We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$276
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabo Azul Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$169
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$420
$350
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$249
$209
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
One & Only Palmilla(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$815
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$281
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$462
$431
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$319
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort(San Jose del Cabo)
$725
$653
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$134
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,197)
Filter reviews
6,197 results
Traveler rating
2,248
2,075
1,012
476
386
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,248
2,075
1,012
476
386
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarco polomoto motoentertainment staffsnack barlos cabossan josekids clubkids areaall inclusive resortmake reservationsfamily resortgreat family vacationocean viewtimeshare presentationlunch buffeta la carte restaurantsadult pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,346 - 3,351 of 6,197 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've been to the Royal Solaris in Cancun and it was better as far as food goes. The hotel itself was nice and the staff was very friendly. Shout out to Ramon by the adult pool bar and to Lucy at the Omelet station. If you are looking for an inexpensive trip with kids, this would be it. The pool was nice but if you expect to be able to swim in the ocean, won't happen unless you want to not come out alive. We are not by any means picky eaters but the buffet food was horrible. No variety, always the same stuff. The only buffet we enjoyed was the breakfast buffet because of the omelet station. Do by all means make reservations at the restaurants while you are there so you can at least get your money's worth on the food part. Wish we would have done that from the beginning. Very disappointed at the kids with no manners and not going to mention which nationality, just that the parents were not very good role models and they expected everyone else to watch their kids instead of themselves. Did not enjoy the main pool because of this. They do however have an adult pool, it's small but it's a great getaway from screaming kids. Not against kids by no means because I have a couple, I was just raised in a military family and had respect for adults and used proper language, Yes Sir, No Sir, excuse me, etc. So, with that being said, this is not a good place to go for adults without kids, or taking a kid break. We will not be back to this hotel because of the food and we really like to be able to go swimming in the ocean. We found out on our tour to the Arch that the RIU properties were more our speed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 618 which was the top floor in the middle. Great view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megga-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

EXPERIENCE:
Over all Royal Solaris was a nice little resort and conveniently located. If you are looking for a getaway with your family this is a great resort. However, I do not recommend it for couples at all. I am a mom and love children, however when I go on a vacation with my husband and friends I am looking for a relaxing, good time and not a billion screaming kids everywhere. The worst part is that there were 20 + kids at all times in the main pool at the swim up bar ordering blended drinks which made it impossible to order a cocktail. They need a swim up bar dedicated solely for the kiddos.

FOOD/DRINKS:
The food was just average. Definitely lacked authentic mexican food which is all we really wanted the entire time. The best meal we had was breakfast. The only thing that I really enjoyed was Lucy at the omelet bar. She killed it and made some fantastic dishes. You could have omelets, scrambles, huevos rancheros, quesadillas, etc. YUM. Lunch was alright..nothing special. The guacamole was like something out of a can. Super gross. Oh well it cant be too phenomenal I guess. The drinks...two thumbs down. Didn't really find a drink i loved. Was really looking for a good margarita and they did not have one. It was terrible. Outside of the resort we had some amazing ones!

ROOMS:
Definitely not a 5 star room at all. They were clean, had everything you needed but just nothing special. The showers were kinda dingy as well. They did have a little mini fridge which was stocked daily with sodas, waters and tecates which was very nice. The beds were extremely hard. If you enjoy a firm bed...you will LOVE it. The view was absolutely spectacular. GORGEOUS. The jacuzzi tub and lounge chairs on the deck were amazing! Pretty sure we used the jacuzzi every day. We stayed in room 1410 and friends in 1412 and had a perfect view. If we didn't have the tub I would probably rate the resort a little lower. That made our time fantastic. So relaxing.

BEACH:
If you want to go for a swim in front of the resort...forget about it. The waves were 15ft. plus and undertow very strong. The sand/beaches reminded me a lot of San Diego which made me feel like I was at home. I was hoping for a more tropical feel. White sand, blue water. If you want that you need to go to Cancun or the Riviera Maya.

RECOMMENDATIONS:
For sure rent a car and venture over to Cabo. We just went for the day and checked it out. We parked near the beach and had drinks and chips y salsa at Tabascos which was very good. From there we walked down to some of the resorts and the boys got to go swimming in the ocean finally. We passed by Mangos which looked very fun and had margaritas at the Office which were amazing. Another spot was Mona Lisa. Its an Italian restaurant and the view alone is breath taking. We went in the afternoon for some wine and snacks. Definite must see!! We went out to dinner outside of the resort and visited Habaneros... Food is fantastic. One thing I would also recommend is taking a boat cruise to lovers beach. We didn't get to do it but everyone we talked to said it was a must do! Finally, definitely visit Zippers. Its a little surf shop/restaurant. The food is great, the coronaitas phenomenal. Its quite a hike from the resort (30-40 min walk) but definitely worth the walk. Its a good workout if anything!

Overall, we had a great time. I recommend this resort for the value. It was nice but nothing out of this world. We were very happy with our stay, the staff, and the experience.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a room with a jacuzzi tub on the patio. Rooms 1410 and 1412 had wonderful views of the ocean and pool area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MindyM420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback, we are pleased to know that the care provided by our staff has been to your liking.
All comments and suggestions you are mentioning, we will look closely and make the proper adjustments; we can assure you our guests are the most important people for us.

Thank You and hope see you back soon!

Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel experience was satisfactory.
Never been to Los Cabos before so we were a little bit disappointed about the "no swim" red flags at the Hotel beach.
The Hotel staff goes beyond standard, they are very friendly and efficient.
Special Mention :The Kids Club, fantastic. Dora, Xoxo and Jasmin do a GREAT job with the kids !
Rooms are clean and neat every day. I wish I had our housekeeper Juliana, at home ! Food is OK, with many choices. Drinks are decent and not watered down. You will need transportation for any activities.
Be careful at the airport with the taxi scams.
Special thanks to our concierge Rudy, very professional and multitask.
It was a good deal for the price we paid in a last minute trip from Houston.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Royal Solaris Los Cabos, we are so thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do our best to accommodate guests of all ages in our entertainment fun and are so glad to know you liked our mini-club.
We do hope you will come back soon!

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked this as a last minute special. Booked Wednesday, left Sunday.

Had been to Cabo San Lucas before but wanted to experience the other end of the "strip".

Found the front desk staff very accommodating. Had a plumbing problem that was difficult to resolve but they kept at it until things were satisfactory. That for me is the test. Problems arise, that is life. It is how they are dealt with that tells the tale and in this case "Enrique" the plumber earns a 10 out of 10.

Room was Ocean view and second from the top floor. Nice to wake up to the early morning sun
on the waves. Promptly made up once we learned to be out and about at the commencement of the housekeeping staff schedule. Lots and lots of cute little towel animals etc. King size bed which was firm but in no way too hard for our needs.

Pool was great. Looks like it has been recently re-surfaced with a textured look. Great free form style that lets you find a place that works just right for you. No problem ever finding a chaise lounge by the pool.

Food was hit and miss. The resort hosts two "pay to participate" parties each week. Caribbean and Tiki party. On those nights the buffet is substandard so if you are up to eating outside the resort that would be a good time. Other than that, breakfast was great, lunch at the Oceanside grill was fabulous and most buffet nights were okay.

Those evenings that hosted actual shows were quite good. Some evenings however it was things like "chicas vs chicos" - boys vs girls which was in fact musical chairs in the lobby.

Timeshare sales are a factor at this resort and the "pay to participate" parties seem to be held to allow for usage as benefits of involvement in the timeshare presentations or as an actual purchaser. We as individuals were not overly pressured but others in conversation stated that 90 minutes became 4 1/2 hours.

On balance this location was okay if you can deal with the time share issue and are looking for a quiet evening experience. Definitely not for someone looking for post 10:00 PM activity as it just does not exist.

Tip: The local Mega is kind of a Wal Mart clone but cleaner. If you walk across the street from the hotel and turn left it is about a 15 minute walk. The Mega opens at 0700 so if you are an early riser you can beat the heat and obtain any prescriptions, sun tan oil, toiletries etc at reasonable prices. It is a bit uphill but then it is downhill all the way home.

Overall this was a great deal for the price we paid as last minute from Vancouver.

Room Tip: The oceanview was very nice but then as last minute booking people it only cost 30.00 per person for the week
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCBERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your expedient review. We are so glad you enjoyed the resort, and we pride ourselves on thoroughly excellent customer service.

We invite you back for your next trip to Los Cabos.

Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Royal Solaris Los Cabos is the best hotel in San Jose Del Cabo.If you are going with a older kid or teen,there is the benefit of a game room.The rooms are fantastic,and mostly clean(there was a cockroach on the first floor in our room).There is a show put on,there is also a swim up bar in one of the three pools.Overall,this is the most amazing hotel in the whole area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secretsomeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews