We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Margaritas!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fonda del Mar Bed & Breakfast
Palm Coast, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

We stayed at Fonda del Mar for three nights at the beginning of our two week stay in Baja. It was a great place to start our Mexican vacation - so peaceful and atmospheric. We loved the margaritas and found out after sampling them everywhere we went that these were among the best ones we had! We asked for the tequila we wanted and they were served straight up, ice cold and were very strong. Perfect! We stayed in the suite which has its own shower and was large and comfortable. The bed was super comfortable and the breakfast at Buzzards was fantastic! This is not a fancy place (no pool, a/c, Tv) and may not be for everyone, but we loved the ambiance and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. Would definitely stay here for a couple of days next time!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2006

We weren't sure what to expect as we rounded the corner to La Fonda del Mar when we saw the big BUZZARDS sign. But the setting is so fantastic, with the bouganvilla, the palm trees and the ocean, that we fell in love at first sight. There is one suite that includes a shower, while the 3 little Casitas have thatched roofs, and one must use the shower 10 feet away across the patio, which is large, clean, with lots of hot water. I was, at first, dismayed that I couldn't use my blow-dryer because all electricity is solar powered, but I decided that naturally curly hair was an asset. Breakfast at Buzzards is so large and delicious, we often missed lunch. And the dinners were wonderful, especially the coconut shrimp.
But the best part of La Fonda del Mar/Buzzards is that you can slow down, read in the sun, sit by the ocean and watch waves and whales, and ENJOY just being there. We can't wait to come back.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank BetGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2005

We just spent two nights there and really enjoyed it. It is in a great location for doing nothing. The food is very good and you are only 15 minutes from San Jose if you want to be more active. We had the newer room with its own shower and it was very nice. There is no place to swim here because of the undertow and the sand it difficult to walk in without shoes but we took pictures of one of the best sunrises ever and we have taken quite a few.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caribbeanfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2005

La Fonda's must be the quietest place in the Los Cabos area. Three cabinas and one suite make up this quaint B & B. You can lay in bed in room 1 and look out over the white sand beach and the blue Sea of Cortez.
A night you can almost feel the waves as they pound the beach. In the winter you can sit on the beach and watch Humpback whales breach. During the winter you can swim and snorkel over the rock reefs immediately offshore. From late spring to mid autunm wave action can make swimming dangerous, however this is a good time of year to fish off the beach. I've seen Dorado chase bait fish up onto dry sand.

Probably the best part is no T. V. and no phones. A word of caution, no air conditioning either, however there are ceiling fans in each room.

Buzzards the resturant and bar is excellent. Great Margaritas and mas frio cervezas at reasonable prices. You don't need to worry about eating there because the kitchen is run like an american kitchen.

Denny and Judie are great hosts. Riley, Weta and Harley just add to the charm.

Helpful?
13 Thank 2surfriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2005

Couldn't have asked for anything better!! Great hosts, amazing setting, fun, clean, well appointed rooms. Stayed 3 nights, wished we could have stayed longer. Such a nice change from all of the all inclusive HUGE hotels in the area. If you take a trip down to the Cabo area, save a few days for this relaxed, toes in the sand, quiet spot 10 minutes from San Jose del Cabo.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steedfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2005

Buzzards B&B is a great place to get away to. With its thatched roof cabanas, it's rustic and charming, very comfortable and friendly. I live in New Zealand and try to make time each year to visit Buzzards, chill out and go game fishing. Much nicer than going to a big hotel!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2005

My wife Joy and I have stayed at La Fondas twice now. Once on our Honeymoon and then on our Thanksgiving vacation. First of all, you couldn't ask to be any closer to the beach (uncrowded) which is great for sunrise and sunset walks.

The rooms are well maintained, beds are confortable and the nights are quiet, except for the sounds of the surf. There is a small restaurant on the property and the food is fresh. It is a great place to eat and have a few drinks (breakfast was included with our room nights) but it's not a big party spot. That's the way we like it.

Denny and Judy (the Owners) are great people and really go out of thier way to make you feel comfortable. They respect your privacy and are full of suggestions for cool things to do around the area.

My wife and I will always stay here, its our Margaritaville!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
785.2 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#25 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
786.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
785.4 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
786.2 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
786.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
786.2 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda del Mar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda del Mar Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Fonda del Mar Bed & Breakfast
Address: Laguna Hills | 23400, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Fonda Del Mar Bed & Breakfast Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing