We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Food was average to good. Servers in the restaurants and by the pool were wonderful and very friendly. But SERIOUSLY short handed. Rooms were nice but cleaning inconsistent as well as stocking the fridge. Everyday either the face cloths or bath mat were not left. Sometimes the room wasn't cleaned until 5 in the afternoon. Still, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Shirley2747:

On behalf of all the staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at our property.

At Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, we work very hard every day to deliver the highest level of service.

We are in the process of hiring more staff, as well as working on the housekeeping standards.

We value all your feedback, and we appreciate your suggestions as these will help us reach the highest level of service and value to our guests.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Warmest Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,771 - 1,777 of 2,887 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We took our 2 girls (12 and 7) at the time. At first we were concerned about keeping them entertained, but quickly realized, this was not going to be a problem! The pools were a bit cool was April of 2012, and super crowded! Finding a spot with a canopy or umbrella was next to impossible. Food was fantastic! We had no issues and we at in every specialty restaurant as we had upgraded to the top package. I would recommend this resort again! Our only issue was after the fact. A few months after being there, they charged our credit card for drinks. We obviously were not there. They refused to correct the mistake saying we "signed" for it. We tried to explain that we were there in April, not in August. Call it language barrier, call it a bad day for that manager, but either way our credit card company did an investigation and charged them back. They could have simply figured out they charged the wrong card and go from there. So that was disappointing, but didn't devalue the good time we had while there.

Room Tip: Go to the nightly shows at the theatre, they were all fantastic and the singers for the musicals wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Michael N:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay, as our main priority is to deliver the highest level of service and value to our guests.

We have added more umbrellas and canopies in the beach area to accommodate our guests.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We returned from Cabo on 3/20/14 and stayed at Barcelo' in San Jose Los Cabos, Mexico. We upgraded our all-inclusive package which included an ocean view balcony as well as a few other perks. When we arrived we were directed to a small buffet while we checked in. Unfortunately, it took over an hour to check in! We then made our way to the bar where we were served promptly with premium grade liquors. We found the food to be exceptionally good with the exception of the onsite Italian restaurant. We ordered the tuna which was absolutely terrible! It was obviously frozen and overcooked. The "long pants only" requirement is bull! We were allowed in for our Italian meal but turned away when dining at the onsite Mexican restaurant but subsequently left. Room service was quick and good. Poolside bar service was good. Overall, this is a good place to stay with nice, clean rooms, good service and a good value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view balcony. Worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Labmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Labmannn:

On behalf of the management and staff of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, I would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience.

In reference to the food at La Góndola, we will follow up on this specific item in the menu.

Likewise, for our a-la-carte restaurants, we do required long pants and no sandals.

Please note that your comments are extremely valuable as they help us monitor our operations.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Warmest Regards from Los Cabos,


Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I will revise this review once I have actually booked the room. But I bought the groupon deal and am trying to use it. I have been on hold 2 different times for over an hr, and am currently on hold for 39 min this time. All this is just to reserve the room. Feeling bad already!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marty084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Marty084,

Thank you for your review.

We recommend booking directly at our website and calling our toll free 800 number directly to make reservations.

We look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Cabos. Should you have any additional comments, please be so kind as to contact me directly to my email address: grandfaroloscabos.ventas-asist@barcelo.com

Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I should say that the servers in the restaurant are fantastic! Super polite and very gracious. We especially loved Miguel in the dinner buffet restaurant, Jesus and Karen in the breakfast buffet restaurant. We tried to tip USD$5 each at every meal because their service was so good. The best food was the fresh fish and the calamari was to die for. The fresh fruit was also great.

Some of the things that were a bit annoying:

1) We were charged USD$65 (per device) for 6 days of Wifi service. We were never told of the upgrade to the premium package for an additional $150 for the room which would have given us a lot of extras. Instead we felt we were nickled and dimed to death.

2) Checking in was painfully long and the front desk staff not very apologetic or happy to see us when we got there. A big smile and a sorry would go a long way.

3) We weren't really big drinkers but did find the alcohol at all the restaurants seemed light. My guess is that it may not be watered down as some suggest, but the alcohol level may be lower, i.e. instead of 38% for the dark rum, it's probably more like 5%. It still tasted like dark rum, but just didn't have any effect. I would normally be keeling over after 2 doubles (Miami Vice with Dark Rum is a must have) but didn't feel a thing.

4) Stingy on towels in the room. There was 2 of us and we only ever got 1 face cloth every day. And we tipped the maid USD$5 every day.

5) We had a great view but I wouldn't call the rooms "deluxe" by any standard. The beds are hard as a rock and lots of black mould in the bathroom.

6) Construction right next door so if you don't have a room facing the pool, that's what you'll hear all day.

7) The hotel is dated and tired. Although I think I've discovered that I no longer find all inclusive resorts that great any more.

I'd encourage lots of day trips off the resort -- walking into downtown San Jose is about a 30+ minute walk and it's fantastic.

An authentic little eatery we found is called Los Claros -- if you're walking in, you probably can't miss it, but if you take a cab to the centre, it's a 10 minute walk back to the beginning of town and easy to miss.

Barcelo is okay. Just okay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool which will also give you ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Darin B:

On behalf of the management and staff of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, I would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. Your comments are extremely valuable as they help us monitor our operations. We are sorry to hear that you were not informed of the benefits and inclusions of our Club Premium. We are currently working on adding more traning sessions to our Front Desk staff in order to prevent recurrence.

We will pass along the message in reference to the alcohol in our drinks.

The experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests. We truly regret that we failed your expectations. By copy of this letter to our department heads I am requesting all issues be reviewed; however, explanations after the facts are unacceptable and our main concern at this point is that you did not receive the service you deserve and have every right to expect from our Resort.

Please accept our most sincere apologies and we all look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Cabos. Should you have any additional comments, please be so kind as to contact me directly to my email address: grandfaroloscabos.ventas-asist@barcelo.com

Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Barcelo Grand Faro was a fabulous place to vacation! We had a great all inclusive experience. We spent most of our time on the beach, which has nice palm trees for a little shade on the hotter days. The drinks were really good - everyone at the pool bar was very nice and the servers were awesome about coming out to the beach. I highly recommend the Margarita Especial. Overall, the food at the resort was great!! We especially liked La Gondola, and everything at breakfast. Everyone who worked the omelet bar was so nice, and we enjoyed the ballena bell for whale sightings. The view from the Sushi restaurant (top of the lighthouse) during sunset is unbelievable and definitely worth checking out; the Sushi was delicious too! The general managers Benjamin and Carlos were very friendly and welcoming, and so were the pool activity guys. The room was very big and we had a great view from our balcony. We were a little bummed when the comfy beach lounge chairs were switched out for plastic ones during the last few days of our vacation. My only recommendation would be to use a little caution with the hot tubs... they are kind of murky looking. And beware the birds (I was pooped on twice). Overall, I would definitely stay at the Barcelo again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hailey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Hailey D,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food at "La Gondola" and our view from the Sushi Bar.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Warmest Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

the wedding planner needs to be trained on how to plan weddings. bar tenders are awesome like all places and the waiting staff were great, especially anna and idel!! The main pool is freezing cold, you can hear the people going to the bathroom through the floors and walls, black mold in the showers. bars dont stay open long enough, snackbars dont stay open long enough, you dont want to bother trying to make a reservation, food itself was alright. The place was safe and so was outside the resort. Entertainment was d class, pool people were nice but seemed to be just running through the routine, everyday same thing. but......ur in mexico and lets face it enough alchol drowns out any bad things. been to much funner, nicer places this this one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JadenQ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear JadenQ99,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience.

We regret not being able to meet your expectations. In reference to the entertainment, we are adding more daily activities and night shows to our entertainment program.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Los Cabos.

P.S. We will let Anna and Idel know about your nice comments.

Best Regards,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,931 reviews
17.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,369 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
7,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n | Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $183 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing