We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise”
Review of Los Tamarindos

Los Tamarindos
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Tamarindos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Organic Farm & Restaurant with a daily produce market and cooking classes, organic tours and much more!
Calgary
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had tried going last March without success. It was closed when we finally found it. This year we found it easier thanks to the signage from Farmer's Market. A lovely meal with terrific service. The vegetable market is expensive and not as attractive as Flora's. An oddity was that they didn't seem to get the need for bread with the carb free meals (Vegetable Extravaganza and Mahi Mahi) we ordered.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newfie-Traveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    31
    14
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything Involved in Dining”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Los Tamarindos describes itself as "Daily Market, Organic Farm, Cooking School & Restaurant" and they excel in almost every area. Owner/operator Enrique Silva embraces organic food and designs his menus to utilize his own current crops and those of his neighbors. The cooking school starts with a tour of the farm, featuring the importance of organic farming and moves to an outdoor kitchen area. Cooks tips abound as the participants enjoy hands-on for preparation and finishes by enjoying the plentiful lunch that they prepared. The lunch and dinner menus are the same, so lunch is recommend for the views and ease of travel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
604 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“What a great afternoon we had here”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We did the discussion on organic farming, went down to the farm itself, then came back up to the guest area/kitchen/restaurant and did our cooking class. We had a group of 7 + others who were there and everyone had a great time. Plus, the food was delicious. My kid was 13 and really enjoyed himself because he could participate. Smaller kids who couldn't participate probably would get very antsy during the organic farming discussions and the cooking.

We will go back next time we are in San Jose or Cabo. It's easily worth the drive over from Cabo.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MileHighJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would not recommend Ever!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went to this place because of all the great reviews and boy, were we disappointed. We made the mistake of bringing our children, and this is NOT a child friendly Place! The experience left us speechless, and wondering who is writing all of the great reviews, Friends? Our kids were in danger, there are power lines and drop offs everywhere, they refused to make ANYTHING that the kids could eat, and even the goat stew we had was inedible. I would not recommend to families!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lourdes K, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Tamarindos, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Donna,
Thanks for coming to Los Tamarindos. We are so sorry about you experience in our restaurant. We had have many children at the place without problem. The food is for both, adults and children. The only thing is that we don't have another food out of the menu in the place. That is our concept. The reviews are written by people who enjoy to live a new experience, rounded of nature and freedom.
We'd like you to come again fot getting out the bad taste of our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had seen the reviews on this place and thought there was no way it could be that good. Well it was and more. We decided to try our luck at finding our way out there (it was actually pretty easy because of the signs) and when we arrived we just knew it was going to be a special lunch. Don't go there if you are in a hurry... not to say the sevice was slow because it wasn't, it is that they cook everything fresh to order (except for the obvious like the daily soup) and some things may take a bit of time. Be patient, it's worth it.

The chef came out to introduce himself and chat with us for a bit. He had also brought us the house welcome margarita made with tamarind (yum) and a bite of some veggie thing that was incredible.

We decided to splurge and share a nice bottle of wine and take our time to just enjoy looking at the gardens and appreciating the very relaxing ambiance. We started by sharing the roasted vegetable extravaganza and we were thrilled. They were perfectly prepared and gently seasoned with herbs from the garden. Then my husband ordered the cornish game hen (or chicken as they call it) and it was outstanding! If I wasn't loving my 2 different soups and the tamarindo salad so much I would have wished I ordered that hen.

After our delicious and relaxing lunch the chef told us to enjoy and walk the gardens if we liked and we did. The grounds are something special that you wouldn't expect on a regular Mexican vacation stop. We can't wait to return maybe even on this stay and possibly for the cooking classes. I have a feeling it would be an awesome experience.

Thank you Chef Enrique and staff for making our lunch one of the best ever :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tamarindos also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Los Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing