We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exactly what we were hoping for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeville MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were hoping for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

My wife, daughter and I were looking for a beach resort for spring break and just returned from spending 8 days at this Hilton, using points. We had a standard room which served us very well. We spent most of our time at the pool, a little time at the beach, and it was just what we were lookiing for. The infinity pool is beautiful and we were well served there all day - from great sushi and tacos (and hit or miss pizza), to all the beverages we wanted every day. Prices are in line for food and beverage considering the type of resort, and we liked almost everything we tried. We only wish the poolside menu was open past 4:30pm. But there was a good happy hour at the bar. The breakfast option is phenomenal - so many good choices. We also had a memorable "moonlight" dinner at the steakhouse one evening - very nice. Perfect weather, great accommodations, terrific view (we saw whales every day from 300 yards to 1 mile out). A wonderful vacation for our whole family - and we met so many really nice people there. We will definitely come back here - the best Hilton resort I've found!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,695
    565
    119
    50
    36
See reviews for
880
1,636
57
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

My husband and I used Hilton points for a week-long escape from the Canada winter, and we felt like royalty! We were greeted immediately as we stepped off our shuttle, checked in promptly, were handed margaritas and headed straight to our room, which was a 4th floor ocean-view spot with a king bed and balcony.

The Room & Hotel: We loved the large walk-in shower and over-sized tub (you can open shutters to look at the beach view while bathing), but our first order of business was the pool! I want to clarify from some of the other reviews - there is no shortage of chairs; but the "prime" spots along the oceanfront and with umbrellas do indeed go fast. We always found staff members who were willing to track down an umbrella when we needed it, so it was no big deal. There are also grass huts on the beach and two swim-up bars, so you will not be without a place to lounge. There are long stretches of beach in both directions, so it's easy to find a peaceful spot.

The Service: Every one of our needs was met wonderfully and with a smiling face. Turn-down service was lovely, and they kept a steady supply of bottled water stocked for us each day. Concierge and staff were all helpful in booking dinner reservations, advising on activities, etc. - we never had to lift a finger!

The Food: We were glad the mini-fridge was empty, as it allowed us to purchase our own beverages and snacks while in the city and save a bit! We used vouchers everyday for the continental breakfast - there was always plenty of everything, quick service, great views and quality food. We enjoyed the Vista bar's happy hour, and the lunch and bar menu around the pool - our lunch was usually chips & guacamole with Dirty Monkey frozen cocktails! We only ate dinner at the hotel once and thought it was pretty good, though not especially memorable aside from the yummy table-side salsa service. It's definitely worth exploring some of the other culinary offerings of Los Cabos.

The Crowd: This is definitely a family-friendly hotel, but we were also there during spring break and a major Mexican holiday, so it may have been more rambunctious than normal! Had we been on our honeymoon, I might have been irritated, but most of the children were just having fun and not bothering anybody.

The Location: My only complaint would be the hotel next door (the Melia Cabo Real, I think), although I'm sure that is out of the Hilton's hands! We sought out lounge spots on the opposite side of the Hilton because they were thumping music during the day and into the night - if we wanted a party scene, we would have stayed in Cabo San Lucas! However, it was just a minor annoyance amid an overall amazing experience. We liked being in between the two Cabos - the Hilton is a great jumping off point and we were able to catch the bus right out front for 18 pesos or so (the price seemed to depend on the bus driver!), going into both Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

My partner and I are actually still at the hotel, even as I write this, but I wanted to write the review now, while things were still fresh in my mind. First of all, the hotel staff are exceptionally friendly and do make an effort to accomodate hotel guests. We are staying in the King Jr. Suite. The room is exceptional, however, the location leaves something to be desired. We have a room that looks out over the beach/ocean. The beach ocean part is nice, but it also overlooks the local vendor area and the adjacent hotel, which seems to be a VERY lively hotel playing music into the evening, and disco lights. In a way, we almost wished we'd booked there since we see everything and hear everything going on!

Insofar as some consistent flaws, as friendly as the staff is, there were some basics that surprised us:

1. Upon check in, no one explained anything about the hotel, nothing, not even where the elevator was so that we could go to our room; none of the amenties, where the restaurants were located or hours. Now keep in mind, we're paying close to $400/night. I was surprised with that;
2. When we got to our room, there was already loud music from the hotel next door, and as I said, not much of a view. We asked to switch, but they could not accomodate the same (large) room, but assured us that they'd get back to us the next day. That never happened;
3. When we tried to use the safe. It wasn't working, so we called hotel service. They eventually got it to work and tried to demonstrate it by placing our money and passports in the safe and then shutting it. Unfortunately, the person helping us didn't remember the number she'd used, so that had to send a locksmith to break the safe and replace it with a new one. So, the first couple of hours of our stay we were stuck in our room trying to get the safe situation straightened out;
4. We were really ready for a little cocktail after that and went to the mini-bar. The mini-bar was completely empty. Apparently, you now had to call room service to get anything. That was a hassle and much more expensive than just having the minibar and their prices were not consistent. Last night, I ordered a beer from the bar listing and when it came, it was almost twice the cost, plus service of 15%. I argued that, and they couldn't explain the difference, so I had them take it away.
5. Trying to get refills on shampoo and soap have proven a challenge. For two adults, one tube of shampoo is not nearly enough for one day, with going to the beach and swimming in the sea of Cortés. Their friendly enough when you ask for the refills, but it's odd that their so skimpy on that stuff.
6. We ordered a continental breakfast each morning, and each morning there is something wrong with the order; either there is no jam or no newspaper, or something...again, they're very nice and friendly when you mention it and they come right away, but still it seems that they need reminded or checking on the orders.
7. This is not an adults only hotel and there are kids most everywhere. The parents also have a tendency to just let them do whatever, so it can get extremely noisy.
8. The restaurant prices are very expensive, be warned. And quality not consistent. Sometimes we had great presentation and food, and didn't mind the extra. Other times, we had appetizers arrive after the main meal, drinks come late, etc. And that's where we felt somewhat ripped off. Also, we were surprised that our first night at dinner, they charged for water. Our second night, in a different restaurant, we were given the choice between bottled and regular house water. We didn't understand why we weren't given that choice the prior night....so it seemed that there was some nickle and diming going on.
9. They have a very nice gym for working out. Not too crowded either. Although they keep the water supply low, probably because they're afraid people will come in and take waters. But who cares if they do?

Overall, it is a very nice hotel, but I'm not sure it's the best in the area and the little things like no minibar become bigger things when you just want to come in from the beach and grab a quick beer or snack.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CreateSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

My fiance and I went here for a weekend getaway and I can't wait to go back. As soon as I walked into the resort I felt welcomed. The staff was very friendly and the view from our room was amazing. The house keeping was the best and the nightly turn down service was wonderful. The poolside was perfect, the only complaint is that you have to wake up super early to reserve a lounge chair by the pool with and ocean view.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backpaker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

This hotel is spectacular, but what really makes the stay is the great staff. Everyone there seems to have at the forefront your comfort and satisfaction. I am a Hilton Diamond member and stayed here on points. This was our 3rd trip to this resort in the past 7 years.
We had a "private" check-in with a complimentary drink. We were upgraded to a 2-room suite, each with full bath and a 42" plasma....our 4 children had a separate room. We had a large balcony on the 5th floor with a Nikon telescope for whate watching. Many nights we ordered room service, which arrived promptly each time in about 30-35 minutes.
Our maid was lovely....she did such a nice job and each day made several "towel sculptures" to delight the children. The entire hotel was impeccably clean. We had a small cooktop and microwave and refrigerator in one of our rooms. There is a Costco and Wallmart about 10 miles south of the hotel that we use to stock up on stuff. If you want, you can rent a car from National and return it to National which has a location at the hotel. Otherwise, you can use TransCabo for RT transport. They are great.
The breakfast buffet is absolutely great....they have every possible breakfast item. We received some vouchers from my Diamond status that helped defray the cost. You can sit outside or inside. The weather there is great with much lower humidity than most other parts of Mexico.
The pools are really great and they heat them to 90F. The beach is beautiful, but a little bit rough on the feet so make sure to wear shoes.
They have a fabulous "kids club" at the resort that is free. The staff there (Imelda, in particular) is so caring and friendly that our kids wanted to go there twice a day for 2-3 hours. They made crafts, played games and air hockey, and watched movies (our kids also speak Spanish).
During our first visit there, we met Claudia Rosas (Front Desk Mgr.) and she is just a sweetheart. Talk about making us feel special. I am almost embarassed to say the perks she gave to us and the kids. She has now transferred to a Hilton in Palm Springs, CA, but we contacted her and she asked Christian at the Cabo hotel to take care of us. Of course, Christian did good for us with the room
We have been going to oher places in Mexico, but have already decided that we will be back at the Cabo Hilton next year. We just can imagine a better hotel, better staff and a better climate to relax with our family.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

This place it awesome! My husband and i went on our honeymoon and stayed here. it was secluded and serene, but so close to the beach so we were never bored. The pool is fabulous with the swim up bar and infinity edge looking toward the water. All rooms have a breathtaking view of the water. The room was nothing short of luxurious. We were greeted with a margarita upon check-in and had a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. They also offer a shuttle to both towns which is really convenient. The food and drinks are a little pricey, but this was the case everywhere. The breakfast buffet was my favorite. They also have a good happy hour from 5-7. The fitness center was also great!

You won't find a better hotel in either Cabo San Lucas or San Jose del Cabo if you are looking for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iv425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

I cannot say enough good things about the Hilton Los Cabos, especially the staff. They went above & beyond in every aspect of their job ~ the maid staff, the concierge, the wait staff...everyone.

The hotel is beautiful, the views stunning & the service absolutely perfect. Whether going with your spouse/partner, your family, or friends (all of which we saw enjoying themselves at the resort) you are guaranteed a good time.

Surprisingly, the food was unbelievable. We ate in Cabos San Lucas & San Jose del Cabo in recommended restaurants, neither of which were as good as the food at the hotel. Plus, you save yourself the $30 cab ride (each way) to town...just stroll down out of your rooms to the restaurants, and stroll home!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mytethor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
6.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,412 reviews
10.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#1 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos
Marquis Los Cabos
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover award-winning hospitality at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort-only 25 minutes from San Jose del Cabo International Airport (SJD). Our Cabo San Lucas resort is located on a tranquil swimming-allowed inlet bay between the towns of Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo, and provides the action of the city and a soothing escape from the hustle of daily life. Relax in the sun beside our signature infinity pool, where our Pool Concierge attends to your every need, whether it's a fresh towel or a tasty fruit pop to help you cool down. With an excellent Kids Program, there are specially designed activities for guests aged 4-12. Choose from a wealth of dining options at this Los Cabos resort's four restaurants. Indulge in innovative massage treatments at Spa Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Cabos Beach And Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach Resort
San Jose Del Cabo Hilton
Hilton Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing