We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barceló Grand Faro April 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Everything was excellent, although unlike most reviews we've read, we found the buffet restaurants to be pretty good, but the two theme restaurants were very disappointing. Service is not the best anywhere, but at these two restaurants it was particularly bad. The red wine was undrinkable (and we have very forgiving palates), and the food was barely average. The sushi bar was decent, although service again was inadequate.

Breakfasts were amazing! There are numerous tables with a view of the beach, gentle background music, and the food was very good. Lucio was our favorite waiter, we looked for him when we chose our seating.

The bars were well-stocked and well served, and probably had the best service in the resort. We particularly appreciated Gerardo, who was willing and friendly. The little restaurant / snack bar by the pool was really good too.

All in all, I would give it high marks if it were not for the poor experiences at the theme restaurants (Mexican and Italian).

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Premium, which gave us a larger room, facing the ocean. The regular rooms appeare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Martin O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and the tripadvisor community following your recent visit to our resort. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stayed at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Please rest assured that all of your comments, both positive and constructive, will be shared with our entire team in order to be addressed and where necessary improved.

It would be our pleasure to have the chance to welcome you back once again the next time.

Kind Regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,717 - 1,723 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

After reading some reviews, I have to say I was so very pleasantly suprised! From ck in to ck out (late ck out included in premium upgrade), our visit was wonderful! The resort was clean, the staff so very helpful and polite, and the food was good! We ate at all of the dining areas, and La Gondola was wonderful....the fillet and the "mexican" coffee was really good! We had a great time at the pool bar (drinks are a little light on the alcohol, but if you ask for a double you get it!). We danced at the beach party and up at the sky bar, and the other guests were just a blast! We went to another time share while we were there who touted their resort as one of the best in Cabo (dont they all say that?), and my fiance and I both agreed that Barcelo was much better!!! Love the all inclusive, and am very glad I upgraded to a ocean front premuim room. Had internet, champagne and fruit at ck in, didnt stand in line at all, was greeted as a VIP and whisked up to our rooms! I hope to come back here with more family!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, premium rooms have better views and in my opinion are the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaRNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear BrendaRNC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay even when you have read this negative reviews.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, our helpful staff and the benefits of our Club Premium.

It would be an honor for us to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a nice surprise! I had never been to Cabo and this trip was booked by my cousin for a "girls week". The service was great and the staff helpful. This is a good resort for family groups and although the entertainment did not center around children, the tone of the environment was appropriate for all age groups. In the event that you're looking for an "adult" resort, perhaps this would not be your cup of tea but I would certainly feel comfortable bringing my entire family here.

One thing you should know......when checking in and also when renting a car, a credit card is necessary, not debit card and they will put a substantial hold on your card that takes up to 5 business days to come off.

If you are in San Jose del Cabo on Thursday, DO take advantage of the Art Walk in Old Town, well worth the cab fare!

Favorite wait staff....Karen at the breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear SMD52,

Than you for choosing Barcelo Grand Faro for your first trip at Cabo, we are glad to read you had such a great time with your cousin.

We truly hope to have the pleasure and the honor of welcoming you all back once again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just got back from a week stay and my family and I had a blast! The hotel was clean the food was great (and plentiful) and the drinks never stopped flowing. A special shout out to Ricardo at the pool area restaurant and his great staff! Edie and Raphael kept the kids going with water sports and bingo. Service could not have been better! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Orangegoo,

Feedback such as yours serves as true inspiration to our entire team, we are delighted to hear that you were able to experience and enjoy so many different aspects of your stay here with us.

We hope to have the pleasure and the honor of welcoming you all back once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We really enjoyed the food, entertainment and atmosphere of this hotel. The chambermaids and all staff were friendly and helpful.

The only suggestion for improved service was the buffet restaurant when they were busy. There weren't enough waiters/busboys sometimes.

Room Tip: You have to specify if you want a room with an ocean view or location of room does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darlene Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Darlene J,

We appreciate you taking the time to share this review following your recent stay at our resort. All your comments are extremely useful to us as they allow us to see in which areas we are exceeding customer service and any areas that may need to be addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I absolutely love this hotel. The layout, the staff, the food is excellent. Previously was at the Barcelo that is now the Hyatt Ziyatt but like this new version better. I like how it suits all travellers, young, middle age, elderly, people with young families and partiers as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jackson1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Jackson16,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you were able to enjoy the service we provide to our guests.

Our staff will be glad to hear that their efforts were recognized by yourself.

We would be honored to have the chance to welcome you back here with us once again in the future.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week in April, and had a wonderful time. All these reviews (in our opinion) are pretty accurate, although we find some people complain too much.

Pros:
- Beautiful facility with great views and very clean.
- We loved the food. Several options to choose from. Three different restaurants (sushi, mexican, italian), two large buffets, and one smaller buffet. The service at these three restaurants (which you had to book in advance) was amazing. Very personable and hard working people. A gentleman named Humberto was exceptionally friendly.
- Entertainment at night was very underrated by the guests. No one seemed to be paying attention to some amazing musicians (except for our last night, where the guitar player/singer was almost comical he was so bad).
- Beach was huge. Lots of space with amazing views. Can swim a little bit if you're a strong swimmer.
- Weather was hot and sunny everyday.
- Staff was awesome. Very helpful and kind.

Cons: (none to be honest, but if we HAD to give some...)
- Walls in rooms were paper thin. We heard our neighbours hillbilly music all week, along with their conversations. Im pretty sure I heard a big fart at one point. (Ultimately, spend as little time in your room as you can though; its beautiful outside!)
- Lots of vendors on the beach, Simply say 'no gracias,' and they'll move on. If you're rude and disrespectful they will just bother you more.
- Tons of spoiled kids running around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Tom,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent vacation with us. Please rest assured that your comments both positive and negative will be shared with our entire team in order to improve our services.

We are pleased to read you loved the food, and that we are able to make you have a great time.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Warm regards
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
5,920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
#24 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n | Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $189 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing