We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Highlight of our trip"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lugareno Cocina

Lugareno Cocina
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Baja Regional Cusine
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
“"Highlight of our trip"”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico and eating at Villa Valentina was the absolute culinary highlight of our trip!

We had not heard about this restaurant and actually stumbled upon it by accident. One evening while walking up to the supermarket, we curiously peeked our heads inside thinking we would find an art gallery. To our surprise, we found the cutest outdoor courtyard restaurant and even though it wasn't extremely busy at the time (it was early afternoon), it drew us in! It is so nicely decorated and the atmosphere is superb! You would never think in a million years that such a neat place exists right off of a main highway! We came back the next evening( all dressed up) and enjoyed the most delicious food we encountered during our 8 day visit to Mexico. My boyfriend had the braised short rib appetizer (yum yum yum) and for an entree he had the pesto chicken and I had the fish with potatoes. The food was delivered on colorful beautiful plates which actually can be purchased at the gallery next door. We also had a couple margharitas which were delicious as well! The garnish was so unique (see pic).
Besides the food, our waiter Sergio was super nice and gave excellent service. Very attentive while not being overbearing!

From my boyfriend: Superb ambiance; delicious food, cooked simply, but seasoned superbly and presented beautifully. Great courtyard location, intimate and unique dining experience. We enjoyed our experience so much, we returned the next night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnangela2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaellaDaniel, Owner at Lugareno Cocina, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Johnangela2013;
Thanks for your detailed review of the restaurant. We are glad to hear our restaurant was up to your expectations. We always appreciate when guests give us feedback, it helps us keep a pulse on the overall dining experience at Villa Valentina and improve it for future guests.

We hope you had a pleasant stay in Los Cabos and hope to host you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    33
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It Just Keeps Getting Better”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Villa Valentina is always a must visit for my wife and I when we come down to Cabo. The restaurant is beautiful and very romantic. The staff is super friendly and they really want to make sure you have a good time. But now the food has entered the realm of a real foodies paradise. Daniel has brought in a new chef from Veracruz. He is a truly a talent. Everything is fresh and of the highest quality and the preparation thoughtful, cooked to perfection, and beautifully presented. We had the civiche made with a local fish that was out of this world. And lest i fail to mention, the handmade totopos are absolutely the best you will have anywhere in cabo. I would go back just for those. Gambas aljillo were delicious and the panko crusted calamari were irresistible.
I like the fact that Daniel, the owner, does not want to the restaurant to get too big. he wants to keep the atmosphere intimate and the dishes made to order and fresh. good for him. this is adecision that will ensure his clientele keep coming back for more.Do yourself a favor and go. You wont regret it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lb1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Am in a Pinterest Picture?”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is by FAR the cutest, restaurant I have ever been to! It's been over a week and I am still gushing over my experience at the is restuarant. We had dinner on Mother's Day and the service was perfect! Super friendly staff, who weren't totally overbearing. The food was awesome, so fresh and great portions! The chocolate brownie dessert was AMAZING.

I just can't get over the venue itself, so flippin cute! Perfect spot for a romantic dinner or an evening out with friends. Also a perfect venue for a private event. You must check this place out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor evening setting”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Four of us went to dinner on a Monday. Guitarist was good and played mostly American songs throughout the evening. We had 2 bottles of blended Mexican red wine (Roganto Piccolo) for 480 pesos each. 3 of us had short ribs, tender, tasty-- and one had a pork loin, also good, with mushrooms and blended cauliflower. Appetizer of cerviche was shared by two, excellent. One had Caesar salad, very fresh, like all the organic food here. Two shared a desert of key line pie and 2 shared a very chocolaty brownie with chocolate sauce and a scoop of ice cream on the side. 2 coffees. Evening sheltered outdoor setting very pretty. Total for 4 before tip was $ 232 USD.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bugdr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I saw this place on trip advisor and thought I'd give it a try. We found it a little hard to find but we were glad that we kept searching for it as we were very pleasantly surprised. The courtyard is beautiful and rustic and there is a lovely area upstairs with a view of the ocean. The waiters were very attentive and the food was great. We went back again the next night as it was such a lovely atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lugareno Cocina also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Lugareno Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing