We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, hotel needs major makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We just returned from an all inclusive trip to Los Cabos and stayed at the Royal Solaris. Hotel plumbing is bad, sinks would not drain. Bedding very outdated. Took my own pillow, thank goodness. Pools are very warm and since the weather was warm, that didn't help. Breakfast was good, they have a buffet and a lady that cooks omelets and other breakfast items. Did not like the meats served at dinner or lunch. Meats were tough, vegetables bland. Best thing was the salad bar. The only beer they served with the all inclusive was draft Tecate in small cups. Light tecate was bottled, but they only serve it to you in cups around the hotel and pools. Glasses were used in restaurants. We were able to eat at the Italian restaurant that requires reservations and also ate at the Mexican restaurant that required reservations, they were both good. and
Our Maitre D in the open restaurant was great, his name is Victor Estrada. A couple of great guys that were also very helpful and delightful were Armando in the towel section, he was super nice, attentive and friendly and the other young man is Victor in the Music area. He was able to find music on the web and played some great sounds. Omar and the other young men serving drinks in the pool area were really attentive and kept our glasses full. Other than bear, they serve many different cocktails and they are really good. Too bad the hotel was not as good as he staff. Needs updating bad. Our trip was done by Travelocity and we paid for a room called the Romance Room..does not exist. Don't pay extra. We changed rooms 3 times and all the rooms were the same, according to the front desk as well. In addition, use the bus for $1.00 per person to get around, safe and bus driver will tell you where to get off if you tell him where you want to go. People around there will also tell you where to get the bus when you want to return to hotel..

Room Tip: We stayed right in the center of the hotel, so we had a panoramic view of the hotel and sea. Third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EGH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed the service, otherside, the comments you mention the hotel is in constant maintenance and renovation of our facilities so that our guests can enjoy the hotel to the fullest.

Thanks again!

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,618 - 3,624 of 5,918 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel was clean and nice nothing fancy, food was good especially the italian and mexican even had a vegetarian menu, other family members that are picky said the meat dishes were good.
Hector at the front of hotel, super nice, very helpful not pushy. one of the pool bartenders even when you tipped and no one else did service was no better maybe worse very weird. Ramone was friendly brought drinks by the pool always smiling, a guy worth tipping. Even though I don't have a little kid, play area was so cute and in a seperate area which was nice. Not enough daily
activity, was very boring had to make your own fun. Entertainment at night nothing great. Close to Mega mart about 15, 20 min walk if you need something. Most of the staff gave good service.
Beds were good, clean, one bad thing was no midnight snack they were supposed to have but never did, so after the show 10 if you were hungry to bad. Take a camel ride tour super fun better than I thought it would be, and the lunch on the tour was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view if you dont want to pay extra for ocean view they do not upgrade like other hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catsNDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the food in our restaurants, but we have passed your comments to our chief of entertainment, so he can make the proper adjustments

Thank you for your comments that make us a better hotel every day.

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This isn't my favorite place to stay. It could have been due to the fact that it was my honeymoon, not too sure.
I wasn't overly happy with the food, as I have had better all inclusive meal plans before. We paid for a week and left after a few days to go stay somewhere else.

The only plus: The staff..... They were very nice... However I most likely won't be going back.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are sorry that your vacation are not what you expected. At Royal Solaris Los Cabos are committed to the satisfaction of our guests. If you had the opportunity to stay longer with us, probably your perspective would change.

Thank you for your comments that make us a better hotel every day.

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good, clean resort. Well maintained. The pool, swim up bar, and all inclusive are good, but the food is only mediocre. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially a young man named "Roy" who always went out of his way to make our trip special. Some good entertainment, but since you are out of town, could use more. The ocean is not swimmable as the waves break close to shore indicating a steep bank and undertow. Not a top notch resort, but the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, comments like yours help us to improve everyday.
Regarding your food comments, our executive chef is taking note about that and making the proper adjustments.

Thanks for visitng us and hope see you again!


Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our family of four visited this resort from August 19-Sept 3. We are from Alberta, Canada and found our 4 hour flight from Calgary easy and quick. The los Cabos airport is old and hard to get out of getting past all the time share people. The ride to the hotel was just over an hour. I personally don't mind the hotel transfers I like to check out the scenery. And this being our first time in this location it was nice to see.
Check in was a long line up, but was running smoothly. Once in the room it was clean but dated. The room isn't the reason we take a vacation especially with our kids.
Overall the reason I say it was good for families is because of the size. No matter where you were on the resort it wasn't to much hassle to go to room or front desk ect. We thought we would use the kids club more but our kids were only there 4 times out of 2 weeks. They liked being in the main pool with us and busy socializing. The pool bar service is sooo slow it is agonizing to get a beverage. There is simply just not enough staff working. The service around the pool is great considering it is only one guy. The pool entertainment is loud but there are some areas nearer to the beach that aren't as noisy. The only thing that was horrible about this pool was that it turned my little girls hair green. I'm very serious about this. Her hair was green halfway down the last 5 inches or so on the 1st day. I was horrified. I could understand if after even the first week it had a slight green tint to it, but this was extreme. And I'm a hairstylist so my daughters hair is treated well. A lot of women and girls had green hair. Yuck.
The food was great for a resort in this price range. There were only a couple nights that I was wishing I could find a snack. And one night I did down by the pool the snack bar was opened, sure this was a Friday.
The entertainment was great they were funny, great dancers and friendly. They could do more kids activities by the pool as the children adore them. But all activities are for adults. When they play bingo the children want to join but its fast paced. Night entertainment was good too. Dinner theater was great it was nice for the nights to give the kids a break from the long traditional restaurant dinners.
As for excursions we didn't do much. We are normally beach people but one day we were playing in the surf and a jelly fish got caught under my daughters resort bracelet so it complete contact with her, instead of just brushing by her like many other stings. Her pain was pretty intense. We applied vinegar soaked on a towel for atleast half an hour before it calmed down and thwarting next day she wad left with a mark. We went to the front desk to see if they would change her waistband to the other side and they kindly did. So with not spending time on the beach here we went to a beautiful public beach called Chileno, it was remarkable. We went 3 times we love it so much. Great for swimming, exploring and snorkeling.
We checked out another beach called Palmilla beach, nice but the water was not as calm as Chileno. The kids did dolphins. And one day we went to Cabo San Lucas thwarting shops have good prices, great walking, good food but during this time of the year I think the weather is too hot to not be near air conditioning or a water, especially for children. My husband and I went across the street for two massages we went to both. I found the Moonlight one to be a better massage and it was more professional. The Live one my massage was off and the phone was ringing off the hook and my girl wad answering it, not very relaxing.
All in all we had a great time and we would go back if the price was similar.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CrystalandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thankyou for your feedback, we are pleased to know that the care provided by our staff has been to your liking.

Regarding the kids activities you are mentioning we will let know our Entertainment Manager about your comments; we can assure you our guests are the most important people for us

Thank You and hope see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a resort for someone that likes to spend time in the pool only as the ocean is quiete crazy (big strong waves). Resort is pretty clean no bath top just shower. I was booked parcial ocean view room I was located facing the front of the resort-street. The Food is quite boring and made from frozen products mostly, verry repetative if someone likes chcicen in most possible ways it is the place to be. Another think I did not like is that almost every meal is located in different restaurant so you have to look on your list every day where to go to eat. The luch is served outside by the pools area beside the snack bar so screaming heat and no cool place to hide to eat and flies everywhere on the food and You. This was the bigges downside of that resort that major restaurants are not airconditioned so 40 degrees celcius and try to enjoy your meal. Very low selection of fruits and no bananas at all you have to ask for them other wise just honeymelon papaya ornage watermelon. Menue is repeating almost everyday so if you are going for more than a week think twice. I was so boored of that food that I actually went out in town to eat even McDonalds. Service in the resort is worth mentioning very polite and good. If you like to go site seeing and want to swim in the ocean snorkeling think about renting a car or have a lot of money for taxi as everythink is mostly located in Cabo san Lucas about 40min by car. Chileno Bay is worthwile to see and all the atractions in San Lucas mall marina and excursions. If you like to scuba diving you will have to travel every day most likely to Cabo san Lucas. Chacking was quite fast and officient make sure do not talk at the airport to anyone about excursions as there is a lot of time share salesmans that claim that work for the travel agency that You come with I got screwed by one of them they claimed they are from West jet gave them deposit they wrote the excursions on the recipit but at the same time it was invatation to time share Do not talk to anyone just go to your bus get set in the hotel than think what you want to do:) I was Scuba diving in there for 5 days with Nautilus Dive Tech from Cabo San Lucas Excellent Dive Operation top nuch stuff and Instructors small groups, very concerned about your safty everything is on board oxygen and all necessary things. A++ to them. The resort is really on the edge between for and three stars but to give a full for I have seen so much more for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snowram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We truly care about our guest and value their opinions.; we pride ourselves on the quality of our resort accommodations and we are commitment to assist our guests with whatever they may need during their time with us. We are working with the Executive Chef about your food concerns.

Once again thank you for your comments that help us to improve our service,

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were charmed by the entertainment team, who are young, quirky, innovative, and quite talented! The staff were all quite nice, including Ramiro at breakfast, Eric & Chloe, & Xoxo at the Kid's club. We stayed at a fancier place afterwards, and yearned for the camraderie at Royal Solaris.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pegrob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank You for all your comments!, we are happy you had a great time with us and reviews like yours help us to improve!

Thanks!

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $171 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing