We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROYAL SOLARIS - Cabo San Lucas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed December 9, 2011

ROYAL SOLARIS - Cabo San Lucas

For those reading this review please know that I am an OWNER at Solaris and have stayed at ALL of their resorts at least one time.

Trip date Dec 1st - 8th 2011.

Airport shuttle for Solaris. For those who do not know Solaris Hotels have a shuttle service that will pick you up and drop you off at the airport.
http://clubsolarisshuttle.com/

Driver was courteous and on time. We had a party of 12 and he handled our luggage with care. We asked him to take the toll road which is at least a half hour faster vs. cutting through San Jose del Cabo. It cost $2, not per person, just $2. Easy choice. We gave him $5 and he appreciated it.

Resort itself is very close to the main Hwy and within walking distance of the Mega Mart (Mexican Wal Mart) just in case you need something.

At this point I will explain how this resort works. Solaris offers timeshare ownership, ownership guests / referrals, RCI exchanges, tour groups (like Apple Tours) and internet purchases. Each level gets specific privileges. Owners are the highest and internet purchases / tour groups the lowest. If you end up with a room that overlooks the resort next door or the kids pool you now know why.

MY GROUP: One couple owners, one couple guests, two couples timeshare referrals (YES, they had to go to the timeshare presentation) and two couples using RCI weeks.

Check in was easy. Owners have a separate area vs tour groups, RCI or internet purchasers. Owners / owners guests / referrals get a representative to help them with their stay and preferential treatment for booking various amenities at the resort. This includes dinner reservations at the two on site restaurants (Panchos / Marco Polo). You will receive a colored wristband at checkin. Each color represents your level. Gold is the highest with yellow being second. The various colors allow staff to recognize your status at the resort.

ROOMS: Again this will depend on your level. Owners get the best rooms. I always select a jacuzzi suite in the main building of the resort. It is NOT ocean front, but it does face the ocean and the entire property for a beautiful view every day. Depending on how much you paid you may get a room overlooking the main pool, kids pool, street out front or resort next door.

ROOM UPGRADE: They will try to up sell everything in Mexico and a room is no different. If you want to pay extra for a better room make sure to have them show you the room. Again, OCEAN VIEW does not mean OCEAN FRONT. This resorts has only a few ocean front rooms and they usually go to the owners.

FURNISHINGS: Nothing too fancy hear. You've been to Vegas right? It is a place to sleep and take a hot shower. Resort uses desalinization for its water. Pressure is good, water is hot and good for your skin. You get a TV with a few channels in English. Rooms could use an update and the AC only works when the sliding glass door is closed. Keep it closed, room stays cool. Maid service each day, fresh towels etc...

INTERNET: Wi Fi in lobby only. Free to owners and their guests. Everyone else pays a fee.

RESORT: Grounds are well kept and always clean. Maintenance / cleaning staff may not speak english so a little spanish might help you in a pinch. Most of the tourism staff speaks english very well and is always glad to assist. Building is older and has plaster walls and tile throughout. Some ceramic and some marble. Common areas have the most upgrades with rooms needing a little more attention to detail.

FOOD: For some this is a source on contention. I will begin with breakfast. Two places to eat. 1st is ROSMARINUS. A large palapa near the beach. 7:30-10:30am. GOLD and YELLOW wristbands only. Mainly a buffet style breakfast with fresh eggs to order. Cereal, fresh fruit, baked goods etc... I never had a problem finding something to eat here. Champagne or Mimosas are available each morning. Being creative is the key. If you have a 3 egg omelet everyday you will get bored. 2nd is CAFE SOLARIS 7:30-11:30am. This is open to everyone. Not open air by the beach and I did not see champagne or mimosas. None the less, a variety of food is available for both the health conscious and vacationer. Food choices are very similar to Rosmarinus.

LUNCH: Rosmarinus and the snack bar. The snack bar is basically that. Hot dogs, nachos, pizza, salad bar etc... Lots of pool goers are snack bar people. Rosmarinus is a buffet with the omelet station now becoming a fajita bar, taco bar or something like that. Check that out first and see if it is something you like. Buffet is standard bill of fare with beef or chicken, salad bar, pasta salads and some traditional mexican favorites. Fresh fruit is again available and a variety of desserts and even ice cream. WORD OF WARNING: Ladies, it is still a restaurant. Don't try to get a seat if you are in your bikini or dripping wet. The staff will ask you to put on a cover up. Same goes for guys. It may be Mexico, but a little respect goes a long way.

BARS: One by the beach, one in the pool, a sports bar with pool table and the lobby bar. Take a large plastic cup with you and have them make the drink in that. Always ask for a double. Enough said there. For beer drinkers, the pool bar had a tap. Walk in and fill your own if you wish.

DINNER: Theatrical show each night and a buffet along with it at Techuan Theatre. Usually a carving station of some type and a variety of food. Don't look for shrimp, lobster and steaks here. It is a buffet and that is about it. Panchos Restaurant - mexican food. Usual menu, nothing to really cheer about, but no complaints either. The menu is varied and has a few special items for the members. Marco Polo Restaurant - italian food. Very nice. I really liked the food here and would choose it over Panchos every time. Owners get an expanded menu with some excellent dishes. Of course steak and seafood upgrades are available at a cost, but it is Mexico, there is always another deal to be had. Owners get 30% off rack rate on upgrades. My surf and turf came with choice of cut and three lobster tails. At both restaurants the portions are good size. Order from each section of the menu and you will not go home hungry. I will once again comment on attire. Bring some nice clothes for the restaurants. No need for a tie, but shorts, sandals or that cover up you bought on the beach is not going to cut it. Panchos / Marco Polo require reservations. If you show up early (6:30pm) without a reservation, but are dressed nicely, it might get you in.

TIPPING: This being an all inclusive resort the tipping is optional. HOWEVER, I take $100 in $1 bills to tip. You will be surprised have much faster the waiter at the pool or beach gets back to you when you offer up a buck. We consistently had a group of 5 or more and gave the guy a dollar each time he dropped off drinks. Additionally, at lunch and dinner you are remembered. Give the guy a couple bucks at lunch and he will remember you when you want a specific table or area to sit.

EXTRAS: Owners and their guests are given a welcome party, Tiki night on the beach (casual dress), Gala dinner overlooking the beach (dress clothes, some men wore sport coats, but no ties)), a Caribbean Night dinner and fire show ( I wore dress pants and a collared shirt)x and a free excursion (we went whale watching/snorkeling). Plus 30% off spa treatments. Ask your guest representative where the 30% off applies.

POOLS: one big main free form pool that fills a lot of the property. Kids pool area with water slides and various amenities. The relaxing pool for adults. No music, no kids. Hot tub and right on the beach. You can spend all day listening to the ocean.

VENDORS: Local vendors will try to sell you stuff, but they are asked to stay behind a rope on the beach. Security is on site to keep them back. You can go to them or wave them over to you. Choice is yours. Cash talks. They start off high, but more often then not, you can talk them down by more than 50%. Sunglasses on the beach, I got them for $5.

You will get what you pay for at this resort. It is NOT the Four Seasons, don't expect it too be. It is a fun, relaxing resort in the little town of San Jose del Cabo. If you want Cabo night life and partying pick something in town. My review might not give you all the insight needed, but it will give you a good idea of what to expect and how to prepare. Please remember to respect the people who work there. Try a little spanish, call them by name (almost everyone has a name tag), be friendly and leave your expectations at home. They pride themselves on service. Try to relax and enjoy your stay

With that said, enjoy your vacation at Royal Solaris Cabo.

Room Tip: I upgraded to jacuzzi suite and had no regrets.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank toekneem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,703)
There are newer reviews for Royal Solaris Los Cabos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,890 - 3,896 of 5,703 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Solaris from the beginning of this month. We have stayed at many all inclusives, Riviera Maya, Puerto Vallarta, and Los Cabos. We are by no means picky travelers, but the Royal Solaris is by far our least favorite resort. Arriving was fine Diego was great, got to our room and we had booked back in May 1 king bed and had 2 full beds, called the desk and they told us it was based on availibility. I told them that was unacceptable and they moved us to our king room we had booked. Our safe had no lock and we were told there wouldn't be any locks until the following morning. The beds were AWFUL, i can't explain how uncomfortable it was, might as well have slept on the floor. And the foam mats they talk about putting on the bed are seriously 10 years old and have no padding. The buffets are nothing to write home about, the bathrooms are tiny and out dated. Again, will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank westwife12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We recently took a trip to Cabo and stayed at the Royal Solaris. I was very disappointed in the food. It really was TERRIBLE! The service was good and the hotel was ok. It is a time share resort and the focus for most of the staff is to entertain potential buyers and the all inclusive part of it is not a priority. The bed was hard as a rock. I travel to Mexico a lot and I would not return to this hotel. We spent a lot of money going to dinner every night and have stayed at hotels with much better food and amentities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We were very happy with our room, as well as with the pleasant people serving drinks etc, but one incident turns me right off. When we checked out we were presented with an aditional charge of $6 for laundry service. A minimal amount granted, a charge for staining a bed sheet after my wife had gotten sick from the wine served at the Tehuacan that evening. The hotel staff refused to remove the charge as we had not made a formal complaint! SHAME on the management!! Westjet actually paid the $6 and they too seemed very disappointed. It was not the money, but the principle of such an attitude.
The food was the same from one day to the next, it all tasted the same, except the breakfast menu. Why don't they serve danish etc. at lunch??

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DickV682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We loved this hotel and would be happy to go back.
We stayed here for a week. Felt it was great value as an all-inclusive. The buffets were average and the a la carte meals were excellent. We had amazing service...Aleks was outstanding and remembered our names from day one. The pools were great, beach is amazing....we could walk for a couple miles and still not be at the end. It was within walking distance to everything. We rented a car for a couple days and enjoyed checking out Cabo San Lucas and Chilena bay for some snorkeling. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgarybubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Don't go to this hotel. It is awful. Food is terrible, customer service is really bad and beds are so uncomfortable!
I have been in other all inclusive hotels in Cabo and this is by far the worst!
Don't waste your money. You deserve a nice and relaxing vacation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marcucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference, please accept our most sincere apologies for all inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us.

In regard the mattresses inconveniences please try to considered it depends on the different preference each person has; however we have foam mats to give person who feel uncomfortable with it.

Please be informed that Our Chef supervises the dishes periodically in all the restaurants; and we strive daily to keep our high standard of food, rest assured we will look closely into this situation and make the proper adjustments where necessary.

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Royal Solaris is mainly a time share hotel and does not cater well to the all inclusive crowd. We were there the last 2 weeks of November/2011 and were not even greeted with a nice drink after a long flight from Canada. They automatically wanted to discuss time share and then gave us a room that noone wanted behind the bar on the lower level. The next strategy of this hotel is to upgrade after they show you these rooms. You basically have no choice but to pay extra to get away from all the noise of the original room.
I have been to Mexico 5X and Cabo made it 6. I loved Cabo but like I said skip this hotel.
The breakfasts are ok, lunch ok but the buffets are not up to par. They do not serve you the best quality of food plus you never see any fruit which the staff says it's because you are in the desert. Well, the other hotels had berries and bananas etc always in the breakfast area. I am only giving my own opinion of this hotel but like I said many of us went out to eat dinner due to the poor selection and quality of food for dinner. The specialty restaurants are Marco Polo which is Italian and is good but Poncho's is Mexican and very little food is served and we were all hungry after eating at Poncho's.
Staff at the bar are nice and they try their best to please you with what they have. The maids and rooms are well maintained and they are nice and helpful. The prices are cheap so you are drawn to this place but please don't go there. When I went to downtown Cabo and spoke to people in the neighbouring hotels they said what good meal service and great beverages they had. Well that's were we made our mistake by spending less and getting alot less in quality.
Overall, I would go back to Cabo but be closer to the Marina. I loved it out there. The weather was great and alot of friendly people so enjoy Cabo. None of us got sick and all came home with beautiful suntans..............
One more thing,when you check out please check the invoice they give you. They had made a couple of errors with the bill. I had to clarify this 2 times and they didn't say sorry and even goodbye. All I said is I shall never come back to the Royal Solaris. The people that we had met from different cities also said they would come back to Cabo but not to the Solaris.
You pay for what you get and this place has not much to offer............trust me.....thanks

Room Tip: Remeber that the rooms by the pool and bar are very noisy because there any many children at the poo...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,258 reviews
17.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,357 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $150 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing