umbrella closer to the surf to get a better view when multiple employees would sprint over to move these things for us.

Drinks – our cocktail needs are rather simple - basic mixed drinks with quality liquor and we were never disappointed. I always tried the “cocktail of the day” – sometimes a hit, sometimes a miss.

Food - breakfast is the only buffet at the resort. After staying at some all-inclusives where buffets served in cafeteria type settings are the only food option for all meals, I loved being able to choose a restaurant in the evening. For breakfast I unapologetically stuffed myself on brie, French bread, and chilaquiles. After breakfast we would stop at the café downstairs and grab a Frappuccino. We chose to eat lunches on the beach or poolside (which are brought to your chaise on proper plates with cloth napkins and silverware). We ordered our lunches from the seafood restaurant, Dos Mares- delicious fresh fish everyday. For dinner we enjoyed all the restaurants, particularly the Barefoot Grill which on some evenings serves dinner under the stars right next to the beach. We had delicious grilled shrimp and asparagus. The French restaurant, Canto Del Mar, was also a favorite. Do keep in mind there is a dress code. I did see a previous post which asked “what man brings long pants, collared shirts, and dress shoes to a beach resort in Mexico where you go to relax?” My answer – umm, what kind of man doesn’t? How hard is it to make an effort? – put on a linen shirt, some khakis and loafers. We did see a few people trying to get in wearing flip flops, shorts and sweatshirts – seriously.

The staff and quality of service are the shining stars of this resort. Whether we were on the beach or at the pool, we never had to wait for drinks or menus. Quite often drinks were simply brought to us unasked because the amazing staff thought we might want one. One day while on the beach, my husband simply raised his head from reading and our waiter immediately came running down to him anticipating he might need something. The activities staff was also delightful and engaging.

Prior to our first trip to Secrets Marquis, I did see some negative reviews which did make me question whether this was the right choice for us. After experiencing this resort, I marvel that anyone could find something to complain about. Then again, while at breakfast one morning, I did hear a couple summon the waiter and send their coffee back complaining that it was too hot and needed to be cooled down. So, I suppose if people need to find something to complain about, they will.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thosechuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara A, General Manager at Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Secrets Marquis Los Cabos. Your kind words only make us work harder every day to make sure every single guest leaves our property with a smile and a burning desire to come back. When you point out that “the staff and quality of service are the shining stars of this resort” I couldn’t agree more. While our oceanfront location, stunning views and gourmet dining options all play an important part, it’s our team that makes each experience one to remember. We understand how precious your vacation time is and wouldn’t want to miss any opportunity to make you feel as comfortable and pampered as possible. Because you deserve it! We look forward to having you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Ankara Angulo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, OH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent our first 2-nights at a boutique hotel, which we absolutely adored. Then, we moved to this hotel for 4-days for my husband's company's incentive trip. Our room was on the top floor (513) and we had a gorgeous view of the water, sunrise, and whales! This is our first time at an all-inclusive...my expectations were very low for such types of hotel. WRONG....for this hotel was wonderful! First, the staff was superb! Everyone was so attentive to all guests' wants & desires from the maids, to the waiters at all the restaurants, to the bar staff, to the pool set-up crew, and to the enthusiastic activities staff. They wanted to please all their guests. I hope guests appreciate how hard these individuals work! Perfect size hotel. Pool is stunning overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: The 5th floor, which is the top, was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This resort is the ultimate in luxury. From the time we were welcomed, getting off the shuttle from the airport, until our luggage was loaded on the return shuttle, I felt like royalty. The service was impeccable, from being seated at our table for dinner by Nancy, or the drinks being served poolside by Natcho, Victor, Eduardo, and all the rest of the staff. We stayed in suite 433, and had an amazing view, watching humpback whales breaching from our balcony. The food was delicious, the atmosphere regal, the grounds neatly groomed, and the service, fit for a king..... or queen.
I am looking forward to our return to Secrets Marquis next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
5.8 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#7 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
8.4 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#10 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
12.0 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa

Property: Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 21.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury(R) for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Marquis Los Cabos, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing