We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Royal Solaris Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$202
$167
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$269
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cabo Azul Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$409
$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$170
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$620
$558
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$455
$337
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$755
$645
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
One & Only Palmilla(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$670
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,236)
Filter reviews
2,236 results
Traveler rating
1,637
404
116
41
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,637
404
116
41
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvista ballenasdos marescevicheevery morningfrench restaurantcoffee and pastriesroom serviceentertainment staffrifle shootingocean frontbar hoppingall inclusive resortpub crawllos cabospool serviceplunge poolmain bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,881 - 1,886 of 2,236 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This adult-only hotel caters mostly to couples but as single women (not seeking men) we found it very welcoming and enjoyed our stay; however I am not sure single men would feel comfortable. As other reviews mentioned the hotel is very quiet with lovely large clean rooms, a well-stocked fridge (soda, water, beer) and cared for grounds (all true). They leave snacks (1 package of Peanut M&M’s, Nuts and a small can of Pringles) in the room every day, which was nice.
The pools are nice but many people put towels on the chairs and then leave for the entire day (either to reserve them or because they are too lazy to drop them into the used towel containers). If there are no other personal belonging left on the chairs (just towels), I recommend you remove them and stake your claim to the chairs. I saw towels sitting on prime chairs all day and no one ever came back, so don’t hesitate to do it! Chairs with shade umbrellas, on the beach, were also readily available. There are only a couple of strolling (or seated) vendors on the beach. They will offer their good, but if you politely say no, they don’t bother you.
Washrooms, on the pool level (face the hotel) turn right at the Barefoot Grill and walk down a right-hand curving pathway. There are also larger washrooms, pass the Canto Del Mar restaurant (which is under the fountain) and keep going left, until you see them.
Tip – the seagulls and other birds are bold; we saw a gull pick up a glass (it wanted the fruit in the drink) and fly away with it – so do NOT leave food or drinks unattended, whether at the beach or pool, or the birds will get into it.
The hotel did have entertainment on different nights, e.g. an outdoor Mexican Fiesta night with a Folkloric performance and Mariachi Band (professional entertainers, not hotel staff), an International Buffet, a Casino Night in El Suspiro Bar (but only 2 large poker tables, some people were unable to play). But if you are looking for a lot of activities and interaction with others, stay somewhere else (for us, it was great). While service is good, whether you tip or not, people here work very hard, so we did tip and it was greatly appreciated.

Coco Café – is a hidden gem, located next to the store, open daily from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. You can get hot or frozen coffee drink, sodas, water and snacks (to stay or take out). They have sandwiches, great cookies and a small selection of other desserts. There are tables where you can sit and play board games or read books and relax.
Canto Del Mar (French) Restaurant: fine dining with lovely food presentation but it lacks ambiance; it is located behind Vista Ballenas. You dine is a separate room which has no decorations or music and approx. 10 tables. It’s so quiet you overhear the other diner’s conversations. 2 out of 3 of us thought the food was very good but if we stayed at the hotel again, we would not bother to go to it again.
Vista Ballenas: serves breakfast (buffet and al la carte), lunch and dinner. Breakfast is good but their lunch and dinner selections are very nice too. If you eat outside you may see large wasps that are surprisingly docile (they are not aggressive) just shoo them away and they go. We saw many wasps, but did not hear of anyone getting stung by one.
Barefoot Grill – is the beach/pool restaurant. There are tables with umbrellas so you can dine in, of, you can order food to be brought to you by the pool (and never leave your sun chair). During the day they serve burgers (if you want the meat cooked well-done ask for it “Muy Cocido”), fries, hot dogs. In the evening they serve dinner here, the food was very good, great Caesar salad, fish, shrimp. The food was just as good as any of the other fine dining restaurants but eating outside near the ocean made it casual, yet very nice.
The Barracuda Bar is close to the Barefoot Grill, great drinks (including bottles of water) like Electric Lemonade, Margaritas, beer, whatever you want.
Canto Del Mar Restaurant: is located under the waterfall (pool level); we had a very nice lunch here.
Spice: located near by the El Suspiro Bar. You go down a long flight of stairs to the lower level. Food portions are individual size (even the fried rice) they are not sharing size dishes, so order your own. The chicken, fried rice and sushi were all very good (I would eat here again). We tried the Tempura ice cream, one person loved it, I thought it was good (but not great).
Tour Company Representatives (e.g. SunWing) come to the hotel, if they have clients staying there to assist you with booking tours, return flight information, etc. They work from an office outside (exit the Lobby, turn left) next to the car rental place. You can ask the front desk staff what day/time your representative usually comes.
Secrets Marquis is located half-way between San Jose Del Cabo ($20 cab ride) and Cabo San Lucas ($25 cab ride), it’s worth it to go to both towns to shop or dine.

Room Tip: Room tips: the higher the floor the better the view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed Secret Marquis Los Cabos for seven nights beginning December 15. During that week, the hotel was about 50% full, but it became increasingly busier the weekend we left before the holiday. The overall atmosphere is very laid back. This is not a party place. If you want to party at the pool all day, you will be out of place. Most couples and friends here are lounging out all day, reading and enjoying the views.

We took Transcabo (prearranged) from the airport to the hotel and everything went smoothly both ways. Secrets is one of the first hotels on the corridor, and is about 20 minutes from the airport. We flew in to Terminal 2, which is new. It was very nice. There were pushy sales people outside customs that became annoyed when you ignored them, but we just said "no thanks" and kept walking.

We arrived around 3:00 p.m. and our room was ready. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated. We had a room on the second floor (oceanview). Since the hotel was so empty, I was hoping for a free upgrade, but no such luck. Anyway, we were always very comfortable in the room and loved the balcony and the view. As other reviewers have stated, the bathroom is totally open to the main room. This can be annoying, particularly if one of you has to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. Light will flood in to the bedroom and any loud noises can be heard. This is not a reason to avoid this hotel, but you should know what to expect before booking. The minibar was refreshed early every morning, and the room cleaned by housekeeping early in the afternoon. Turn down service was anytime between 6:00 p.m. and 9:30 p.m. If you were in the room on their first try, they would come back later to see if you were gone. The bathroom has very generous sizes of lotion, shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner for those that like that. I think they could easily last two people for a couple weeks. The TV is still a tube TV and the service is spotty. This needs to be fixed. Every morning we enjoyed the mini-breakfast on our balcony and watched whales swim by. They are out there if you keep your eyes peeled! Rays jumping out of the water could also be seen on several days. You can use a portion of promotional coupons towards wi-fi and we did so. It would have been $70 / week but with $40 in coupons it became $35 (not quite fair math!) Wi-fi access should be included with the room. When you consider the extra wi-fi cost and the TV, Secrets is really lacking in this area. It's almost 2013...rooms should have a flat screen TV with decent service and wi-fi included!

There is a breakfast buffet every morning at Vista Ballenas, but the restaurant also has a menu. In general I would say the breakfast is 1/3 American items, 1/3 Mexican specialties, and 1/3 European. The orange juice is freshly squeezed. They also have a green juice made with several juices and fruits - ask to try it! Very healthy and delicious. In addition to coffee, they will also bring you a latte, cappuccino, espresso...whatever you want! Sometimes there was a cook to make omelets, but if there wasn't, you could just order one of the menu. We were both very satisfied with the breakfasts. I personally enjoyed the Mexican items and wished they would have them available later in the day at a lunch buffet.

There are three pools. We ended up gravitating towards the right pool most often. To us, this had the best view since you could see out to the rock formations in the ocean, but there are no bad views at any of the pools! The temperature was comfortable most days, but on Thursday it was quite cold. It was like they turned off the heater for that one day. There were floaters available in each pool. The wait staff at the pools is amazing. They will bring you drinks, meals, and snacks all day! If they see you moving your umbrella, they come to assist you. These gentlemen are working so hard for you to be comfortable. The service was truly amazing! The pool on the right had menu items from Dos Mares and the pool on the left had items from Barefoot Grill. There was always plenty of towels available. We were always able to get loungers without any issue (including at 11:00 a.m. one morning after returning from Cabo) but some guests were going out there and putting a towel on their lounger before breakfast. The Friday before we left it was really bad. That being said, we did see the waiters give the loungers to other guests that wanted them if the original claimers hadn't been seen all morning. I thought this was fine and it's kinda ridiculous if people want to reserve a lounger and then go on an excursion all morning. The beach is beautiful for walking. You can swim at the cove in front of the Hilton. There are vendors on the beach each day. They aren't a nuisance but they are there selling silver, other trinkets, and pony rides on the beach.

There are activities scheduled all day. The entertainment staff will walk around and let you know what is going on (there is also a schedule, "The Sundial," delivered to your room each night.) During our week there were fitness classes by the pool, beach walks, volleyball, drinking games, R/C car races, a wine tasting, air rifle shooting, dance lessons, and tequila tasting. There is a pub crawl to Cabo for $20 on Wednesday and Thursdays. There is a snorkel trip to a nearby bay for $30 on Tuesdays and Thursdays but six people have to sign up for it to go. We tried both days but the hotel only had four people sign up so we never went. I suggest Secrets put more info on the trip in The Sundial and they might have more interest from guests. We had to go to the concierge to ask about where it was and how much it cost and many guests probably don't want to have to do that. In the evenings there were shows twice, an International show and a Mexican fiesta. The dancers were professional and amazing. There was also a gambling night and a beach party. Every other night a movie was shown at the center pool and that was fun as well. All in all, most people just wanted to relax and it seemed there was usually a small turn out for activities, but they are there if you want it. The entertainment staff is amazing and so friendly and we greatly appreciated their efforts!

All the restaurants were open during our stay: Vista Ballenas, Dos Mares, Canto del Mar, Barefoot Grill, and Spice. Spice recently opened and it is pan-asian but it is also tapas style. The food was amazing and exceeded our expectations. We never had a bad meal. The presentation was wonderful. The seafood is exceptional. We never saw food being "recycled." Dos Mares and Vista Ballenas were probably my favorites, but Canto del Mar was very good as well. You will be disappointed in the food if you are expecting a steak each night. You're in Mexico near the ocean, and the seafood is the specialty! There are beef and chicken selections on each menu but they are limited. Also, Spice was good, but it will likely not compare to your favorite sushi restaurant at home. Again, they are using local food, not flying in the highest grade fish for sushi. My recommendations: try the Yucatan ceviche and fish tacos at Dos Mares; the sea bass or other catch of the day at Vista Ballenas; the yakitori at Spice; and the beef medallion or chicken and shrimp at Canto del Mar. Barefoot Grill was typical grill food and we only ordered from there once. There were buffets setup outside as well on the evenings of the international and Mexican shows. I did not miss the large all-inclusive buffets and really liked the a la carte style. It was such a nicer dining experience. The waiters would bring you two of something if you wanted so you will not go hungry! That being said, after a week, you will have tried most items on the menus once or twice and will be ready for something else. I don't think the menus are lacking, but if you are there for an extended stay beyond a week, you will probably be bored with the menu.

The drinks were great as well. We both enjoyed their sparkling wine from Italy which is not too sweet. The house wines are from Chile. There was top shelf liquor available and they would gladly make whatever you requested. Not every bar has the same liquors, but if you wait a few minutes, they'll get you what you want if needed. They will bring you shots if that is what you want. The El Suspiro bar is nice, but I would say this property is lacking another bar (without TVs.) We were told there are plans to add a club and I would say that is needed.

We took the bus to Cabo San Lucas. It was $2 per person each way. The concierge doesn't recommend it but they will give you a map and explain where you will be dropped off. We took a water taxi to El Arco for $10 each round-trip. We got plenty of photos and there was no need for us to be dropped off. We went in the morning at 9:00 a.m. and were back at the hotel by 11:00 a.m. We also took the bus to San Jose Del Cabo on Thursday evening for the Art Walk. We took a taxi home for $20 though because it was dark and it felt safer. We enjoyed the Art Walk and it was a much more authentic experience in San Jose Del Cabo then Cabo San Lucas. The silver available in both cities is nicer than what was sold on the beach.

I've been to Florida, Hawaii, and Bahamas this same week before and Cabo had the best, most consistent weather. It was sunny every day, but the wind did pick up in the afternoon.

The guests here like to get dressed up in the evening, which I did not expect. I mostly brought casual skirts and did not bring any heels, and I often felt under-dressed. The restaurants state men should have a collared shirt and pants in the evening, but I only saw this enforced at Canto del Mar. Also, it did cool down in the evenings so be sure to bring a light jacket, shawl, or sweater.

In summary, this resort is wonderful. It exceeded our expectations and this was mostly due to the hard-working staff. You can tell they are genuinely happy to be working there. We wanted to relax for a week and we were able to do that here. We definitely recommend this property and wouldn't hesitate to go back. We will likely look at other Secrets resorts as well for future vacations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ead_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at Secrets during the first week of December. We have been to the Cancun / East coast of Mexico over 10 times, but this is our first trip to Cabo - We fell in love with the area. It is so beautiful. The weather was perfect all week. We never saw a cloud in the sky and there was a nice breeze and low humidity. It was so comfortable.

Although you can't swim in the ocean in front of the hotel, the beach is the most pristine, clean, beautiful beach I've seen. Not one teeny bit of grass, garbage, debris, shells. Just a beautiful beach to walk every day and listen to at night.

We usually stay in Secrets, Excellence or Iberostar Grand resorts, this one did not dissapoint. The resort is beautiful. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and the two ocean front pools were warm and inviting. The main pool was quite cool though. I tried water aerobics one day and I was freezing.

We thought the food was very good. We never had a bad meal. I don't know how people can complain about the food. The complaints must come from really picky people. You are in Mexico, not the US, so the descriptions and food may be different from what you're used to.... who cares, relax and get over it. the food was fresh and plentyful We loved the french fries! I think we had french fries every day at the pool.

The resort could use a few more activities and a change of music. The music was "chill" music at both pools. I didn't mind it really, but would have liked the option of more lively music at one pool. Every night they show a movie outside on the big screen with the ocean behind you - Great idea ! Also, maybe one more bar in the evenings would be nice. It is a compact resort, there is not that much walking you need to do to get around.

The spa was very nice. I go to the spa in every resort I stay in and this one was small and nothing special but the ladies there are excellent at the services. My husband and I went back a second time for massages they were so good.

There is a pub crawl the resort offers and I was not all that looking forward to staying up late going to loud clubs..... We had a great time though! Fernando took us around to 4 clubs like a group of VIP's! Everyone at the resort speaks english very well. The staff are so friendly and work very hard to please you.

We honestly have only one major complaint that bothered us. There were empty beer bottles and glasses on the ledge outside our room for the entire week we were there.... We just could not understand how numerous staff could walk by this daily and no one cleaned it up. My husband even moved the glasses to the middle of the walkway to get someone's attention and a few hours later, they were moved back to the side, and still not picked up. Maybe this is a management thing.... It was dissapointing.

Aside from the above, there was really nothing more to complain about. The resort was very nice and I would consider coming back since there are so few adult only resorts in Cabo.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. The casitas are expensive but much more space.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fluffyges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We adored Secrets Marquis! We were there from December 3 through 11, 2012, and had perfect weather. There aren't enough words to describe how fantastic it was, except to say that we felt we were in paradise the entire time we were there. The food was excellent, the liquor readily available, and the staff were all perfection. We started with an ocean-view suite on the 5th floor which was a lovely room with a massive ocean view, but after 3 days we decided to splurge and paid $100.00 extra per night for a honeymoon suite. We lost the massive view, but doubled our space, which for us was well worth it. We still had a view, but it was from the 2nd floor, but we gained a patio, a dip pool, a living room, kitchen area and a large, more private bathroom, and much more privacy in general.

We loved the food, and always had fantastic service no matter where we ate. Vista Ballenas and The Grill were our favorites, in large part because we loved the steaks in both places. There were plenty of food choices at all the restaurants. We had almost constant attention from the waiters when we were by the pool. They would bring you food and drink, and didn't wait for you to signal them for assistance, they just magically appeared. Their staff to guest ratio was very high. We never waited for service anywhere.

We rented a car the entire time we were there, and always used the fast and professional valet service at the hotel. We were able to drive to Todos Santos, San Jose del Cabo and of course Cabo San Lucas. Driving in Cabo isn't bad at all, and we didn't have any problems. Parking at the Cabo San Lucas mall is 15 pesos per day so we parked there and walked the marina and the entire shopping area during our visits to town.

We also took a glass bottomed boat tour to Los Arcos, which we highly recommend. No reservations are required. Just go to the marina and negotiate a trip with one of the many boat operators who are outside along the pier.

Secrets Marquis is a no tipping required facility, but we tipped anyway. We were embarrassed by a couple of demanding guests who barely said thank you after someone went out of their way for them. The staff were very grateful when you acknowledged them by giving them a little cash. Cabo is a tourist town so we were able to use our US Dollars everywhere we went.

All in all, we highly recommend Secrets Marquis. We arrived on a Monday and as were are in our 60s, we were the oldest guests at the hotel for the first five days, but we never felt out of place, and had a lovely vacation.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the honeymoon suite for the extra space, privacy and private pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Arriving at Secrets in Cabo is a jaw-dropping experience -- the panoramic ocean views are matched by the elegance of the reception area and the friendliness of the service. After a bit of a hard-sell to look at real estate, you get to go to your room and ALL rooms in this resort offer outstanding views -- not only do you get to look at the horizon of water, but you can hear the water lapping away at the shore as well.

The pool-side service is fantastic -- you should look for Adalberto's section as he is a sincere and generous person whose service is exceptional. In a resort where getting any fresh fruit in a drink (everything is from syrups) seemed impossible, Adalberto managed to find some fresh strawberries from the kitchen for a delicious and not-too-sweet daquiri. You wouldn't think fresh fruit would be impossible to find in Mexico, but at Secrets, you can only find it at the breakfast buffet.

That brings me to the only major problem with this resort: the quality of the food. The food over-promises with impeccable presentation, but is completely underwhelming as far as taste, quality, and consistency goes. In fact, both my wife and I got sick eating at the resort and we normally have pretty strong constitutions. On at least two occasions, we were served seafood that was off. Once, we ordered tuna carpaccio at the "Italian" restaurant and it tasted rotten and smelled fishy. The second time was with the salmon at Spice -- it was also fishy and tasted spoiled. Also, if you want to know what the restaurants in the resort served for dinner the night before you just had to visit the breakfast buffet. I think part of the problem when we were there was the fact that the resort was about 1/4 full, so maybe they had to recycle a lot of things. Too bad they took a risk with our health to save on costs.

Other than the food, the resort exceeded most expectations. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, the service is generally very good, the views are excellent -- the resort has the potential to be a world-class all-inclusive escape if they manage to work on their food quality.

Room Tip: They're all good
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews