We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Fun Vacation with Friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have visited three times and love it more and more each time! We love Lucy, the singing omelette maker every morning. Martin was great on the sun deck for breakfast and lunch. Food is good, love Panchos fajita night, and Marco Polo calamari, and the never ending Chardonnay glass. Ramone, Ramone is our guy on the beach who is the best waiter for all!! I have emailed Emmanuel with flower and room requests and he always comes through for us. Love it and continue to keep going back!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

On behalf of Royal Solaris Los Cabos we would like to thank youf or taking the time to tell us about your recent vacation experience , it is very motivating each of your comments, all staff constantly makes every effort to provide the best service in order to make our guests feel special and happy.

We all look forward to welcome you back for another Solaris experience.

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,510 - 2,516 of 5,792 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

I read the reviews for a month before booking my reservation and regrettably ignored them (perhaps didn't ignore but read what I wanted and hoped for more). For that I feel compelled to post my own review. Sadly I have so much more negative than positive. Our Solaris Royal experience went down hill immediately upon our arrival. We prepaid for private transportation from the airport via the hotel ($60). We received a voucher via email and was told (in writing) our driver would be outside with a sign with our name. 20 minutes in and asking every possible person if they knew where to find our driver we found somebody with our name who did not accept the voucher but insisted on calling for confirmation; 30 minutes and then we were finally on our way (it was nice transportation). Sadly the return transportation was just as troublesome and problematic. We did have a warm and seamless welcome - until the immediate 20 minute hotel orientation from Mauricio AKA "sales pitch to the time share sales pitch for the next day". Once we declined we were 2nd class for the remainder of our stay (2nd class in the sense of obviously not owners with different color towels, different meal options, different menus in the restaurants, etc.) We were pushed into the buffet the 1st night even though there were empty tables at the restaurants. The 2nd night we didn't call for a diner reservation until 10am. The only reservation they would offer was 8:30pm, too late when traveling with a 5 year old. So it was The gross buffet again. When/if you score a reservation you cannot eat outside with children. I could go on about all of the disappointments but in a nutshell: the food is awful - all of it beyond awful (except the cook to order omelets), the drinks are rock bottom quality and all tastes the same. If you drink wine you will quit quickly unless you fancy Carlo Rossi (their only selection) or you can shame them into a glass of the VIP member only Spanish wine, only available in the lobby bar and 2 restaurants, good luck there. If you are not a VIP timeshare member your are not entitled to champagne. People reserve the beach and pool chairs around 6 or 7 am and some of them never use them - all day! You will join the crowd and towel chairs at 7 am, it becomes survival. All inclusive is not what they advertise. We finally found champagne it was $20-25 per bottle depending who you asked (or 50 pesos ($3.75 +/-) if you find the right staff), steak $20 extra, shrimp extra - and the list goes on. It took an hour to get my daughter a band-aide for a bleeding blister. Tips/gratuities .....well they are expected and often and large.... budget $20-30 per day. We witness the staff complaining about not being tipped enough and one saying "I'm taking care of you, now take care of me". Honestly if you don't tip ($20ish +) forget a diner reservation (but why bother the food is not worth stressing over, it is actually not worth eating). The gift shop is expensive. There are no real dinner food options or deserts for kids, forget whole or real milk. So the good....hmmmmm.....let me think. Ok, the resort is immaculate, it really is. They offer hot dogs, chicken nuggets, corn chips, French fries, etc. for several hours a day. The kids water park area is awesome for little ones, if only it was supervised for the kids that act recklessly like going up the slides backwards, or are not watching before heading down a slide, etc. We had an upgraded ocean front room ($30 per day). Although the room is basic our room had an exquisite view and unexpected large deck (room 390). The seagulls are aggressive so don't eat on your deck, leave food on your deck, or leave food by the door inside your room. Actually here is a good tip - as part of our arrival Mauricio tried to have us book the time share tour (for tiki dinner tickets which I'm sure was the same awful buffet food) or buy the tiki dinner package ($50 per person) which we declined. We were actually able to see the entire tiki diner show directly in front of our room, with a good glass of wine from the awesome wine shop just down the road. The pizza stand is tolerable. Although they will say it will be a 10 minute wait for your pizza order it is actually 30ish minutes. Have a warm beer (we actually never had an ice cold beer) and wait for the pizza it is the only decent food you will get. We were treated to whales frolicking from our deck, that was beautiful. A few other reviews I read complained about the beds, I found them just fine. The vendors on the beach will approach if you look in their direction; I found them polite and not overwhelming. I was so hopeful and wanted some much more for this resort. The potential is there, maybe someday they'll get proper management and the food director they desperately need - because it could be great. Right now it's not, far from.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SimoneHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The cost of staying at the Royal Solaris makes this a reasonable choice for those looking to get some sun, decent food and drinks at an affordable price. Nothing to complain about with the rooms or service. The evening buffet is unremarkable, but I enjoyed it. The buffet is served in a large entertainment hall; I was in charge of putting the kids to sleep so I never saw any of the acts. The beach is fine, and we swam every day in it, although you're not supposed to due to rip tides; I never felt in any danger. The kids park in the back of the compound is pretty outdated, but for small kids it will offer hours of fun. So, again, if you're looking for sun, lots of food, and aren't too concerned about the quality of your alcohol, then you'll enjoy yourself. What I'd also like to mention is San Jose itself. I really liked this town and the energy is really safe and positive. I saw older ladies walking around with Stars and Strips sun visors with lots of gold jewellery: if they're not feeling uncomfortable, then this is a safe place. And the new airport is clean and efficient. For a quick 8 day all inclusive in the sun, this is a good choice. Don't think I'll return, but I want to see more of Mexico. Although I've only visited the resort towns, I am falling in love with this country.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We are glad to read that you're falling in love with Mexico and you liked San Jose del Cabo .

We are happy your overall experience was good, we hope to see you and your family back at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, take note we offer babysitter service with extra charge , maybe you can use this service to see the shows we have every night.

Warm Regards,

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed a week at this resort and overall it is not a bad place to stay. The room was very clean and all of the staff do try hard to please. We would have plenty of towels in the room but wash cloths were a rare find, sometimes none, 1, and if lucky 2. We swam in the adults only pool most of the time because it was warmer and quiet, the main pool was chilly. Erik and the rest of the entertainment staff do a great job. The food is hit and miss and not real warm at the buffets. Marco Polo is the best place to eat. Lucy will make you a omelet in the morning with a smile or singing, she made my mornings. San Jose del Cabo is a quaint town, I just loved it. You can walk or take the bus for $1 and it is safe. Go to the art walk on Thursday night. If you go to San Lucas take the bus it cost $3 each way a taxi will cost $35 each way. Baja Café on the marina in San Lucas has the best calamari and Margaritas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Was our pleasure to serve you and your family during your stay with us; we appreciate the time you have taken to tell others about your vacation experience at Royal Solaris Los Cabos.

It is an honor to read how Erik and the rest of the entertainment staff do a great job and Lucy made your mornings smiling or singing,

We hope to have you back soon to enjoy another fabulous Solaris experience.

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the service was excellent. Nightly shows and entertainment at the hotel made it even better. We booked the trip with Air Canada and flew out of Vancouver, BC so it was a very good value given that it was all inclusive, including a shuttle to and from the airport. The excursions have to be booked, scheduled and paid for separately since they are with different businesses. I highly recommend swimming with the dolphins and there are several places to do that. Also luxury day sailing. A charter fishing trip only produced one fish but it was the worst time of the year for fishing, as it is much better in July through September.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Rooms on the west end directly overlook the sea of cortez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review! We are glad you had a great vacation and enjoyed our resort.

We look forward to welcome you soon and provide you a once in a lifetime experience.

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent a week at the Royal Solaris and really enjoyed our time! The kids especially enjoyed the smaller pools and the water park. The staff was excellent, worked very hard, professional, and made us feel very welcome. Entertainment staff was also excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just got back from a week stay at the Royal Solaris & had an amazing time. This is a very family oriented resort, which is exactly what we were looking for. We travelled with our 3 children, ages 11, 8 & 4. It can be difficult to find a place that has something to offer for such a large age range. We found this at the Royal Solaris. The activity staff was great, always something going on from games at the pool, to walks on the beach, yoga etc etc. Very special thanks to the entertainment staff, Koko, Jimmy, Eric, Zoe and Adrian! You guys made us feel so welcome and my oldest absolutely loved that you all remembered his name and encouraged him to participate in all the different things going on. The bartenders, Carlos and Antonio, at the pool bar were very friendly and helpful. Always smiling and taking great care of everyone.
Yes, the hotel sells timeshares....just like every other place in Mexico we've been to. If you're not interested, just say no and they will leave you alone. Of course there are member only benefits.....why else would anyone become a member???? We did go to the presentation in exchange for tickets to a show and $100 towards an excursion, but that was our choice. Would I do that again....no! The timeshare staff were persistent but never rude or agressive. We weren't treated any differently after declining.
The beach was amazing...could walk for miles and miles. No, you can't swim there, but there were a lot of people on boogie boards staying close to shore. There are vendors on the beach and they are agressive and persistant....but once you know where they are, it is easy to avoid them if you want to.
All in all, we had a great family vacation. If you are an average family who is not expecting to be catered to and pampered every second, this is the place for you. Yes, the resort is older, but it is VERY clean and the staff is very hardworking and extremely friendly. Food was decent, lots for the kids to eat. The sushi they had was amazing!! This isn't a resort I would go to for a trip with just my husband, but for the entire family, it was FANTASTIC!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

On behalf of Royal Solaris Los Cabos we want to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination!

We thank you for sharing your experience with us and are happy to know that you had an awesome family vacation and Royal Solaris was exactly what you were looking for and thank you for pointing out how great our staff is specially Koko, Jimmy, Eric, Zoe, Adrian, Carlos & Antonio.

We look forward to see you and your family back very soon!

Warm regards from Mexico to Canada!
Hoteles Solaris de Mexioc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,263 reviews
17.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,369 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
7,962 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $147 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing