We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, Dated, Poor Service, Don't wasit your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dirty, Dated, Poor Service, Don't wasit your money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked our trip here for our anniversary. We upgraded our room for an ocean view suite. If we stood on the patio and stuck our bodies off over the rail (4 stories high), we could see the ocean. Hmmmm, so that is what I paid extra for? Also, we were booked in a smoking room that was covered with cigarette ashes. Nowhere did it mention that we had to clarify smoking or non-smoking. I have allergies and asthma so that was not okay. After showing us SEVERAL rooms, they moved us to the 5th floor, garden view room, which was apparently a non-smoking floor. However, there were ashtrays down the halls of the entire floor. They sprayed enough Fabreeze in the room that it could have suffocated a small animal (the room still ended up reeking of smoke). We stayed the 1st night because it was too late to move to a different hotel because the booking agents were gone for the evening. The beds were rock hard making it a restless first night of our vacation.

The facility was dirty (brown stains all over the ceiling and walls). Mildew covered the grout in the tiles. There was no hot water in the morning to take a shower. The furnishings were reminiscent of bad 1980's curtain decor. I would describe the the snack bar at best, mystery meat with a side of who the heck knows what. The breakfast was actually not that bad. SO I guess there is ONE nice thing I can say about the resort. On day 2 we ended up transferring hotels. After specifying to the cab driver to be taken to the next resort, the hotel specifically told the cab driver to take us to the airport (which he did). Thanks for waisting another 1.5 hours of my precious vacation time!

The hotel manager told us that they would not charge us the cancellation fee; however, they changed their tune when our travel agent discussed the situation with them and made us pay a 2 night cancellation fee and we still paid for the ocean view room when we actually stayed in a garden view room ($40 cheaper p/night). Hopefully trip advisor will not erase this review as we did stay one night (too many) at Royal Solaris Cabos. I had not specified that in my earlier review. What I have learned from this experience is that I will never bargain book again. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The price might look appealing but don't book it... Spend the extra cash and enjoy some luxury w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel.

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,897
    1,781
    884
    415
    340
See reviews for
2,125
1,581
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a wonderful family friendly resort and so I thought it best for the 3 children who just stayed here to write the review. This was our third visit to the hotel and we thought it was amazing again. We love the theatre shows, and they are suitable for all ages. The food was delicious especially the breakfast buffet - they made donuts, crepes and all types of eggs to order. The staff were always ready to please, smiling and helpful. I am a picky eater but they were always helpful by making me special food to eat. The Kids Club Instructors named Dora and So So were spectacular. They always had a fun movie and crafts in the afternoon. The water slides are the best. The big pool is fun for everyone and has a wonderful 'swim up bar' where you can order anything you like - smoothies, virgin Pina Colada and juices.
The staff at the Pool, especially Danny always had fun games to play, like bingo, water dances, volleyball games and ping pong tournaments. The hotel is right on a nice, wide beach with great boogie boarding. There are lots of vendors on the beach but they left you alone as soon as you said 'No'. The water is very shallow for a long way out. They is a great adult pool, gym and spa. We wish there was a hot tub for the kids to use!

Room Tip: Pay extra money for pool or ocean side rooms. The higher the rooms the better they get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0madartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at Royal Solaris Los Cabos and for sharing such a wonderful review. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you.
I do understand through your detailed comments that we succeeded in making your stay enjoyable. We will always do everything within our means to ensure that your needs and expectations are met.

We look forward to welcoming you back at any of the Solaris Hotels in the near future

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first time in Cabo and we had a great time! I want to say a special thank you to Armando Flores, our concierge. He was extremely helpful, friendly and always had a smile. He was never too busy to talk to us or help us, even after we said no to the membership! Thank you Armando for giving us a great holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we will tell Armando all the nice words you say about him, we are also very happy you had a nice stay with us, we hope see you soon again!

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Club Solaris in San Jose del Cabo. Alex and Celso made our time in Club Solaris extremely enjoyable. Their efforts and kindness during our stay were extremely appreciated. Service by Alex and other staff members at Club Solaris are beyond all expectations - they definitely go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. We are already planning our visit next year - looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We feel very honored to read your kind remarks in regards of your visit to our hotel. On behalf of all the associates of the Royal Solaris Los Cabos, I want to express our appreciation for the time you took to write and describe your appreciations of the service we provide.

Making our guests feel pampered and forgetting their everyday worries, are our main goals and I feel glad that our staff, services and installations have achieved that.

Warm Regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

As a member, I have visited Royal Solaris several times and I've seen many improvements thorughout the years. Each time turns out to be a relaxing vacation where I'm able to unwind because I don't have to worry about anything. On my last trip in November Bob was assinged to make sure everything went smoothly for us. Bob was new to working at the resort but was great and handled everything! We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick206a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so very much for choosing Royal Solaris Los Cabos as your preferred Hotel. I also thank you, on behalf of the entire team, for submitting such positive comments.

We are pleased to acknowledge that the Solaris Hotel had provided a delightful and memorable experience during your stay. I will make sure to share your kind words with our wonderful staff.

We are very proud to know that we will have the immense pleasure to host you again at the Royal Solaris Los Cabos.

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to San Jose Del Cabos in 14 months. The purpose of our trip was for a dental holiday (crowns, bridges, implants) and to spend some time in the sun with family. We booked on Sunwing ONLY because we had a lot of $$$ credits to use up from a previously messed up Sunwing flight and vacation package.
This 2-wk trip returned to Toronto on Feb 1/13., We stayed at The Royal Solaris. It was NOT our first hotel choice, but it was the only Sunwing vacation spot closest to where we had to be during our available vacation time slot. No where in the Sunwing brochure did it indicate the Royal Solaris was also a TIMESHARE hotel occupied 2/3rds by pushy, 'special' timeshare folks, hogging deck chairs and taking command locations in lines! Further, The Royal Solaris ENCOURAGED more timeshare sales with their segregated events and "guided tours" of the facilities with timeshare sales persons.
HOWEVER, in general, it was at best, "average" . GOOD FOOD, really terrific domestic staff and waiters- and of course, the fantastic Cabos weather and beach! Whale watching each morning from the outdoor elevated terrace of the SEGREGATED buffet restaurant was a terrific compliment to expertly prepared breakfast. The hotel's entertainment staff provided lively and well prepared dance routines to accompany supper in the buffet. The waiters at poolside diligently served watered-down drinks. Although the liquor bottles displayed in the bar had liquor control labels attached, it was questionable that the contents of those bottles was the real thing and not no-name alcohol.
We were at the Royal Solaris for 2 weeks and honestly can't see where all these other "GREAT" reviews are coming from? The hotel was clean but VERY, VERY tired. The rooms and the public spaces need a facelift: NO WARM BLANKETS in this hotel !!! Imagine a hotel with no blankets. Not even an over-washed bedspread ! We were ready to go the the Barcelo next door at midnight to borrow a few blankets! That's when someone finally came to our room with a blanket since all we had were sheets on the bed. Worn out lobby upholstry, electrical cover plates missing, wires hanging, alarm clocks that don't work, etc. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE internet connection (we tested it ! 0.38 speed on a scale of 0-10!!) The elevators had the strangest numbering system we have ever seen anywhere in the world- buttons 1,2 and 3 actually meant floors 3,4 & 5??? Elevators were slow and used for both the patrons going back and forth to their rooms and the hotel housekeeping & wait staff. The elevators were busy all night.
The building itself has many design flaws and SAFETY ISSUES. The main lobby bar opens directly to the outdoor garden & pool area by means of large, 12ft tall, sliding window-wall doors! These doors open to a steep, angled, irregular, narrow set of steps that meet the lobbybar floor with a raised track and a 4" wide trainagle tred! What BRAINIAC designed this? Imagine a few drinks then tumbling out of this bar down a dozen concrete steps!!! And, if you are DISABLED...DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!! You cannot get into or attend many of the facilites and functions because you just can't get to them.
San Jose del Cabos (not to be confused with Cabos San Lucus) is a wonderlful Mexican experience. The old Town is quaint, safe, historically interesting and a great place to walk to from the hotel strip. The new marina is only 4 km away and we would encourage visitors to walk downtown and to the marina - or, you can take the Centro bus for 10 pesos. We look forward to our next trip next winter. However, WOULD WE GO BACK to the Royal Solaris? No thank you! We will be booking at either the Barcelo, the Pueblo Bonito or the Rui.!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katemetroToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We have taken the time to look into your comments written on this review and we are embarrased to learn about your poor experience. On behalf of our staff please accept our most sincere apologies.

Once again we sincerely regret you did not enjoy your stay and please feel free to contact me at any time so that I can personally insure you are 100% satisfied with our resolution to the issue you reported.

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just back from a two week holiday. The resort is very clean,the staff friendly and the hotel has many activities. The pool staff are very entertaining. The evening shows are very well done. The lobby has lots going on in the evening. WiFi is very slow. RSVP for a la carte was very challenging. Food was ok but could have been hotter. A little cool in the mornings and evenings. Bring a sweater. I would recommend this resort.
The Outback and Camel Safari and the Glass Bottom Boat excursions were great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, on your mention of the hotel's internet, we are already working in this situation so that your next stay will not have this problem.

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Property: Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing