We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Christmas in Cabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived at the Royal Solaris on Christmas day for a 5 day stay. Check in was a little slow as the room wasn't ready and there were some computer issues, but once we were in our room, we had a great stay. Our room, #550, was great--large with a beautiful ocean view. We paid extra for the ocean view and for us, it was well worth it. We booked through Costco.com, which provided a well-organized, comprehensive package that included air, transfers and hotel.

The Royal Solaris is all-inclusive, which we felt was a great value and saved the time and hassle of figuring out what to do for every meal. The food, although plentiful, seemed fairly mediocre, though, so we did end out eating out a bit for variety. Even so, we felt it was still a good value, especially for families (although my husband would have given the hotel 3 stars based on the food.) We did not eat at any of the specialty restaurants and they may have been better. The hotel's staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel's location can't be beat. It's on the beach (although not a swimming beach) and within walking distance of everything in San Jose del Cabo. We were very happy to be staying in San Jose del Cabo, taking day excursions to Cabo and La Paz. Cabo seemed very crowed and noisy compared to SJ and we were happy to return to our quiet end of the beach in the evenings. Although there were a few local vendors, including horses for rides on the beach, they stayed outside the hotel's roped in beach area and were not persistent even when we walked outside the hotel beach area. The hotel was also very kid-friendly and there were many families spending the Christmas holiday there.

One tip--bring lots of single dollar bills because even though the hotel is all-inclusive, you will want to tip the wait staff at every meal and they seem to expect it. With the minimum wage in Mexico at something like $5 per day and the prices high in this area, it seemed like the right thing to do as well. Another tip, walk past all the booths in the airport if you have transfers arranged and look for your travel company outside. We were stopped twice in the airport and directed to time share sales people (ubiquitous in the airport and town) after we said we were looking for a particular travel company. One of them even pretended to call our driver before launching into a time share sales speech.

The hotel people did try to sell us on listening to their time share, but when we said we weren't interested, they did not persist. Our days were generally spent out and about--we went snorkeling, took a boat ride around the arch, rode horses on the beach, took a zodiac ride to watch the whales and took a day trip to La Paz to snorkel with whale sharks. The whale shark trip was definitely a highlight, but it is seasonal (I think, December to March) so not there all the time.

All in all, we had a great time and would definitely return to both Cabo and the Royal Solaris.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are ocean view and the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shibas3934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay at Royal Solaris Los Cabos.
Our staff takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,897
    1,781
    884
    415
    340
See reviews for
2,125
1,581
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I booked my vacation through cheapcarribean.com and their service was good. It's all inclusive air, hotel (Royal Solaris), food and drinks. Not only did they confirm your name within 24 hours to ensure no mistake on airline ticket, they will also try to answer your other questions regarding the hotel. We were able to obtain the toll free number to Royal Solaris and made arrangements with the hotel's travel agency to use the shared shuttle between airport and hotel. It's only US$10 one way per person. Very good deal, very clean and safe. In general, the stay at Royal Solaris was good. Food was okay but not spectacular. The view on the beach was great. We took the yellow bus outside of the hotel to the main square where there is church , gift shops and restaurants. It's about US$1 one way and took about 5 minutes. We took the yellow bus across the street (opposite direction) to return to our hotel. At other times, we took taxi by asking the front desk to make arrangements, the hotel took measure to write down taxi's license plate when you leave the hotel. Overall very good experience and very safe destination.

Room Tip: We paid for the upgrade but heard that if you attend the timeshare presentation, you can get automat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smile77056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
First, I'd like to thank you for your time in writing this review about your stay. As you can see from our other reviews, our service is usually superb at making our guests feel warm and welcome. I am sorry that this was not the case for you, and if given another chance, I promise we can "WOW" you next time.

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Our first time in Cabo was spent at the Royal Solaris Cabo San Jose. The hotel is large family oriented all inclusive hotel. The hotel is on the beachfront with great access to bus routes and within driving range from Cabo San Lucas.

The hotel has more than enough to keep you busy, well fed and entertained. The food is good and with the restaurants offering a quiet atmosphere as opposed to the buffet dinners.

The only negative is the small rooms. I am used to exchanging RCI vacations and receiving larger rooms with built in kitchens or mini kitchens. The hotel basically is very small rooms with only a mini fridge.

I gladly recommend the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nthirion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Royal Solaris Los Cabos!
It is our goal to exceed our guest’s expectations and it seems that we have done just that with yours! Your comments have been shared with the entire staff !
We hope to see you again on your next vacations!

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our twelve days at the Royal Solaris All Inclusive Hotel & Time Share were really terrific! The All Inclusive is excellent value for your money. The service was absolutely outstanding from the time we met the transportation guide at the airport to the moment we arrived back at the airport to leave for home. Upon arrival at Royal Solaris in the hotel zone, we were met by our personal concierge, Victor M. Beltron Sanchez, who proceeded to inform us of all of the available activities and to make many of the required reservations immediately so that they were available whenever we were ready. Any other time that we needed/wanted any information, either Victor or one of the other concierges were readily available to help us.

Service in every area of the resort was excellent. Special recognition should be given to the pool side waiter, Ramon, who never let our beer glasses run dry. Also deserving of recognition was our breakfast waiter, Ramon. After a couple of days he knew exactly what kind of seating we preferred and was ready with my coffee and green juice and hot water and orange juice for my wife. He also kept us supplied with these items all through breakfast. Finally, I wish to recognize the housekeeper who took care of our room (Room 250). She kept it clean and made up and was totally unintrusive in doing so. She also kept it well stocked with bottled water, beer, and soft drinks.

The next area to recognize is the entertainment. It was all excellent, from the poolside afternoon events to the evening shows. Royal Solaris is extremely family friendly and much of the afternoon entertainment catered to the 7 - 15 year age group yet without ignoring the adults. Two of the evening shows deserve special recognition. The first was the New Year's Eve show performed by the Royal Solaris entertainment staff. This was an excellent musical, dance, acting extravaganza. The second show that should be noted was the magician/illusionist that Royal Solaris brought for the first time this week. His show was truely phenominal. He appears to be extremely accomplished as a magician/illusionist as well as relating extremely well to his audience.

Finally, the food and drinks are fully worth the price of the all-inclusive. All of the buffets-breakfast, lunch, and dinner-were really good. Service was impeccible with excellent fresh cooked, custom omlets availble every morning. The two al la cart restaurants were so popular that it was often difficult to get reservations but this is were some of the value of our concierge was displayed. He was able to get us reservations whenever I was not able to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BILLinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay at Royal Solaris Los Cabos.
Our staff takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We met our son and his family, who are from Seattle, WA, after Christmas for a vacation. We are from Texas. The place was beautiful! It was very well kept. The landscaping was beautiful, the rooms were nice and kept clean, the food was good, and the people who served us there were wonderful--from Jair, the consierge, the salespersons in the shops, the housekeepers, and the wait staff in the restaurants. They were all so helpful, friendly, and pleasant. This is a trip well worth repeating. We had a fabulous time. We have been on several cruises, and this was like a cruise on the ground.

Room Tip: We were right above the area where the entertainment was going on. If it had been just adults, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are so grateful for considering us as your favorite destination. Thank you so much for your positive comments on our service and our restaurants.

Our commitment is to meet and exceed your expectations and special requirements to make of your stay your best “VACATION” ever.

Receive a warm greeting
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had an outstanding stay for NYE 2013 at the Royal Solaris. The staff was friendly, the rooms were impeccably clean, the kids' club was one of the best our two kids have ever been to and we would definitely return.

Tips for your stay: the breakfast is very good. Wonderful view of the ocean and beach. The lunch by the pool is decent i.e. burgers, nachos, etc. The buffet at the dinner theater at night is only so-so, but the shows (especially the Disney and magic show for kids) were great. Our kids loved it!

We highly recommend eating at the specialty restaurant, Pancho's, at night. You will need a reservation so call at 10:00 in the morning. Mexican food there is excellent. Especially the beet salad, the chicken breast entree, the ceviche and the corn cake dessert. That dessert is one of the best things we have ever eaten. Ask for Alex to serve you. He is excellent!

The kids' club is a must if your kids are between the ages of 5-11. Dora and Jasmine are amazing with the kids and our kids never wanted to leave. Beach games, art crafts, movies, water slides, etc.

As for the overall resort, it is an older property so understand that before setting your expectations too high. We have stayed at many high end resorts and many AI resorts. The RS ranked up there with the cleanest of all the properties despite it being a little aged. Our room was spotless and so was the pool, beach, etc.

Omar, our favorite bell man, also deserves praise. One of our bags was delayed and he let his friend take my husband to the airport in his car to pick it up. Great, great customer service!

Other tips for San Jose: go across the street from the resort for a massage at the turquoise or purple signed spas. We went to both and both were great. $40 for one hour and excellent massages. Very clean.

Eat at Taqueria Rossy for the best fish tacos ever. Super casual, but so good. $7 cab ride. Only open for lunch.

Herrerederos is another great option for lunch or dinner. Great palapa atmosphere. You can walk there in about 20 minutes or take a cab. Eat the shrimp fajitas served in a molacajete. Friendly service and great margaritas too. Excellent!!!

Don't forget to explore the town on foot. Wonderful church in the square, cute shops, etc.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank natkoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and that our team helped to make your stay effortless and relaxing.

Warm Regards
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was a very clean resort. I have 3 kids 14,12 and 9 and there was a lot for them to do. The entertainment was great ! The entertainment team went around the clock entertaining during the day and evening! The staff was amazing! They defently served you! This is a great resort and area in Mexico to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your considerate review of your stay with us.

We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food, service, and location of the hotel. We value your opinion, and are always looking for ways we can improve the guest experience.
We hope you stay with us again during your next trip to the area.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Property: Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing