We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican all inclusive holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had 5 in our group and were treated very well. Staff is excellent and I must say the Cleaning Staff are first rate. Our Rooms were left in perfect condition each day thanks to the diligent staff. Food was ok we never did make it to the Italian Restraurant but the other two offered good fare if not a little boring. Pools were very cold and thus did not have a lot of people in them. Only bad moment some of our party had was when they ordered drinks they were told "That will be $1.00 please". We reported this to the Front Desk and they are going to handle it. If you want a good time you must consider this but don't just stay at the hotel they have excellent staff to book you any number of tours. Our Favs were Wale Watching, Water Falls, Snorkle, and Hot Springs. Enjoy we did!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi Jack W:

On behalf of all the staff, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your experiences at our property.

We value all your feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We are taking your comments very seriously in reference to the incident by the bartenders.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Best Regards,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,875 - 1,881 of 2,882 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Barcelo just acquired this hotel from HOLA. There is a brand new hotel construction pit right next door !!!! After 3 days my favorite beer is no longer available. After 3 days the coffee goes from outstanding to watered down crap. Staff are friendly but generally useless with a few exceptions. Ordering a spoon in the dining room was a chore. The wifi was available but didnt work. I have a 1,000 rogers bill. Thank you Barcelo. Multiple restaurants to choose from except half are closed on any given night. The food was ok but inconsistent. Get the exact same thing 2 nights in a row and it is different than the night before. The place has a great location and great layout but the construction next door is an absolute deal breaker. I love the huge deep beach, the water is fine for a stronger swimmer but that ocean needs to be respected. The main pool was freezing cold and generally dirty. It was rarely used by anyone. Hopefully a management overhaul will fix these ridiculous deficiencies. If you want more info please contact me by email at mjgk@live.ca. Go to Dreams.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Gerry K:

On behalf of the management and staff of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, I would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. Your comments are extremely valuable as they help us monitor our operations. I will personally follow up and make sure that the following training sessions for our staff are focused on your comments in order to prevent the said situations from happening again to our future guests.

The experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests. We truly regret that we failed your expectations. By copy of this letter to our department heads I am requesting all issues be reviewed; however, explanations after the facts are unacceptable and our main concern at this point is that you did not receive the service you deserve and have every right to expect from our Resort.

Please accept our most sincere apologies and we all look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Cabos. Should you have any additional comments, please be so kind as to contact me directly to my email address: grandfaroloscabos.ventas-asist@barcelo.com


Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Barcelo Grand Faro was nice and quite, nice to relax; also nice location, walking distance to access a bus to go in to Cabo San Lucas or San Jose del Cabo. The Staff were very nice, everyone speak english.

Room Tip: We booked a King size bed room and got 2 Full size's beds, the Staff were nice but they said &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear DeeDeeEdmonton,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos for your recent stay in Los Cabos. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

Our staff works very hard every day to deliver the highest level of service.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Warmest Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned after spending two weeks glorious weeks in the beautiful sunshine. Just want to add some additional things about this Resort that havn't already been mentioned. This resort is located in San Jose Del Cabo, which is approximately a 25 minute drive from the airport and approximately 30 minutes to Cabo San Lucas. The central area of San Jose is within walking distance to the resort which will take you about 30 minutes to walk depending on how fast you walk. San Jose is a quieter area, which many people like but if you like more action I recommend you staying in Cabo San Lucas. This resort seemed to be about 50% full at the peak times. We stayed in the Sol Towers which offered a few extra's like a bath tub, a bottle of wine and a bottle of some type of Tequila Liquer. There was a seperate check in room which was kind of nice. You could also get some special drinks like Cognac with this package. We went up to the tower a couple of times but it really needs some renovations done up there. It was hot, loud and it smelled kind of bad. Did not spend to much time in there after looking at the view. The food was good as mentioned, no complaints and a special hat's off to the "Pasta Bar" in the Albatross. Excellent Pasta and if you like garlic with your pasta ask for it, really mades the dish. The snack bar only stays open until 6:00 so if you arrive late (after 10:30) or want a midnight snack then there is no where to go and eat. Although you can order room service at a bit of an extra cost or go across the street and have a bite in one of the bars or restaruants. A bit of an issue with extra bottles of water but there was usually a cart in our hallway and when we would return to our room during the day, would just load up with water, kleenix, towels or what ever we needed. This beach is nice to walk on in either direction but it was a bit of a dissapointment that you could not watch the waves from your beach chairs. I suppose there is a reason the resorts are all situated so far back from the beach shore. People were seeing lots of whales but they were so far away you could only make out the water splashes. Not a big deal, come to think of it normally could not see whales any closer at any other resort we have stayed at in the past either. Not much action on the beach, no para sailing or boats etc. Very quiet but again, many people like this. We saw whales and Sea Lions when we went to Cabo and took the water taxi to the Arch. Bit boring at night but again this seems to be very common at every resort. A bit of entertainment some nights and a really nice Mexican Fiesta on Friday night. For the late nighters or partiers the only bar in the lobby closes at midnight, not sure about the Tower, nothing much else to do after that other than going across the street to the KISS bar which has some live entertainment or one of the other bars along that same street. Or can walk or take a cab into San Jose. There is a Mega store which is about a 20 or 30 minute walk which is similar to Walmart and there is also a Walmart further down going towards the Airport direction. You can catch the bus in front of the Mega store and it will take you into Cabo for about $3.00. We took the "White Lightening" bus the first day to Cabo and back. If you want a good laugh and don't mind a bit of an adventure than this bus is for you. It goes fast, very bumpy and everyone's hats fly off. Coming back there was a fellow playing the guitar which made it really enjoyable. The blue or green buses are recommended for the tourists but each to their own, we have been to Mexico many times and enjoy the experience of the "real mexico" side to a point. If you go into Cabo and go to the Marina you can book Whale Watching, Fishing or the Glass Bottom Taxi's right from there if you like. I found the rooms all nice at this resort and the rooms that I saw all offered a nice view of the ocean. The construction next door is an eye sore and for the people that are unfortunate to get a room overlooking this area might want to request a better room. As mentioned doesn't appear that this resort was full to capacity. Overall would I stay at this resort again. Not likely, and only because to quiet for us and we don't stay at the same resort.

Room Tip: The rooms were all good with the exception of overlooking the construction site next door. Not nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDeeEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi DeeDeeEdmonton,

On behalf of all the staff, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your experiences at our property.

We are taking your comments very seriously in reference to the Sky Bar, and we are working on adding more night shows.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Best Regards,


Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We bought the premium ocean front package, and overall, our stay was a good one, but we did have a few issues. Hopefully by letting others know about them we can save you some headaches.
With the premium package, you're supposed to get express check in. There were no signs anywhere in the lobby to indicate where to go for this, and we ended up standing in line for 45 minutes to check in. By the way...express check in is through the lobby bar on the left as you enter the property, and left again behind the fish tank wall.
If you arrive before 3PM, be prepared to wait for your room, because it won't be ready. Ours wasn't ready until almost 5PM. Not that big a deal, we just checked our bags, took a walk around the property, had a few drinks while we waited in the lobby bar.
If you purchase an ocean front room, make sure they don't give you a ground floor room. That's what they gave us, and our view was of the lawn and the concrete wall edging the beach. We asked to change rooms to a higher floor and they put us on the fourth floor. Much better.
You probably already do this, but make sure to use the security latch on your door at night. It saved us from a would be intruder in the middle of the night. Somehow his key card was able to open our door, but the security latch stopped him from getting in. We reported this to the front desk and filled out a security report, and security was able to download the information from our door lock confirming the event. They told us it was another guest who simply got the room number wrong. Plausible I guess, the room numbers were similar, but they were unable to explain how his key card was able to open our door. They gave us another room...upgraded to a junior suite...and told us the old room would be taken out if their rotation until the lock could be inspected and repaired if necessary.
The entire property was very clean, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable
Now the food. All inclusive buffets are pretty much all the same, and of course with a smaller property there will be less selection, but overall it was ok. The Italian a la carte was very good, and easily the best meal we had at the hotel.
The beach was spectacular!!! You can walk for hours. No swimming though because of strong undercurrents. There were a few vendors on the beach, but they were not aggressive at all.
All in all, we had a nice relaxing vacation...with a few hiccups yes, but I would go back again.
One last thing....if you like piña coladas, don't get the pre-made ones they serve from the slushy machines. Go see Alfredo in the lobby bar and ask him to make you one from scratch with the "crema de coco". He makes THE BEST piña coladas I've ever tasted. Thanks Alfredo!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cathy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Public Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Cathy U:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay.

We are taking note of them them in order to improve our service, as well as our menus.

Please be sure that your opinion and comments are extremely valuable to us.

P.S. We will pass along the message to Alfredo on those fabulous piña coladas.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Check in was unorganized? Twice they sent us to rooms that were already occupied imagine our surprise as well as the people in the room. They told you absolutely nothing about hotel amenities basically you were on your own. The sky bar was open the first night then the elevator was broken and never was fixed and we left 6 days later.No bar is open until 11 am ,a bloody mary would be nice and don't get up early expecting a coffee before 9am. I will say there were many great staff members and most of them did the best they could they, were just under staffed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Jefe01,

On behalf of the management and staff of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, I would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. Your comments are extremely valuable as they help us monitor our operations.

The experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests. We truly regret that we failed your expectations.

We are taking your comments very seriously in order to improve our level of service, and delivering better hotel information to our guests.

Please accept our most sincere apologies and we all look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Cabos. Should you have any additional comments, please be so kind as to contact me directly to my email address: grandfaroloscabos.ventas-asist@barcelo.com


Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We love the resort, enjoyed the hotel, staff, food, fact that it is nice size and not to busy.
Enjoyed stretches on the beach at 10 am. aqua fitness at Noon. Then fun filled evenings. Yikes given the good no room for negative

Room Tip: Requested a King bed, got 2 double. Told to call each morning and see if available. Decided after u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Allison S,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate the time and effort you put into reviewing our resort.

We are glad to read your enjoyed your stay, as our main priority is to deliver the highest level of service and value to our guests.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Kindest Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,931 reviews
17.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,369 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
7,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n | Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $180 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing