We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buena Vista” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Delfin Blanco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Delfin Blanco
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
1 review
“Buena Vista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

Hands down the most traveler friendly place we stayed on our recent road/surf trip through Baja. Located just outside San Jose, it's close enough to all the major conveniences of the City, Mega(Grocery), Costa Azul Surf Shop, Airport, ect., but still has the authentic feel of a small coastal town. There are multiple places to eat within walking distance that are budget friendly and offer a variety of local flavors that are well worth the walk. Lodging is clean and comfortable with ample outdoor seating options and an outdoor kitchen that adds a nice touch of class to the courtyard area. The old water tower/hot tub behind the cabanas offers stunning views of the ocean and surrounding mountains and is an excellent place to watch the sunset from. I would diffidently recommend El Delphin Blanco to anybody traveling to or through the area who wants a truly local experience at a good price.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Jakekropf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
56
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

If you are looking for a slick Cabo party resort and golf course, you can stop reading now. If, on the other hand, you are more interested in experiencing Mexico than in pretending you're still in LA, welcome!
El Delfín Blanco isn't meant to be a place to hang out at -no pool or alcohol-pushing waiters. But it's a great place to stay for travelers looking to chill out, save money and enjoy the warmest hospitality.
El Delfín Blanco is a handful of cabins, 3 of which have no A/C, but wonderfully refreshing ceiling fans and palm roofs so the heat naturally escapes. The 3 cabins share a clean bathroom with a good albeit rustic shower (I had it all to myself in June since I had no neighbours). Two other rooms have A/C and private bathrooms. The difference in price is minimal so it's more a question of choice for the average North American traveler.
Each room has a mini-fridge. I bought food at the supermarket in nearby San José and kept it here. Great for keeping a stock of cool water too! There is an outdoor bbq kitchen with plates and utensils for all guests.
The best thing about El Delfín Blanco is its owner, la señora Äsa, a Swedish ex-pat who considers herself Mexican at heart. She's a smart sweetheart: just the kind of lady a lone-traveling girl like me wants to know is taking care of her. She also runs El Señor Mañana (the original) in San José, which can come in handy. The place is also run by some feisty cats and occasionally, Mrs. Äsa's gentle dogs.
Location-wise, the cabins are a short walk to Las Playitas beach. I wouldn't recommend it for swimming but it's wonderful for looong walks and I saw locals fishing there. El Delfín is in a small (really small) town a few clicks from San José. It's not a tourist town (yet; a resort and marina are being built right now) so you'll see chickens, mango trees, and hardly any commerce. There is at least one good restaurant, a small pharmacy and a small local market. You're best to rent a car (they're cheap!) and use this as home-base.
In summary: I loved it. It was a fabulous value and a real heartwarming experience. Get to know the "rest" of los Cabos.

  • Liked — The overall value and the AMAZING hospitality.
  • Disliked — The nearby resort construction is killing the grass and other plants.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check if Mrs. Äsa still has my beach umbrella for loan! (and don't go to the shared bathroom after dark unless you don't mind bugs)
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isabelbrinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2005

This is not a place to go if you are looking for a resort, but if you are an independent traveler seeking out interesting experiences and people, this place is wonderful! It is a cozy place and I was lucky enough to be in the company of other intelligent and interesting independent tourists. The beach was very close, beautiful and mostly empty. The hostess, Osa, was fantastic! She made wonderful recommendations for dining and activities, and was generous with her time in making sure that the guests were happy. I will look forward to the time that I can return here!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zorah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2004

A cute, clean, private place where we met like-minded travellers. The outdoor kitchen made our stay fantastic! Off the beaten path but close to all the fun that san jose del cabo has to offer. Highest recommendations. A great adventure.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2004

This place was a long confusing drive to find, not within view of the beach, and the rooms were cramped and shoddy. There was a huge spider in my shower and about 100 dogs howled all night long. The courtyard area is nice, but for less money I stayed in much better places.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#7 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#10 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Delfin Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Delfin Blanco

Property: El Delfin Blanco
Address: | Pueblo La Playa, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Delfin Blanco has Free High-Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Delfin Blanco Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Delfin Blanco Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing