We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Solaris. The price was fair, the food and entertainment was great. We would consider returning here for short stays (4 -5 days). Other guests we spoke with felt the same way. Be aware that after you check in, the concierge (aka ‘time share vendor’ or ‘vacation club representative’) will try to talk to you about their ‘money-saving’ offers. You need to be prepared to say ‘no’ many times before they will let you go on your way.

CHECK-IN. Check-in was slow. Even though there were 3 people behind the counter helping the few guests who were standing in line it seemed to take forever for them to get to us. While we waited in line a lady approached us with what looked like a check-in form. She told us to fill it out and give it back to her after we were finished checking-in at the front desk. It didn’t feel right so I didn’t fill it out. I figured that if they were with the hotel they would not need my information a second time. After we finished getting checked in, the concierge (aka ‘time share vendor’ or ‘vacation club representative’) was waiting to talk to us. We tried to be nice and let him know that all we wanted was to get to our room. He persisted in telling us about their ‘money-saving’ offers –including vacation ownership. We had to tell the man ‘no’ many times before he let us go on our way. Even though I read many reviews about the hotel not one mentioned this so we were caught off guard. After all my travels to vacation destinations in Mexico, I was ready for the onslaught by time-share drones at the airport, but I never expected it after check in at the hotel.

ROOM. Our room was clean and spacious. We specifically asked if our room had a safe in it. We were told there was but when we arrived we found that the lock was missing. We called the front desk and they told me there was an extra charge ($1/day rental fee) to use it. The next time we went downstairs we rented the lock. It worked great for the time we were there. It would have been nice to know in advance because we would have gotten it at check in. The room had a coffee maker although we never used it because we always travel with a French Press and our own coffee grounds. This time I forgot to bring powdered cream so I used what was in the room. If you like cream in your coffee you better bring your own because the packets they provide across the property (in room and at restaurants) is a very low grade and does not taste good. The room also had a refrigerator -with soft drinks, beer and water. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that we could consume the drinks inside without incurring any extra charges. Our room faced the hotel entry and parking lot. It was very quiet and we had a very large balcony. We didn’t care about upgrading to get a nice view because we didn’t plan on spending much time in the room.

POOL. The pool was awesome! Our children really loved swimming up to the bar and ordering virgin drinks –that was the highlight for them.

BEACH. The beach is directly in front of the property. The hotel has plenty of Palapas (shade structures) with lounge chairs on the sand. We never had difficulties getting a spot. It is a short walk on the sand to the water’s edge. There must always be dangerous swimming conditions because there are permanent signs indicating potential dangers (not only in front of this hotel but others as well). One day the shore-break was so dangerous that a security person would not allow us to get close to the water –not even to wet our feet. On the last day of our stay the wave action was smaller so we were able to get in the water up to our knees. Bottom line: If you want to stay at a resort where you can swim in the ocean and play in the waves you should call the hotel directly and ask the front desk what the water conditions are before booking. Due to the permanent signs everywhere on the beach I suspect this is not a place you will want to stay if going into the ocean is a high priority for you.

DINING. We never went hungry! We spent most of our time at the pool area playing in the water. There was a snack bar that always had fresh fruit, vegetables, as well as the typical not-so-healthy options as well (hot dogs, french fries, chicken fingers). When we wanted something more substantial there were 2 other restaurants that were open most of the day. They had a wonderful assortment of food available with no waiting in lines. There is a restaurant that is open for dinner only. You must make reservations to eat there. If you want to give it a try you need to call at 9 am. We never went because we enjoyed the food at the regular restaurants.

ENTERTAINMENT. We spent most of our time by the pool playing in the water. Throughout the day there were an assortment of activities and games led by the hotel staff. They were very friendly and spoke English as well as Spanish. Everything they did was translated so everyone could participate. We really enjoyed getting to know the crew. They were all so friendly! We went to one of the nightly shows the property offers and the same crew that led us in the pool activities were in the show.

LOCATION. We didn’t love the location of the property because there wasn’t any night-life close by (walking distance). We would consider returning here for short stays (4 -5 days). If we wanted to stay longer we would find another location closer to the Marina (25 minutes away) because there was not a lot to do off-property.

Room Tip: If you want to use the in-room safe you have to rent the lock ($1/day). Take care of that at check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelJunkySoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay at Royal Solaris Los Cabos.
Our staff takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,956
    1,823
    902
    421
    344
See reviews for
2,190
1,618
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

For our anniversary this year we decided on San Jose del Cabo, as friends had highly recommended the area to us. We chose the Royal Solaris as another friend, who works as a travel agent and airline desk agent, travels to Cabo and stays at the Solaris. She gave it high marks. How right she was.

From our pickup at the airport to our shuttle back to the airport a week later, everything was perfect. Our assigned concierge was Carla who truly went above and beyond to make sure we were happy and well taken care of. She gave us tips on local restaurants, things to do, how to get there, etc. We followed these and it added to our enjoyment. When Carla was busy or not available we always looked for Rudy who was always eager to please and also provided outstanding service. At check-in we casually mentioned to Carla that this was our 29th wedding anniversary and thought nothing more of it. Two days later a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket appeared in our room along with dessert! What a touching and thoughtful surprise.

The food at the buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner were always of very high quality. Whenever we could we would wave to Martin who would seat us in his section and then proceed to look after our every need. One morning we asked him if mangos were in season. He said yes, but none were available in the kitchen. Would you believe that the next morning when we showed up for breakfast he presented us with two beautiful mangos, sliced them, and served them to us! He brought them in on his own. Maybe they were from his own tree, but the kindness and thoughtfulness on Martin's part truly touched us.

One evening we had dinner at Marco Polo's (one of their restaurants) and what a beautiful meal they provided.

We had a very nicely appointed room overlooking the pool area and the crashing waves of the Sea of Cortez. Again, here the service was always outstanding. Our housekeeper was Angelina and she was very skilled in dressing up the room each day by folding the towels into different shapes. It was always kept spotlessly clean and the drinks in the fridge were always replenished.

We've travelled all over the world and have stayed at many hotels. But the Royal Solaris and all her staff made our stay at this resort our most memorable and unforgettable wedding anniversary ever. When we go back we will ask for Carla and Rudy and we know we'll receive the same outstanding service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. Guest comfort is our #1 priority. Indeed, we strive to provide top notch service to all of our guests and we are glad to have surpassed those expectations.
Thank you for the compliments on our staff . We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a vacation in San Jose del Cabo. We highly recommend the Royal Solaris Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort. The location was great, the service was excellent and Aldo was the best-ever concierge! We were very impressed over all with this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolm436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and that our team helped to make your stay effortless and relaxing.

Warm Regards
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Contrary to some other posts we read ( I am sure their "expectations" are not in line with the facilities they selected) the room (partial sea view) was great - although balcony was a little hot in the pm as it faced South. The room (329) was VERY clean, bright and had lots of storage. The king bed was very comfortable and was not HARD, but medium firm (as nearly all Mexican good hotel beds are). The linens and towels were spotless. Lots of purified water, and a fridge that every day had fresh sodas, beer and water replaced at NO CHARGE.
Their was never any time share people in, around or near the hotel trying to sell their time share units (they were in town though).
Walmart and MEGA were about 20 mins walk away and the Town Centre (San Jose) was about 30 mins.
The ONLY complaint was the maid every day tirned the air conditioning on back to about 79F - we turned it off and opened the patio doors and slept listening to the ocean.
The food was very good (the a la carte excellent), although the use of the theater for dinner was a little institutional, with seating being on tables for 10.

We would definitely go back,although the location makes swimming in the ocean dangerous (undertow and some jellyfish) and we are not "pool aficionados". Great Hotel - great value.

Room Tip: Ours was 329 - partial sea view - faces south
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The service there was wonderful, everyone goes out of their way to make sure you have everything you need or want. Everyone there is really friendly! The whole place is really clean, you always see someone cleaning something, but not so they get in the way of everyone having fun. I have a really bad back and the beds weren't as bad as I was expecting...they are firm but still tolerable. The food was really good and we had no problems making reservations at the restaurants that required them. We went with another couple and they agree with us, this was one of the best vacations we have done. The service was great, the food was great and all the excursions we did were wonderful. I will recommend this resort to friends and would defaintly stat there again. I also recommend Allinclusive.com for making your reservations/bookings. Thru were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hornep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your expedient review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food of the resort, and we pride ourselves on thoroughly excellent customer service.

We invite you back for your next trip to Los Cabos.
Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

One thing about this hotel is the level service of the people. It's very good. They all try and deliver. Rooms are so-so; not wide, poorly equiped. If you want a safe, ask for it when you check in. The room was very clean, but the beds are old. Restaurants are decent.

Be warned: The beach is nice, but swiming is very risky. The red flag was there the whole week. There are better hotel options if you want to swin in the sea, mainly in the San Jose - San lucas corridor.

When you check in, there will be somebody walking to you with a smile, telling you he's going to explain to you the hotel services. He's a salesman. If you don't want to loose half an hour of your vacation, avoid him.

Location is good. In the nice part of San Jose del Cabo. San Jose is the Old Town. The quiet town. If you are looking for Night Life, stay in Cabo San Lucas.

Overall, the service in the hotel makes up for this hotel not being a 5 star hotel.

If you are on a mid budget, looking for great service, this is a good choice. If you are looking for luxury, go someplace else.

If you plan on moving around a lot, play golf, go to Todos Santos, The Arch, etc, rent a car......... We payed 400 USD for a minivan for the whole week, insurance included. The parking space is very limitied if you are coming here on High Season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your considerate review of your stay with us.

We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food, service, and location of the hotel. We value your opinion, and are always looking for ways we can improve the guest experience.
We hope you stay with us again during your next trip to the area.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights there. Property is too small in my opinion for spending all time on the property without going outside of the hotel. Since we had 2 and 4 y.o. kids with us, we were limited in the activities we could do around there.
Courtyard is nicely done, have nice pools for adults and kids. Since it is so sunny and hot there I wish they would have more shades or umbrellas by the pool, they had some but not enough.
Pool with slides with animals for kids is super nice. I hear that kids club is great too but we were not able to use it.
Beach is gorgeous however the waves are too strong and tide is pooling, it is dangerous to swim. we were still able to soak in the water and lay on the beach. Sand is white and beautiful.
Lobby of the hotel is well done. Staff are friendly and speak good English.
Rooms have poor old interior decor, I have to admit that and give impression of being not very clean even though I now they have been cleaned,. Last day as I was packing I saw a big dead cock roach next to the chair n our room...
Food... was to boring as it was very similar everyday. Lunch was good but breakfast need serious improvement, simple pancakes and waffles were horrible and I think those are very easy to cook but they were still bad. They had lost of Mexican food that looks like lunch or dinner food for me for breakfast. We did not care for that kind of food. Dinner options were better as you have several restaurants to choose from. But over all to me, food is nothing great there, just OK.

Room Tip: not sure how to choose a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,228 reviews
17.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
801 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,287 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,743 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Property: Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing