We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY AWAY” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This has got to be the WORST resort I have EVER stayed at. Please Please DON'T STAY HERE. The staff is very rude, they don't care about their customers. AWFUL AWFUL PLACE!!!!
The service was so bad - the entertainment team started serving us drinks at the pool because none of the waiters would. Every time we would speak to someone about the awful service, they acted like they could care less. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jatongustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We regret your stay at Royal Solaris has been overshadowed by this unfortunate misunderstanding.
Allow us to inform you that the hotel management is aware of this situation and is taking action on this matter.
We appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us to redefine our hotel to our guests' standards.

If you would like to share any additional information regarding your trip to please email us at redessociales@hotelessolaris.com
We look forward to hearing from you soon.

kind regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,872
    1,761
    876
    413
    338
See reviews for
2,097
1,565
57
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had the unfortunate incident that our aircraft broke and US Airways had to send us somewhere for the night. I was excited to hear that we were going to an all-inclusive as we had just spent the week at Secret Puerto Los Cabos.
As we walked in, we joked about needing drinks and before you knew it, we had frosty drinks and cervesas in our hands! But that was when the "good" ended.

1. Wifi is $15/day PER DEVICE! Who the hell does that at an all inclusive?! Being that we were there on US Airways dime, another passenger and I asked if we could get the wifi for free. After asking for a manager and realizing we were talking with management already, we were denied and had to pay $15 so we could call back home to make sure arrangements were made since no one was leaving Mexico that day. We also notified the manager that this type of charge and unwillingness to drop the $15 charge for a group of people who are there against there will for LESS THAN 18 HOURS would go online and be talked about. The manager didn't seem to care if we gave a horrible review and stopped others from coming. In the end, I paid the $15 to end a stupid, ridiculous conversation with this person. Once connected, the connection only worked in the lobby! Barely had a signal in the room. HORRIBLE!

2. Kid nightmare!!!
When we were coming down for dinner, we wondered what the huge pile of people was all about...then it happened! The clock struck 6:30 and all hell broke loose! Tons and Tons of kids rushed the buffet area. My wife and I were terrified as to what the night would bring. The buffet is crap. I'm surprised we didn't get extremely ill. I would say this buffet was a lower grade Golden Corral version. The servers cross contaminated their utensils when server EVEN AFTER SOMEONE MENTIONED IT TO THEM! Then you got to eat in the great hall. In there, you had the wonder occasion to YELL at your partner since music was being played at night club levels. I thought I was at a rave with horrible food and tons of rug rats running around.
3. The staff was nice enough to give us free towel vouchers. We got those around 5:50pm. Towel stand closed at 6 (they don't tell you that) and pool (which was murky at best) closed at 8.
4. After drinking a watered down beverage and walking a bit of the property, we were lucky enough to be tired enough to go to bed. Found 1 outlet to charge a phone next to the bed. no channel guide. ***Here's a PLUS*** There was a really neat towel formed into an elephant! But that's the only good thing there was. Thought I should have worn shower shoes in the shower. No A/C in the halls....and again, NO WIFI IN THE ROOM!

If you want an all inclusive and don't want to be with kids, go to SECRETS PUERTO LOS CABOS! you will not be disappointed and live like Kings while you are there.

As for this place! If I could give a negative I would. And stay tuned for more reviews like mine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mason109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Please accept our apologies for failing at that instance, We know you came tired and bothersome about your canceled flight but please be assured that your comments and feedback are certainly being taken into consideration and acted upon in order for us to improve our facilities and services.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family and I needed to get a way and decided to visit Los Cabos, San Jose. We stayed at the Royal Solaris in Los Cabos. it was excellent! great service, great food, but most importantly excellent entertainment. The Royal Solaris Entertainment Team in Los Cabos is amazing ! Adrian, Jaime y Toni son los mejores. Personas ecepcionales. Anyone who wants to escape and have a good time should go to Royal Solaris in Los Cabos, Mexico

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florencia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. Guest comfort is our #1 priority. Indeed, we strive to provide top notch service to all of our guests and we are glad to have surpassed those expectations.
Thank you for the compliments on our staff . We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Food, friendly service and accommodation is really excellent!!

I can definitely give 4 star rating!

Great Location with adventure and activities.

This place is a great place for kids, teens and family very secured environment.

I would definitely recommend this Solaris group if you are traveling with family. They have a good sea food, rice and famous Mexican and Italian restaurant inside.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AJOYUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios!, fue para nosotros un verdadero placer el poder atenderlos como se merecen, es una de las cualidades que nos caracterizan a todo el Grupo de Hoteles Solaris.
Esperamos poder recibirlos nuevamente en un futuro.

Saludos!
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a great time from the minute we walked in. The staff in every department was exceptionally kind. To name just a few; Mario, Ceasar, Sarita, Mauricio, Rosa with their services, Pool bar-tender Ramon, Lucy and her omelettes, Johnny at Ponchos.....so many I could go on and on. We traveled with a large group and we all enjoyed everything. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdub4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Royal Solaris Los Cabos!
It is our goal to exceed our guest’s expectations and it seems that we have done just that with yours! Your comments have been shared with the entire staff !
We hope to see you again on your next vacations!

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Well I guess the saying you get what you pay for is true with this one. This hotel is tired and needs updating, food is below average, even in the "special" restaurants. We ate in Marco Polo most nights as the buffet was horrible. By the end of our trip we were sick of the food, Poncho's is only very average Mexican food. Drinks are the cheapest you can find and the only beer was warm Tecate. Straws were a luxury in this hotel, so if you get one in the morning hold on to it. Drinking frozen cocktails without a straw is difficult.

The beach is extremely dangerous, during our vacation there was one drowning and one very close call. DO NOT GO IN THE WATER. Lots of guys selling stuff on the beach, the hotel does a good job in keeping them from annoying people.

They push time share in this resort so be aware. As soon as you are finished with the long check in you will be ushered to a time share guy straight away. He will be on your case for the rest of the vacation, so if you are not interested be very forward in saying so. They don't like to call it time share and call it membership. People who are members have different colored towels and wrist bands. This allows them into different parts of the resort for "special" breakfasts and dinners.

Rooms for "non members" have safes but you have to purchase a lock at $1 a day. No keypad entry on the safe, which is stupid because now you have to look after the key all day. Lose the key and there is a charge of $100. WIFI is $15 a day.

If you don't pay a lot for this trip and need a few days away it might be ok but definitely not a luxury resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niamhtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Please accept our apologies for failing at that instance, but please be assured that your comments and feedback are certainly being taken into consideration and acted upon in order for us to improve our facilities and services.

I would be more than happy if you give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations one more time and experience a true vacation in paradise.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our first visit to Los Cabos and the Royal Solaris. We were greeted with smiles and cold refreshments upon check-in. Of course, watch out for the time-share sales pitches. If your interested, they'll provide all the info you want. If not, say no and enjoy the rest of the visit.

The Royal Solaris provided a great location, variety of food, clean rooms and plenty of opportunity for fun. The Marco Polo restaurant was our favorite, but the nightly buffet's were great. Ice cream was a real plus during lunch and the constant drinks were name brand.

One down-side to this location is the WIFI. You will have to pay for Internet access and the access in our room was marginal. One caution on this beach - the waves are dangerous! The staff do what they can to caution people, but a visitor next door was lost in the surf and not recovered (that we know of).

Room Tip: Most rooms have a great view, but some do face street or less desirable areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haywood_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Royal Solaris Los Cabos and for this review. We are glad you enjoyed the amazing view from your spacious room as well as our wonderful staff. As for our Internet pricing, we wish to let you know that we constantly shop our competitors and we are in line with other hotels in Los Cabos. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Property: Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing