We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique find on the Sea of Cortez!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Mornings at Salina del Mar
Apartment/suite #6 patio deck with fire- ring and seating
Garden suite 2 kitchen
Apartment/suite #6 King size bed kitchenette en-suite bath additional Queen size Murphy bed
Bdrm/suite #8 with 2 individual size beds en-suite shared bath
Bdrm/suite #8 King size bed en-suite bath
Bdrm/suite #8 King size bed en-suite bath
Bdrm/suite #2 King size bed en-suite bath
Bdrm/suite #3 King size bed en-suite bath
Bdrm/suite #2 King size bed en-suite bath
Bdrm/suite #4 King size bed en-suite bath
Bdrm/suite #3 King size bed en-suite bath
Bdrm/suite #2 King size bed en-suite bath
Bdrm/suite #5 King size bed en-suite bath
Palapa, pool and jacuzzi bath and changing room
Cortez suite en-bath
Salina del Mar local sea lion
Beachfront turtle rescue
Turtle nesting
Beachfront SUP stand up paddle board with the whales
Kayak and SUP stand up paddle board with whales
Sun deck Punta Palmilla in the distance
Corporate events and weddings
Grand palapa entertainment, dining, and kitchen area
Weddings, Reunions, and Corporate Events
Full Event catering
Live entertainment upon request
Marachies upon request
World class surf-breaks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joni W
1 review
“Unique find on the Sea of Cortez!”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stumbled upon this secret hideaway and hesitate to share our secret!
This place is private, luxurious and off the beaten path! The ocean and beach views really grab your attention but the staff and experience makes you want to return immediately! Ericson had anticapated all our needs and was there to answer any question we had! We were waited on hand and foot, our meals were better than any 5 star restaurant with better oceann views from our dinner table than any place in town! We couldn't ask for more and can't wait to return!

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeccaM723
Mercer Island, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to Stay!”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of families with older teens reserved this beautiful villa along with the one next door - Casa del Amanecer - and had an absolutely wonderful time. All together we had 28 people staying in both villas, and another 13 people staying in condos nearby who spent most of their time during the day down in our homes. Never did it feel crowded - the homes are laid out in such a way that you can easily cross from one to the other and find your own private slice of paradise, either in the sun or shade. Salina del Mar has a huge selection of water toys to use and we took advantage of the kayaks and stand up paddle boards daily. The beach is absolutely beautiful and empty and was the perfect place for our teens to run around playing football. There is also a beautiful palapa on the beach to stretch out on... and a few of our boys even slept on it a couple of nights! We also enjoyed the foosball table and ping pong tables, as well as the games and puzzles they provided. As beautiful as the homes were, the icing on the cake was the service we received. Chef Ericson and her crew are amazing! They cooked dinner for our group every night and also prepared a few of the lunches - and WOW was it worth it! Our group has its fair share of foodies - and none of us were disappointed. The food was absolutely delicious, freshly prepared, and beautifully presented. I highly recommend you treat yourself to these meals if you rent the home - the prices were very reasonable when compared to eating out at a restaurant and you get your own waterfront table! We also opted into bringing in a bartender every afternoon to serve drinks and mix smoothies for the kids, and then we really felt like we were staying at a 5 star resort! There's nothing like floating up to the swim up bar at Casa del Amanecer, ordering Jorge's drink of the day and sipping it while watching the gray whale show from the infinity pool! Jorge was great at anticipating when the kids would be thirsty - bringing them smoothies on the beach during their football games, or knowing when the adults would want their wine topped off at dinner. Money well spent! Janet and her housekeeping and grounds crew did a heroic job keeping our place clean and beautiful, despite our messy teens traipsing sand all over the place - they came every day except Sunday, and it was very much appreciated. For those concerned about its location being remote - yes, it is definitely off the beaten path and it takes effort to get into town. However, we LOVED it that way. We wanted a place where our kids would be safe running around, not drinking heavily and just having good healthy fun. The adults wanted time together to reconnect as we get close to launching the kids from the nest - and it was perfect. That said, we did leave the property a few times... we didn't have cars, but hired shuttles from Cabo Transfers to take us into town. One day we went to Cabo San Lucas and did the "A-Maze-In Race" which I highly recommend! Other days, the group went snorkeling, ATV riding, dinner at Flora Farms and the Art Walk in San Jose del Cabo. So being remote didn't slow us down from seeing the area - it just takes some pre-planning.... and patience with poor road conditions. I highly recommend staying here - you won't be disappointed! We are already dreaming of going back...

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2015
The current road condition due Hurricane Odile in 2014 is being address by local and federal governments. Our local and federal officials are aware of the conditions and it is the gateway to the East Cape which leads to Cabo Pulmo the only living coral reef in North America. This road is used by many tourists and locals, both government agencies are working rapidly to start repairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamFanOti...
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay in Cabo”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Salina del Mar. We had a reunion, of sorts, with 6 other couples from across the country. Cabo was relatively close for everyone. We decided to stay at Salina del Mar after seeing pics online. We couldn't have been happier. The place was beautiful with great spaces for reconnecting with friends. We used the kayaks and SUPs daily. We spent large portions of our day watching the humpback whales close to the beach. People in our group planned excursions (fishing and scuba), as the San Jose del Cabo marina is 10 minutes away. There is a great dirt road which stretches for miles along the ocean which was great for the runners and walkers. The best part of our trip was the service. Ericson was our concierge and head chef. She was organized and laid back. She is a real asset to this residence. Her meals were spectacular! I've been to Mexico more than 20 times and have never had food prepared this consistently good. We also had a bartender, Neri, for 2 of our days which I wasn't sure we would utilize, but was pleasantly surprised at what great service he provided (bringing drinks to the beach and other locales). He was always smiling and willing to help. The only negatives were that a few of the beds were hard (this might be a positive for some). The other negative was the sand on the beach is very coarse and difficult to do much on. This is likely due to the fact that the hurricane took away much of the sand and have since had to partially replace.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse K
2 reviews
“Amazing Vacation and location”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Salina del Mar far exceeded all expectations of our vacations. The views are absolutely breath taking and you couldn't ask for a more up-to-date outdoor living environment. I left comfortable and very safe. The grounds are well groomed and tropical. I liked all the individual villas so everyone had their own space and time to be alone when needed. The water was as if we were in the Caribbean with a secluded beach to explore for miles. Ericson the chef was on par with all our requests, meals were exceptionally good, and she didn't miss a beat. By far, rated one the best vacations. We will most definately be going back and staying at Salina del Mar.

Date of stay: November 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin K
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Salina del mar is the perfect place for a Mexican getaway. The service is impeccable and the house delivers everything you can see online and more. Upon arrival our party was served iced cold margaritas on the rocks to welcome us to our own slice of paradise. The trip to the house is through a desolate desert; behind the beautiful wooden front door is a tropic oasis.

Chef Ericson, can create a memorable meal! We had her cook for our wedding, which was also at Salina Del Mar. She is very willing to work with you to create the perfect meal for your event or vacation. My wife had her bridal bunch at the house as well, and she said everything was delicious and exactly how she imagined.

For our wedding dinner we served the Prawns with romesco sauce and chicken skewers with a pineapple sauce. Both were perfectly cooked and great to eat on the beach. We chose the caramelized pear and goat cheese salad, which might be the best salad I have ever eaten. Our main course was the fresh catch of the day ended up being Mahi Mahi, which we served with chimichurri sauce, grilled fresh vegetables, and roasted sweet potatoes. It was a memorable meal for our big day.

The house is one of the most relaxing places I have ever been, you can hear the waves crashing on shore 24 hours a day. Whether you are down on the beach or in the pool, the atmosphere can’t help but take you into to total relaxation mode. The owner Greg keeps everything in the best conditions possible, from every room, to the amazing landscape.

For an enjoyable vacation away from it all, enjoy the beautiful landscape or relax on the beach, either way you are away from it all on a memorable vacation.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M92629
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
“Absolutely over the top in all categories...”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Salina Del Mar is absolutely the most amazing place on earth... Greg and his staff went out of their way to see to it that everything was top notch. The highlight of the trip was their onsite Chef, Ericson. Every meal she cooked was as if we were eating at a 5 star restaurant. I hope that everyone reading this gets a chance to stay at this amazing residence.

Thank you Salina Del Mar for the best vacation ever...

Mark Russell,
Dana Point, CA

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Chef Ericson
Liked least: My trip was too short...
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Reviewed May 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing