We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Paradise has to look a lot like this!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquis Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marquis Los Cabos
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Ada, ok
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Paradise has to look a lot like this!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the minute you enter the open air lobby, you see nothing but stunning views, in every direction. The staff is friendly and eager to please, and I've never heard, "it's my pleasure," as often in my life.

The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with well stocked mini bars.

BE SURE you meet Erick, one of the servers who works various restaurants and around the pools during the day. He was awesome, and my husband enjoyed the daily Spanish lesson from him each day!

The food was fantastic. Possibly the best tuna we have ever had during our final dinner at Dos Mares. Oh, also at Dos Mares-the Baja Ceviche and fish tacos were out of this world! We had the ceviche everyday for lunch...and they will bring it to you around the pool - just ask! Also, the breakfast buffet is delicious and a great variety. Fresh fruit was wonderful!

The grounds and beach were gorgeous. And the staff was visibly keeping it that way-they work hard! Room service was quick. Concierges were very helpful -we had trouble connecting to wi-fi, but one trip to the concierge fixed that!

A few things kept us from rating this resort as 5 star. Having been to the Secrets Merona Beach in Playa del Carmen set the bar incredibly high -this location, while breathtakingly beautiful is simply not as nice. And there were a few little things that are overlooked - while the floats/rafts in the pool were nice to have, the fact that they were torn and worn was very noticeable. Seemed strange at a resort of this caliber. Also, the bartenders seemed untrained, or maybe they have bad mix. The alcohol was good -it just seemed the mixes weren't-bad tasting tonic, juices, etc.

Overall, we had a wonderful trip. If your destination is Cabo, you can't go wrong here! Don't forget to meet Erick. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mln68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    282
    84
    30
    21
See reviews for
77
1,065
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I just got back from three nights at Secrets Marquis. In the past 17 years, we've been on many great vacations to Hawaii, the Caribbean, Riviera Maya, many cruises, etc. So we have high expectations. And Secrets Marquis exceeded our expectations. We think the #1 best thing at Secrets is their service -- friendly and willing to go the extra mile. And we were very pleasantly surprised that the food and drinks were so good. We even liked the food better than the food at Capella Pedregal, where we stayed about a year and a half ago (well, except for Farallon, which is in a league of its own, but you have to pay a lot for it too!).

We had an oceanfront room on the fifth floor, so the view was gorgeous. The room is pretty. Now if they could just make the bathroom a little more private, it would be perfect. :-)

We never had any trouble getting lounge chairs by the infinity pools. And we never had to look around for someone to get a drink or something else. They are very attentive.

We definitely recommend this place and will go back there one of these days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasSunlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Where do I start? This trip was everything my wife and I could've imagined. Our stay was from June 10 -14 and we enjoyed every last minute of it. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and it was worth every penny. The room was very nice, the pool on the patio was out of this world! The staff was excellent, you could tell they enjoy their job and they're not just there to work. The food was terrifect, I don't believe we had one bad meal the entire time we were there. the pool area was really nice and well kept, the water was just a little cold but nothing unbareable. The only thing we did not care for, is that there is really no beach life here. Which that is the pretty much the case in Cabo in general, due to the strong currents from the ocean. Other then that, we just loved this place.

Would I travel to Los Cabos again, yes I would. Would I stay at the Secrets Marquis Los Cabos again, absolutely!!! Would I try another Secrets resort again, the Secrets resorts may be the only resort I stay at from here on out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Long0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we arrived we were blown away with the presentation of this resort and the welcome we received from the staff. The food and restaurants were amazing along with all the other facilities! One of the highlights of our trip was meeting the entertainment staff, especially Fernando Echegaray who took such great care of us and made us feel so welcome, with heaps of fun attached! We have already booked our next trip in a couple of months and can't wait! We cannot recommend Secrets Marquis high enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clinga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was my husband and mine's second Secrets trip. We had such an amazing time at the Secrets in Jamaica, we decided to try it again. And, we were very impressed again!
Let me tell you- You will never get better service than at a Secrets resort. Everyone there is amazing. Noe, our concierge, was amazingly pleasant, friendly and always smiling! He didn't just assist us with check-in, he really went above and beyond and let us tour the Presidential Suite since we expressed interest in returning back to the resort with a couple. Adalberto, is the most amazing and friendly waiter as well. He remembered my name from the first day and was always there when we needed him.
The food is great, especially at the Japanese restaurant. My favorite morning snack is the chilaquiles! I loved them so much that when I told the Restaurant Manager, Juan, he set up a private cooking lesson with one of their chefs so I could make them when I get home. That's just one example of what kind of service you can expect at Secrets. I also recommend the fish tacos! So yummy!
We got the Casita room with the private plunge pool on the roof dock. It was very spacious and very comfortable. We would sit on the roof deck for hours just looking at the water.
Yes- it's true. You can't swim in the ocean in Cabo. That is a definite bummer. But, they make up for it with a great pool and the best entertainment. Of all the resorts I've been too, Marquis Los Cabos had the best entertainment choices around.
Location: the resort is located in an area called the Corridor. This is basically between Cabos and San Jose. I was happy with the location since it is very quiet. However, it's $25 each way to downtown Cabo where all of the activities are located. We went to the city twice- once for deep sea fishing,another for a glass bottom boat tour. Just recognize that the cab rides can be quite expensive and are non-negotiable.
I will say, the only negative part was dealing with a gentleman named Julio. We had booked our transportation from the airport to the resort from the actual resort itself. Come to find out- the resort uses an outide company called Amstar or Apple to bring people from the airport. Well, Julio was upset since we talked to a different vendor inside th airport to set up excursions prior to leaving the airport, He was arguing with me on the phone and wouldn't send our taxi until we told him who we talked to inside the airport. Luckily, we were traveling with a friend who speaks fluent Spanish. He wouldn't back down until our friend got onto the phone and started arguing back in Spanish. This ultimatum and bullying is unacceptable in my opinion.
Either way, we were extremely happy once we were at the resort. We would definitely go back! Secrets delivers again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

First trip to Cabo and we were very impressed with the resort's cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff and the overall atmosphere. Food and drinks were delicious. Wish we had gone to SPICE earlier in the week -great sushi and meal. Would definitely recommend making a hibachi reservation. We had a junior suite and had plenty of room and a great view of the shore. We would not spend the extra money for a honeymoon suite or cabana. We also felt very safe the entire time we were there. We booked two excursions: a private sailing trip around the arch and a horseback ride on the beach. Both were booked through Amstar and both turned out to be great.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra for the private cabanas or suites. Regular rooms are great for the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely Beautiful. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Fernando Echegaray who organized activities and made our holiday so much fun! We have recommended so many people who all have had the same amazing experience there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikepope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
5.8 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
8.4 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#10 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos

Property: Marquis Los Cabos
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury(R) for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Marquis Los Cabos, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing