We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity Now”
Review of Las Mananitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Mananitas
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Las Mananitas is excellent. The complex is immaculate and the pools are clean and beautiful. Others have complained about the water being too cold, but most of those reviews appear to be during the winter when the weather isn't quite as hot. During our visit in early May 2014, I must say the pool temperature was perfect. The three pool options with attached hot tubs were great. The front pool closest to the ocean was the most crowded (10-15ppl max), but offered really nice ocean views. The 2nd pool (middle option) was our favorite pool. Although this pool was between buildings, it had the clearest ocean view due to it's offset location. We were at that pool almost every day and there was only one or two other small groups there at the same time. We turned our chairs, faced the ocean and then swam in the less "crowded" pool.

The pools offer ice machines for drinks. We just made a water bottle full of a cocktail and brought plastic cups to the pool and then reloaded on ice with our refills. There is also a refrigerator if you are a beer drinker. Adjacent to the pools are grill areas. They offer two gas grills at each with tables for eating. They were cleaned every day and worked excellent. Lastly, there is a putting green, gym, tennis court and basketball hoop to get some exercise in before relaxation.

As for the location, it's perfect. There is constant security to ease your mind. It's a little farther out of town than some other options, but the 10 peso Urbana bus takes you right through the central part of town and it's walk-able if the weather permits. The Mega is walking distance from the complex and offers plenty of food and drink. There are also a few other commercial options like Starbucks, McDonalds, Subway and Dairy Queen in the same complex as the Mega. All the water at the complex is purified and safe to drink and clean vegetables, but I still like to use bottled water when possible. Also, the Mega allows you to pay in American dollars and receive change in pesos. They offer a great exchange rate as they are competing with other stores in the area.

As for beach swimming, this isn't the best as the water is a little rough. There are plenty of beach options nearby that are cheap and easy to get to whenever you want. The bus stop is right across the street from the Mega and it's extremely easy. I suggest either Pamilla or Chileano Bay. Pamilla was a $1/person bus ride and only about 5 minutes. Chileano Bay was $2/person and about 15 minutes. Buses come constantly and all look different, so if you just say where you are going and hop on, it's simple. You can also take the bus to Cabo San Lucas for the day and it's $3/person opposed to $40 cab ride. Once you use the bus once you will see how easy it is to get to a swim-able beach.

I can't say enough about how much we loved this place, area and vacation. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dannymur2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 57 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

The location is ideal. You can walk to the Mega for groceries and hop a bus for $1 to go into town. We are saving a bundle on cabs.
My only disappointment is that the pools could be warmer. As a Canadian I am not afraid of cool water but I prefer warm. Keeping the pools at 80 degrees F is not warm . Other condos keep their pools at 84-86 which is so pleasant.
Pool amenities are spectacular with comfortable lounges, barbecues and extremely clean washrooms.
The big selling point for me is the location

Room Tip: Being on the 4th floor of the last phase allows a fantastic view of the ocean and the occasional sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmaMaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

As this was our 3rd year in a row to return to Las Mananitas I thought I should update my review. The past two years we have stayed in until 3301 as working with the owner has always been wonderful, the beds are comfy, and the balcony is simply the best! We love that you can walk to good restaurants (Cynthia’s Fresh and Villa Valentine), walk to mega mart, and walk to Starbucks or Ice Cream. The grounds are immaculate and the views incredible. If you want a full hotel experience this is not the place for you. We are from southern CA and we do let our boys go in the ocean on days that the waves are too big as they are good in the ocean back home. You should use your judgment but we love all the pools as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbtorkelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Las Mananitas is a nice complex in a good location. As others have mentioned, swimming is generally not recommended on the beach, but it is a beautiful beach and nice walking. There is no restaurant in the Las Mananitas complex...and the only complex we found on the beach was two complexes to the west (turn right when you hit the beach). The maintanence of the complex was excellent. The grounds and the pools were beautiful and well maintained...and there were lounge chairs for the beach. Our unit was outstanding in every respect for our party of 6 adults and 1 small child. Great views, wonderful expansive balcony, and everything in the unit you'll likely need. The only negative I can think of was that there was some noise from the main highway to the rear...but very minor from the living space or the balcony. Really not a lot of good restaurants close by, but not difficult to hop a bus or drive to a lot of really good restaurants in the town center and elsewhere in town.

Room Tip: The semicircle of buildings closest to the beach would probably be the best location, given proximit...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Norris945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This place is heaven. The security was great and personal and offered assistance when needed. I love the fact that we are right on the beach but the comfort of poolside facilities. The neighbours are all wonderful and friendly. The condo offers everything you need, a home away from home. Check with the owner of the facilities offered, but most are equipped with internet access, washer, dryers, dishwashers, bath and beach towels, full dining facilities, televisions (although you wont need them with all the fun you will be having), etc. The grocery store (Mega), Starbucks, and other small shops are only a few minutes away and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. It beats the hustle and bustle of the Los Cabos party scene. It is clean and comfortable, great for the old, the young people and families alike. I really have to say I fell in love in Los Mananitas.

Room Tip: It is a self catered condo, but if you require someone to clean you can hire for a low price. Stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonacoNewmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We love Las Mananitas--full ownership condos that are often available for rent. This is a beautiful resort in a great location. We love Cabo and have stayed at numerous different resorts but Las Mananitas is our personal favorite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitravel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family had the time of our lives here. Kim's high-end unit was just perfect with 3 bedrooms and beautifully furnished. We had an SUV to ourselves. The grounds were kept immaculately clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The complex had a 24 hr guard and a self service car wash. Everything in San Jose was accessible with our veh and we had bbq parties poolside everyday. I would love to come back here again given the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianatbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,775 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#30 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
365 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mananitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mananitas

Address: 23400, San Jose del Cabo, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Specialty Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $200 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Las Mananitas Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Las Mananitas Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing