We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Maria Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good spot”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

For the price, the place is great. Nice pool,big apartments with leaving room and furnished kitchen,cable tv and so on..
Service is ok,good to have parking with 24hrs security. Close to the golf club and not far from the old center and beaches.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexSasia, Gerente at Santa Maria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario
esperamos verlos pronto esta es su casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
35
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just got back from a weeks stay at the Santa Maria hotel. The week stay cost $440.00 it was clean the staff was great. 10 min walk to the beach lots of great places to eat at half the cost of Los Cabo. Our room was large with a great kitchen bar fridge,2 burner stove, sink and miicrowave. We asked for a room of a view of the golf cource so it was nice and quite.They dont take visa so bring cash to pay for the room. We plan to go next year this time for 2 weeks

Room Tip: view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexSasia, Gerente at Santa Maria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Google Translation
Mil gracias por sus finos comentarios
estamos a susordenes y esperamos
verlos pronto
saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in room 502, ground level, in the building furthest from the traffic noise and looking out onto the golf course. Our view from the ground floor patio was limited but a very nice place in the morning for coffee and breakfast as the sun came up. There was a large tree behind us full of humming birds, doves, cardinals and others. We seemed to be the only people using the patio so private for us but if the place had other guests it would be close quarters. We booked a king bed and in quiet area and got exactly that. The glasses and dishes were limited and suitable for warming up things from the Mega grocery store but not real cooking. The fridge was turned off when we got there but quickly got cold keeping water, juice and beer chilled.
The front desk staff were very nice and if we wanted more things in our room we probably just had to ask. We were satisfide with what we had. We did ask if we should use our room towels for the pool or beach and were given very nice big blue towels and told to bring them back whenever we wanted fresh. I also used the laundry facility behind the check in area and it required American quarters, so I had to get some from the front desk. $1.25 for washing and $1.25 to dry. I had my own soap brought from home . We loved having the free WiFi in our room and my husband was disappointed in the lack of TV channels. The TV was flat screen hanging on the wall opposite the bed.
We had hot water that was extemely hot and would be dangerous for children or elderly. Even when you got it under control, a few seconds later the temperature would change and sometimes very scaulding.
The appeal for this location was to be close to San Jose del Cabo. We easily walked down a block below the Mega to catch a bus to town. It is also a nice walk right from the hotel to the centre of San Jose del Cabo. We often walking into town for dinner and took a taxi or the bus back. From the hotel it was an easy walk past the Holiday Inn to the Estuary. This hotel is also two large blocks away from the main bus station if catching a bus to La Paz.
This hotel is in the progess of changing from Condos to a hotel so there is some reno noises.
The pool was very clean and we spent enjoyable hours around the pool meeting some nice people. There is an outside kitchen and bbq that you can book through the front desk, to use for a party. When we were there , a group was making paella which we invited ourselves to partake, but never did. It felt like a very friendly atmosphere. Our stay was from April 16-19, 2012.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexSasia, Gerente at Santa Maria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus finos comentarios.
Estamos en progreso para hacer todo hotel para mejoras.
Esperamos verlos muy pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hotel was very impressive when we first pulled up. It is relatively new opening up in late 2010. It was located right across the street from a Mega grocery store (similar to Wal-Mart) in a little plaza, but at least 30 minutes away from the fun of Cabo San Lucas. It had nice touches in the rooms, but lack some simple things needed to truly enjoy our stay. The 1st room we had no locks on the windows and we were on the bottom floor. So anybody could've gotten in our room while we were gone. We were, then, moved to the top floor (3rd floor) room where those windows did not lock either, but also we later found out there was no hot water for the shower. Something was wrong with the hot water heater. So, due to these things and some other small issues, we checked out early. Right now, I can't recommend this hotel until they fix these issues.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBrown84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexSasia, Gerente at Santa Maria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.
se soluciono el problema de cerraduras de las ventanas y lo del agua caliente.
Nos ayudo mucho sus comentarios para mejorarnos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#34 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#38 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
61 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#23 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
396 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#27 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Hotel & Suites

Property: Santa Maria Hotel & Suites
Address: Paseo de la Cabos Mzna 1 L4 | Colonia Club de Golf Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23406, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Maria Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Santa Maria Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel & Suites Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing