We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Barcelo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank You Barcelo!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were not intending to stay here but it ended up being a pleasant surprise! We stayed in room 2502 which had a great resort/ocean view. Friendly staff+strong drinks+yummy ocean front breakfasts+easy reservations at the restaurants= happy travelers!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Dawn B:

Thank you for choosing Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos for your recent stay in Los Cabos. We have read your comments about the hotel, and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Warmest Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    846
    390
    151
    155
See reviews for
904
1,072
67
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The property itself is very nice. The dining staff are for the most part courteous and attentive. An interesting of variety of food was available with attention to offering healthy choices. We were most disappointed with the indifferent attitude of the front desk staff, the lack of room inspection (when we arrived to our room we found the telephone set and a bedside lamp had been vandalized), the poor housekeeping. While the response to our request for maintenance and housekeeping were met, we had been there over 3 days before we were able to stop calling for towels and toiletries. The worst experience came on the check out day when I returned 4 beach towels to the towel hut and requested my 4 cards. Twice I asked for the 4 (Quattro) cards and twice the server told me that they don't give back cards. I asked what about the front desk check out? He said no cards--we tell front desk. So when I checked out at the front desk their was an altercation with the agent. If you go, do not leave towels at the towel hut without checking that your room number is cleared and you have your cards in hand. We wouldn't say that an inside "towel scam" is going on but certainly setting a guest up for issues later is less than world class service and not something we'd expect from Barceló as repeat guests.

Room Tip: If you are seeking quiet nights, try to avoid rooms with connecting doors unless you need the two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AmblingRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear AmblingRose:

On behalf of the management and staff of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, I would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. Your comments are extremely valuable as they help us monitor our operations.

The experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests.

Our staff works very hard every day to deliver the highest level of service, and we are very sorry to hear that we were short in your expectations.

Please accept our most sincere apologies and we all look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Cabos. Should you have any additional comments, please be so kind as to contact me directly to my email address: grandfaroloscabos.ventas-asist@barcelo.com


Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Barcelo was a great place to stay. It was extremely clean and the staff was always very accommodating. The reason I did not rate this 5 stars is because of the food. Personally, I found the food very bland with a less than desirable flavour.

Room Tip: Ground level floors do not have a clear view of the ocean, every other room does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Facebook71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Facebook71:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are taking your comments very seriously in reference to the food flavour.

Please be sure that your opinion and comments are extremely valuable to us.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The only thing I was disappointed in was advertising. They have Partial Ocean view which is actually better than Ocean view (about 200 yds from ocean), and Beach front view (which is where we ended up). But I loved the room. The food was very good for an all inclusive hotel and the service was great. WIFI was pretty weak at the Beach Front rooms (probably better back near the heart of the hotel.

The Hotel was 15-20 minute walk to the market and town. That was great. There are several big stores (like a WalMart) within 5 min walk. When I booked the hotel they recommended shuttle service from the airport to hotel, because the taxis were so high. But to this Hotel,the taxi is only $25 (up to four passengers) which was half the price of our shuttle - plus we waited probably 20-30 min to leave airport.

Loved it. Would go back to same hotel if we chose to go to Cabo again.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view rooms are closer to the ocean than the ocean view rooms. Beach view are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Blazing53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Blazing53:

On behalf of all the staff, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your experiences at our property.

We value all your feedback, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the food and service offered.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Warmest Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is nice. Rooms are fine. Gardens and installations are in good condition. It has several pools - specially the main pool looked inviting but sadly it was freezing - so catching a spot at the other 2 pools was difficult since none of the guest spent time at the big main pool. Food was good but not great. Service was only regular (needed to make long line for check in and to get a table at the restaurant, the restaurants were always running out of something - plates, cups, certain drinks or dishes, waiters mixing up orders, we were not able to open the safe twice etc.) A just ok hotel - I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maripily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Maripily2014:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos. We are very sorry to hear that we were short in your expectations.

Please be sure that your opinion and comments are extremely valuable to us.

The experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests. We truly regret that we failed to meet your expectations.

We look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Cabos.

Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at Grand Halo Jan 10 - 20th, 2014 and enjoyed our holiday immensely. This was our third visit to this resort with each time under a different management. We were pleased to find that the food remained very good, great salad bar and love the pool snack bar. Our favourite place to eat is Las Olas being right on the beach and the view is amazing. Had great service from our waiter Francisco, very friendly and always smiling, he actually remembered us from our last visit. Something new this time was the Beach Party which we really loved, hope they continue having it. Only negative thing was no free Wi-Fi, a fee of $15.00 a day is way too much and we were disappointed in not being able to keep in touch with family back home. Hope to return again next year with our friends who also love this resort.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the east wing with balconies facing west so getting the last of the sun, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Sharon D:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We value all your feedback, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed our Beach Party.

We are taking your comments very seriously in reference to the Wi-Fi service.

We sincerely thank you for your continued preference. At Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, we work very hard every day to deliver the highest level of service. Therefore, repeat clients like yourself show our commitment to delivering great experiences.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Thank you again.

Kindest Regards,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We recently returned from Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, and I must say it was a fantastic trip! There were 22 of us all together, and everyone enjoyed themselves a lot! The staff seemed a little out of sorts at times, but, from what I understand...most of them were fairly new. I'm sure service will get even better once they all get used to things. (I did find that we did a LOT of tipping on this trip!) We had our wedding close to the end of our trip, and it was OUTSTANDING! Cynthia - the wedding coordinator was amazing! She was there every step of the way, and everything came off without a hitch! It was truly unforgettable and I recommend the wedding package to anyone planning a destination wedding! Our room was lovely, but as others have commented...make sure you get a beach front room, as some rooms don't have the best view. The food was pretty good, but if your staying for two weeks you will probably want to eat out a few times the second week as buffet food starts to all taste the same. All in all, we really loved the Barcelo! We will be back again forsure :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Rhea D:

Thank you for choosing Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos for your recent stay in Los Cabos. We have read your comments about the hotel, and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

We will make sure we pass along the nice words to Cynthia, our Wedding coordinator.

Again, thanks for your feedback.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Best Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
892 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,877 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#33 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#18 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
5,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Property: Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n | Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing