We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was very disappointed with this location. The outside bars closed by 6:00 and we witnessed someone being turn away at the only bar because they were wet. The bar that they bragged about in the reviews was not open when we went there. I have never encountered such unfriendly staff in my entire life. We were there for a holiday and it seems everyone kept pushing the time share aspect down our throats, not exactly what I wanted my first experience of Mexico to be! We did leave the property and had a great time when we did. I would recommend staying in Cabo San Lucas if you are looking for entertainment. If you are looking to just relax by a mediocre pool then maybe this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarasgpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We offer you an apology if your stay in our hotel was not to your liking, I assure you that in Royal Solaris Los Cabos we work very hard every day to make our guests vacation, the best of their lives.

Hopefully you can give us the opportunity to serve once again to show that we can exceed your expectations.

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,989
    1,844
    913
    424
    346
See reviews for
2,237
1,634
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Solaris and again we had a wonderful time. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The whole resort is impeccably clean. There is always a fresh variety of food. The best part of returning to Solaris each year is seeing the same friendly staff members - that makes it feel like a home away from home. Irma is fabulous! She takes such good care of us. I feel like she is a member of our family! Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front and a corner room is always great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We love reading comments like yours, we are very happy that we exceeded your expectations, which is a big commitment to Royal Solaris Los Cabos.

Hope to see you back soon

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Solaris the 2nd week of September for this trip. Was overall fairly impressed with the accomodations at this hotel. Room was quite spacious and the bathroom was a good size. Housekeeping was timely and quick. For once the mini fridge worked so well it almost iced everything up. And plenty of hot water for the shower which in the past has been hit and miss with other resorts.

One thing that I really liked was the pools were actually pretty deep but mexican standards. 4ft 9 inches. One pool was Adults only and on the other side was this really spectacular water park for the kids.

Food was decent at all locations, with the exception of the outdoor snack bar.

15 minute walk to downtown San Jose or a 5 dollar cab ride. If your looking for more nightlife you might choose Cabo San Lucas but this hotel offers a very decent place for a quieter time.

Check out the Camel trip for an excursion. Had to be talked into that, but was glad I went. Included a 20 minute nature walk with a really funny guide. 1/2 hour camel trek and a great luncheon held at an outdoor kitchen. Food was excellent. The camels were super friendly and not at all like I expected. Kind of reminded me of big goofy dogs. All and all, a good relaxing time.

Room Tip: I selected a room pool side ground floor for easy access to the pool, however the front on the pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, hope to see you back again soon.

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from a week long holiday in San Jose Del Cabo. My family (3 adults) had a great time here. We loved the hotel & staff. They were so nice & very helpful. Hector at the guest services desk is the nicest man. He answered all our questions & concerns. Angel in the buffet restaurant is one of the best servers i have ever had.
The hotel was very clean, reasonably updated & very comfortable. The free WI-Fi in the lobby is great to keep in touch with family & friends.
We enjoyed the food all week, towards the end of the week it gets a bit repetitive but always hot, & plenty of choices. I would not recommend the room service, it took 1.5 hours to get a club sandwich & fries & it was stone cold.
The mattresses leave a lot to be desired but that is more personal comfort than a complaint.
The timeshare presentation was okay but the sales people were very pushy. We went through 4 different salesmen and numerous pitches for the same item but we still declined.
The weather was not the best a few nice days then rain, then more nice days. The pool area is really nice with lots of room and pool chairs. The view of the ocean is great even though you can't safely swim in this part of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are glad to read your review, Its our satisfaction that you have liked our hotel and staff.

Hope see you again soon!

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went to royal solaris on September 8 for a week and we really enjoyed it. the only concerns that i had was the beds were really hard and it was kinda hard to sleep on. And the lack of food places to eat. There are 4 restaurants in this hotel but only 2 are open at a time and its all pretty much Mexican. And they charge 5.00 for room service plus tip. But over all it was a great hotel, its clean and big and the staff are amazing. The cabo adventures are awesome i do recommend you to do the scuba diving and dolphines it was great!! it is a long trip to get to down town los cabo's but overall its very quite and safe and we would love to come back to los cabo's. the spa are amazing, get the beach massage you will love it :)

Room Tip: We had a ocean view room, well it was partial ocean view so make sure that you get ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissabodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment, in Royal Solaris Los Cabos are constantly being updated, please be informed that we are launching a program of gradual replacement of furniture and we are giving to all hotel maintenance everyday.


Thanks again!

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned this week from Royal Solaris! Antonio was very helpful and pleasant to work with. Greeted us every morning with a smile and checking in to make sure we had great plans and accommodations. Very eventful week with rough seas thanks to hurricane activity in the Pacific - several sea sick passengers for the snorkeling tour (including some staff!) Earthquake happened mid week and then flooding in the town from down pour of rain! The Hotel staff and first contact Timeshare representatives (Antonio & front desk staff) were very good. Very high pressure from the TimeShare upper staff. Did not appreciate the presentation and the pressure selling. We were turned off and quite aggreivated. From the friends we made on the trip, none were buying!!! The food was ok, not too many options for dinner and the food was repetative. Drinks were not top shelf by any means and very low quality! If we could take the staff with us we would and go to a different resort!

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyLB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to know that the care provided by our staff has been to your liking.
Regarding the timeshare selling situation you are mentioning we will look closely into this situation and make the proper adjustments; we can assure you our guests are the most important people for us.

Thank you and hope see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We just returned from an all inclusive trip to Los Cabos and stayed at the Royal Solaris. Hotel plumbing is bad, sinks would not drain. Bedding very outdated. Took my own pillow, thank goodness. Pools are very warm and since the weather was warm, that didn't help. Breakfast was good, they have a buffet and a lady that cooks omelets and other breakfast items. Did not like the meats served at dinner or lunch. Meats were tough, vegetables bland. Best thing was the salad bar. The only beer they served with the all inclusive was draft Tecate in small cups. Light tecate was bottled, but they only serve it to you in cups around the hotel and pools. Glasses were used in restaurants. We were able to eat at the Italian restaurant that requires reservations and also ate at the Mexican restaurant that required reservations, they were both good. and
Our Maitre D in the open restaurant was great, his name is Victor Estrada. A couple of great guys that were also very helpful and delightful were Armando in the towel section, he was super nice, attentive and friendly and the other young man is Victor in the Music area. He was able to find music on the web and played some great sounds. Omar and the other young men serving drinks in the pool area were really attentive and kept our glasses full. Other than bear, they serve many different cocktails and they are really good. Too bad the hotel was not as good as he staff. Needs updating bad. Our trip was done by Travelocity and we paid for a room called the Romance Room..does not exist. Don't pay extra. We changed rooms 3 times and all the rooms were the same, according to the front desk as well. In addition, use the bus for $1.00 per person to get around, safe and bus driver will tell you where to get off if you tell him where you want to go. People around there will also tell you where to get the bus when you want to return to hotel..

Room Tip: We stayed right in the center of the hotel, so we had a panoramic view of the hotel and sea. Third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EGH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed the service, otherside, the comments you mention the hotel is in constant maintenance and renovation of our facilities so that our guests can enjoy the hotel to the fullest.

Thanks again!

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,238 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#22 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,846 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,319 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Property: Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing