We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Solaris Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Overall I'd say this is a good value for the $$$, but this was my first experience at an all inclusive.
The grounds were very well kept, and the staff was extremely friendly. We really enjoyed our interaction with the staff, and were not bothered with the time share people (had to say no thanks only one time).
Food was okay - nothings special, but certainly not horrible. It did get a bit repetitive over the course of a week. We did not try the other two restaurants on the property and strictly did the buffet.
Drinks weren't all that great - a bit watered down it seemed, although the beer was fine (I think it was Tacate).
They have a freezer on site for those who wish to use it to store their catch, which was very nice for us to have as we did go fishing (and catching!) 2 days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchman012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your considerate review of your stay with us.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food, service, and location of the hotel. We value your opinion, and are always looking for ways we can improve the guest experience.
We hope you stay with us again during your next trip to the area.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,728 - 2,734 of 5,793 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

It's our first time visiting Cabo and All-Inclusive stye resort.
The facility is not as fancy as some would expect, but overall very clean.
There are areas such as kiddy pool and playground which is great for family with little kids. Plus the pool area seems very tolerant for small child "messing around".
The food choices are limited, but nevertheless decent.

Our concierge is Emir, who is a wonderful person which is really up to his task while being very patient and friendly. Helping us out on all sorts of requests/questions and gave us a wonderful experience of staying in the resort and visiting neighboring towns.

Overall would highly recommend the place for its connivence and value, as well as staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERRY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We are so grateful for considering us as your favorite destination. Thank you so much for your positive comments on our service and our restaurants.

Our commitment is to meet and exceed your expectations and special requirements to make of your stay your best “VACATION” ever.

Receive a warm greeting,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our first stay was better than our second. We paid a lot of money to upgrade to the rooms facing the ocean. The rooms we toured and were promised were not the rooms we were given. When you upgrade to the tune of several thousand dollars you expect to not get the bait and switch, especially when you are "owners." A couple of the meals were outside and it was the most inefficient way to serve that many people. LONG lines both times. At one of the reservation based restaurants we had a 6pm reservation for our group of 11. When we arrived there was no table for us and apparently they cannot push tables together. It was an hour wait. Those things would not be a big deal if we hadn't paid so much. On the bright side, the place is spotlessly clean, lot of food and drink, and the wait staff is the best ever! Would have rated higher if I didn't feel like we were taken advantage of.

Room Tip: Don't get bait and switched
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brettlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your continued support of Royal Solaris Los Cabos and for providing us with your feedback from your recent stay with us. We do regret that you were not more pleased with the property or the onsite amenities. We are in the process of planning for some changes and will be sure to share your comments with our team.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The timeshare sales pressure is over the top. Our "concierge" which is Royal Solaris speak for salesman, wouldn't take no for an answer. I repeatedly told him upon our arrival that we were not interested in taking a tour/purchasing a timeshare. He begged that we do it "for him" as a favor so that his boss wouldn't be upset. I wasn't aware that I owed this guy any favors, live and learn I guess. I finally capitulated just so we could go to our room and relax. I gave him a firm maybe but still would not commit, nor would I give him the required $20 appointment fee. I went to the lobby later to inform him that we would not be joining him for the tour and he acted like I just ran over his dog. "You should have told me" he said, "I just did" I said. "Now I'm going to be in trouble with my boss" blah, blah, blah. I told him that I would be happy to speak to his boss and let him know exactly why we weren't interested in the tour. Upon being introduced to the boss, a spineless American named Stan who was unable to make eye contact, they began a poorly choreographed routine about "taking away valuable appointment time from others who were dying to take the tour." If people are lining up to buy these timeshares, why must they bait them with offers of free massages, show tickets or WiFi? More importantly, why not leave those who have paid for their vacation and are clearly not interested in their sales pitch in peace?

Vultures I say. Vultures.

Aside from the sales staff I will say that the vast majority of employees were friendly and outgoing. One more thing. Get reservations at one of the restaurants for dinner otherwise the food is awful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesObscure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to read about the inconvenience you experience at our hotel. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide with a great experience and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning a future stay. We promise that it will be nothing short of amazing.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Pros: Reasonably priced, staff is excellent, entertaining shows and kids pool. Basically one really doesnt need to leave the resort.

Cons: Food is almost the same everyday, usually leftovers are served for lunch. Breakfast was pretty bad, if not for the wonderful lady (Lucy) who cooks eggs, I dont know what I would have done. The bathrooms are average at best, the drains were clogged in the wash basin as well as the shower area. The power switches were either broken or lose.

When I look back, for an upgraded room with Jacuzzi etc, I expected rooms to be better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieIndian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your first stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and the services you received. We do regret the remarks regarding the Entertaining Shows and will share those with our team. We have also forwarded your compliments to Lucy. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The royal Solaris is a beautiful resort with great grounds, endless food and drinks and nice beach front. The rooms are very nice, with most having nice views. The grounds, common areas and rooms are cleans and all areas of the hotel have purified water out of the tap. The only downside is the constant poolside music and shouting from poolside games. This goes on from about 10am to 6pm, non stop. The food is fair, but by no means outstanding. The price was right for an all inclusive if your into that type of resort. I'd rather go out and explore for different places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7pointstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wasn't too sure about staying here after I read the reviews. We got a really cheap package deal and paid for the upgrade to an Ocean view, otherwise I wouldn't have stayed here. The reviews were very helpful. You get what you pay for. We decided to stay because of the price and then we wouldn't feel so bad for eating out. We had one buffet dinner and that was enough. We then ate 2 times in the Mexican restaurant onsite and one in the Italian/Med restaurant. All 3 of those meal were good. We ate in San Jose del Cabo the other 2 times. The food at the hotel for breakfast was great and lunch was acceptable. The drinks were not good. Very watered down. You could drink booze all day and not even get a buzz. My husband had beer all day and was never drunk. When we drank off property you could really tell the difference.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We seemed to be tipping all the time. Be prepared for that and it did make a difference fore service and getting a table. Property is very clean. They were updating with painting and cleaning constantly.

Beds are on the hard side - which I really liked. No blankets and the AC makes it cold.

Reserving lounge chairs is a real issue. We quickly found out that if you didn't get down at 7am to reserve a chair you wold be able to get them together. There were 4 of us. There are signs that say no reserving chairs but it happens and no one enforces it. Some chairs had towels on them for hours with no one showing up.

Definitely a 2 tier system. Timeshare guests and regular guests. Thanks for all of the previous reviews about this because they were all true and we weren't surprised by this when certain things happen. Different meals, extra costs, different coloured towels, etc..

We got what we paid for but would not go back. Would go to a different hotel that did not have timeshare. We did not get hassled at all by the time share people. Once you said no they did not bother you. It would have been a lot easier just not to see and deal with the 2 tier system.

Room Tip: Higher floor Ocean view is well worth the extra money. Large rooms. We went out on the balcony a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 9gkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thanks you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. Thanks for sharing your comments regarding our bar service. We will ensure, next time you are our guest that you will receive the attentive service you expect from us. We hope you still would consider returning to our hotel.
We would love to have you back as our guests.
Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,263 reviews
17.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,371 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
7,964 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $152 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing