We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic Atmosphere”
Review of Lugareno Cocina

Lugareno Cocina
Reserve with OpenTable
Lugareno Cocina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Baja Regional Cusine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Romantic Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Beautifully appointed with gorgeous lights, masonry, plants and soft music..open air surrounded by a fabulous furniture shop, gallery and antiques from Mexico. We had fresh fish caught that day, arugula and fig salad, and the best pasta I've ever tasted. The waiters were friendly and prompt. This place is a must if you are in San Jose. We wanted to buy every hanging light fixture they were so beautiful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cratercamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    33
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a must!!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

One of my absolute favorites! Need I say more. If you haven't been here, I suggest you go out of your way to make it. I try to order something different every time and every time I am not disappointed. Absolutely wonderful! Last night we had the rabbit gorditas appetizer and pasole for our main course. Very romantic or great with friends. The entire place is beautiful and a must see. The staff is warm,welcoming, and friendly. You will never be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Ohbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We found this place by chance, SO GLAD we did!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We bought a place here in San Jose del Cabo and were looking to find places to furnish it. We were walking by and saw the Valentina Gallery, so we popped in. Well, this was a quaint little eclectic square with great artwork etc. As we were browsing the artwork we noticed people eating at a nice area. The day was typically hot and sunny, so we decided to have a Mojito and a snack. The bar tender was very nice to us snow birds. We ordered the Mexican Salsa and Chips. BEST EVER!!! The chips are seasoned with a nice hot spice that went so well with the fresh Mexican Salsa. We said to ourselves, we will be back!! Two nights later we came for supper, this is a courtyard setting with great plants, furniture and decor. The bartender who was there two days before was waiting tables and recognized us immediately and welcomed us and shook our hands.
Our meal was top notch. I had the fresh Mahi Mahi and my wife had the braised short ribs which, luckily were huge, so I got to have a nice portion of hers. Amazing quality of food. The dessert was a chocolate brownie with a nice hot chile seasoning in it with ice cream. It is funny how you can happen upon these places which we call hidden gems!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TOnyandDeb154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small kitchens this size should not be this good!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Last Saturday, 11/2/13, my friend, Kathy and I, visited Villa Valentina Bar & Bistro in San Jose del Cabo. A short walk down a corridor lined with home and patio appointments opened up into a beautiful and peaceful countyard...a space typical of any village in old Mexico. Where were we? San Miguel de Allende? Old Leon? What year is it? 1950? 1965? We were transported back in time.

The courtyard is anchored by Villa Valentina, owned and managed by Julieta Talamante, a design and interior specialist who has assisted in some of the Capes most spectacular residences; one of which has recently graced the cover of Architectural Digest.

The daughter, Tanya, manages the Art School and Gallery. Her gallery displays Tanya's work but also works of art from the masters of Mexico. Tanya also has classes for young and old alike to find their inner Zen artist.

The Bistro is nestled in a quiet corner with vines softening the walls and subdued ambiant lighting that does not detract from the stars overhead. The Bistro is managed by the son, Danielito, who has training in design but has transferred that creative talent to food.

Small kitchens this size should not be this good! We ordered lobster bisque, sea bass, rabbit gorditas, duck confit, and a beautiful arrugula salad. When the food arrived it was a dazzeling display of smells and color. We took pictures.

As we ate, we were listening to soft acquostic music wafting throughout the courtyard. Some guests were in the art gallery, others visited the lower level of Villa Valentina gift shop, which sells Mexican curios and collectibles. There is a wine shop and small friendly bar. Everybody saunters......because we were on old Mexico time.

Coming to Villa Valentina is an experience you should not miss as you will not only see and taste old Mexico, but also FEEL IT!

Dr. Lars Roth, Ely Minnesota

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find in San Jose del Cabo”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I travel to San Jose del Cabo once or twice a year and I eat here at least once every trip I take. Beautiful courtyard open air dining with fantastic food, attentive servers and good prices. The ceviche is some of the best to be found anywhere on the Baja. Everything is made fresh, the seafood entrees are definitely the specialty. It's a little hard to find if you don't know where it is, but worth the search (It's located directly west about a block from the Mega grocery store on the main highway to Cabo San Lucas. Sidewalk to get there is a bit treacherous and uneven, but worth it. Love this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nyteowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lugareno Cocina also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Lugareno Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing