We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I'd like to mention Carlos Escobedo, Luis Lizarraga, and Angelo as outstanding staff members at the Royal Solaris. Their smiles and greetings each day, combined with excellent service and friendly attention to our needs ( my husband is disabled) made our stay at this excellent hotel very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,644 - 3,650 of 6,036 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I came back to the Royal Solaris in San Jose del Cabo for the second year in a row. There are a few things that really stood that made our stay a trip that we will be doing again for a third year. More than anything the entertainment staff made us feel like we were a bunch of friends hanging out. To my amazement a few members of the entertainment team and hotel staff recognized my wife and I from our previous visit, which was exactly one year before. On arrival to the resort a very helpful bellman recognized us as we stepped out of our shuttle, which completely blew me away. Our front desk clerk was very helpful and assisted us easily in upgrading our room accommodations to a hot tub suite. After our bags were delivered to our room we wanted nothing more than to sit pool side with a cold drink and a fresh plate of chips and salsa from the pool snack bar. We had a few hours of relaxing before going to the dinner show. As we walked into the theater we were greeted by the preformers of the entertainment team. I had recognized a few members of the team again surprised Danny Boy, Gaby, and Mac greeted us and recognized us from our pervious visit. After enjoying the dinner and show Danny Boy asked us if we'd like to go with the staff to party at the RED BAR which is down the street from the resort. Danny Boy and Becca walked us down there where they stayed and hung out with all of the guests that came, Gaby met us there and we all had a great night. The next morning I went down for breakfast at the buffet where we got to see Lucy one of the on hand cooks that make you fresh omlets that you pick all your fresh ingredients. After breakfast we made our way to the pool. The entertainment staff was there every day leading fun activities from pool bingo, beer drinking contests, water aerobics and the list goes on and on. There was one other member of the wait staff that made this a great trip. A server named Mauro had always made sure that we had everything we needed at every meal anytime he saw that we were there, even if it wasn't his section. All and all it's the great service and staff that will have us coming back next year with a large group of friends because we can't stop talking about our great get away!

A very special thanks again to the entertainment team! Danny Boy, Victor, Rachel, Mac, Zoe, Jessica, Becca, Nadya, Poncho and Moto they made our vacation well wroth it!!!

Room Tip: We asked to upgrade to a jaccuzi suite with a full ocean view. Specify if you don't want a smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I are staying in staying in San Jose del Cabo and decided to have a two day break. We booked a Hotwire Secret Saver and won the Royal Solaris. Having previously stayed at the Royal Solaris, Cancun, we were looking forward to our break.
Although the room was great, big, quiet with comfortable bedding, the food was average. In addition, the free (in lobby) internet service is incredibly slow and can't be used with VOIP (e.g. Skype).
In all fairness, we try to eat healthy and for us there was little food we could eat, although others seemed very happy with huge plates of bacon and pancakes and similar food.
Tip: When dinner bookings open at the specialty restraints, book an early meal. If the food offered is not to your liking, leave and fill up at the buffet.

Room Tip: Leave the baggage with the porter and check out the room before your baggage is delivered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James27041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just spent a week at the at the Royal Solaris in Cabo with our daughter and her husband and our grandson. It was way to short. The weather was amazing, the hotel beautiful and the food good. Yes the buffet's get a little boring by the end of the week but the food is always tasty. In fact we had at least three amazing meals. Now for the best part. Our Guest Rep was Super Mario Villavicencio and he was absolutely amazing. It seemed like he was always around asking if everything was OK and if he could do anything else for us. He booked reservations, helped with suggestions about things to do and got us maps and directions when ever we needed them. He was always there when we had a question. Mario treated us like old friends visiting at his home. We'll be back but next time for at least two weeks.
P.S. we felt safe and secure where ever we went.

Room Tip: next time we'll upgrade to full ocean view, it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlumberDaveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Myself and a friend recently stayed at the Royal Solaris is San Jose del Cabo Mexico, from October 28 Nov. 4, 2012.
Booking through Air Canada Vacations, it was a last minute trip, as a result was not too picky as to where I was going, or location. It was my first trip to the Los Cabo area, after many trips to both Puerto Vallarta, Mazatlan, and Cancun, so was well aware of what to expect on a "Mexican " vacation.

Having travelled with other suppliers in the past, we was disappointed in the overall service of Air Canada. Food was not offered on the flight, not even a bag of peanuts, and only those with credit cards were able to purchase the over priced sandwiches and beverages . When we arrived in Mexico, we were held on the runway in the airplane for 40 mins while we waited for immigrations forms to arrive as the airline forgot to load them on the Airplane. Once they arrived, most were in Spanish only, so we had to wait our turn while an interpretor guided us through the form. Air Canada also did not have pens on board, so those without pens had to wait to borrow them. After finally being allowed to disembark and get through the long security process, we were unable to locate our transfer bus to our hotel, as there was no Air Canada representative waiting after security. (As it turns out, we were directed the wrong way and ended up on the wrong side of the airport) We were able to purchase a shuttle at a cost of $11.00 US per person which delivered us to the Hotel.

Upon arrival at the Royal Solaris, we attempted to check in, but as checkin wasn't until 3:00 PM, and we arrived shortly after 1:00PM,so we were unable to access our room. After filling out our paperwork, we were directed to "Jose" who we were told was our personal concierge. He sat us down and brought us a drink, and introduced us to all the hotel had to offer, providing us with maps and coupons which we could spend in the hotel. Then he offered us a "free breakfast, and tickets to two EXCLUSIVE dinners" However in order to qualify we needed to give him a $40.00 deposit . It was then that we realized we had been tricked into a Timeshare presentation the next day. After some difficulty we were able to get our money back, but not before some high pressure tactics by his manager.

At 3:00PM we returned to get our room keys, but were informed that the room we were supposed to get had a King Sized bed in it, and as we are two single men, it was certainly not an option, so we had to wait while they found us another room. We were then given a room on the Family side of the hotel, right by the kiddie pool, which again was not suitable. The 3rd room we were given was not cleaned from the previous guests, and wouldn't be ready for two more hours, and finally, at 4:30PM we were finally given a room that was suitable.

Our vacation could finally begin!

As I stated early, I have travelled many times to Mexico, so I knew what to expect, however overall I found the service, food quality and general lack of concern for the guests was well below any other vacation I have taken. Except for one thing.

THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF ROCKED!!!

Throughout the day, there are many activities planned around the pool, bingo, dance contests, water games and the like. And all of the staff went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome . ZOE, JESSICA and BECCA were absolutely incredible, as were the rest of the staff. At night we thoroughly enjoyed all of the themed shows, and the dancing was phenomenal! Everynight there are activities in the Lobby area, Casino Night, Latin Night, games and contests. I was amazed at the fact that the same entertainment staff planned and organized all of the evening shows as well as the daytime activities, and always with a smile! As we were in Los Cabos during Halloween, we booked a Party Hopper tour into Cabo San Lucas, and was surprised to find that it was the entertainment staff that were our guides, and they took us to all of the hot spots and looked out for us all night, making sure we didn't stray too far but kept the party rockin'!

OVERVIEW

Given the price we paid, overall the Royal Solaris was a suitable vacation, the pools were clean, the cleaning staff were great, and the bartenders kept the drinks flowing, however if I return to the Royal Solaris in the future, it will be because of the BEST Entertainment Team I have ever experienced on a Mexican Vacation, and the only reason I rated the resort a 4, without them it would have been a 3 for sure

Room Tip: Kiddie Pool is on the south side, rooms on the north side are closer to the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukiedukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed 5 nights, 6 days in November 2012 and had a great time! PERFECT weather, super friendly/helpful staff and there was more than an abundance of food/drinks. Sure, it's not the best meal you'll have 3x a day for 6 days, but it's definitely a relaxing and fun week away from home. We played tennis, beach volleyball, water volleyball, karaoke, etc. And it's only a short, cheap shuttle to Cabo San Lucas for a day of beach, shopping and marina watching.

The entertainment crew is funny and lively, keeps you entertained (if you WANT to be. Otherwise you head to the quiet pool).

I could have used a little bit warmer temps in the pool. And of course, the drinks could have been a litttttle stronger...but when you're drinking all day, and there is a swim-up bar, maybe it's good to pace yourself?

Overall great time!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from our stay at Royal Solaris and had such a wonderful time. What
makes the stay so enjoyable is the staff. Friendly, eager to help especially the people in
food service. I have special dietary needs of Celiac Disease and they all worked very hard
to accommodate my needs. Victor Estrada and Rosario Lara and Chef Alejandra all went
out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home.

Room Tip: Ocean side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,886 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,038 reviews
1.5 mi away
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
#27 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $161 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing