We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hard to find, but WORTH IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Valentina Restaurant

Villa Valentina Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Baja Regional Cusine
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but WORTH IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just came in from a delicious dinner at Villa Valentina. A quiet courtyard, exceptional service, delicious hibiscus margaritas, and great food. We arrived at 7:00 pm on Superbowl Sunday and there were only 4 tables of guests. Lucky us.

The four of us had different plates - but everyone had seafood. The shrimp enchiladas were good, the shrimp pasta was a huge serving and quite tasty. My friend ordered the catch of the day and found the mahi-mahi slightly overcooked, but loved the spinach/mushroom side dish. And my tuna appetizer was delicious.

Dessert was brownies or lime pie. The lime pie was more like a cheesecake - and very tasty. The brownie with strawberry ice cream was enjoyed by the others.

This was one of the more expensive meals we have eaten on this vacation, but it was fine dining. And fine dining in Canada would have been twice what we paid tonight.

I stumbled upon this restaurant when walking with a friend. It is on the little side road, right beside the highway coming from Cabo. Before Mega! Find it now! A new hotel is being built right next door - once that opens the place will be VERY busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eak027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    30
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem but not for long....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Villa Valentina has become one of our favorite restaurants in San Jose. We discovered it by accident last year and kept going back. Normally they are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. However, due to a new Park Hyatt hotel going up next door they have closed their breakfast and lunch service for the time being. The construction noise is such that it is hard to enjoy a quiet meal. Hopefully that will end soon. The atmosphere of this restaurant is just beautiful....like being in someone's lovely garden. The food is outstanding, especially the Fish Valentina which is the catch of the day. I rarely order fish (almost never) but this is so delicious that I look forward to it. The shrimp enchiladas, shrimp pasta and shrimp tacos are all fabulous (can you tell my aversion to fish does not include shrimp?). The margaritas are not my favorite as they are a little on the tart side and in a very small glass but that is really the only downside to eating there for me. The wait staff is friendly and very courteous. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Great night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I were in San Jose del Cabo staying at the Barcelo and I started looking around for restaurants around the area and came across this gem of a restaurant. I emailed the manager Daniel asking to make a reservation, and was pleased when he replied within a few minutes confirming our reservation for that night.

The walk over from the resort was quick only a block from the MEGA. It's a beautiful courtyard atmosphere, a great menu with something for everyone and very attentive staff. Daniel made a point to come by and make sure everything was to our liking and thanked us for our business.

It was our favourite evening of our trip! Thank you to Daniel and his staff for making it enjoyable! Next trip to San Jose will definitely include a stop at Villa Valentina.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GavinSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Villa Valentina should be on your list of new restaurants in San Jose Cabo. The food is outstanding . With a wonderful new Cabo cook. The open air atmosphere allows a pleasant experience without background noise. If you like to enjoy conservation without noise. Great food and reasonable prices , Villa Valentina is the place to go. Conveniently located near the Mega Supermarket. The owner, Daniel makes sure your visit is unforgettable .
John Pearson

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpearson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

What a find. We came across Villa Valentina by accident while out for a walk. We popped into a little wine bar/store in a quaint courtyard for a glass of wine. , Adriana,one of the owners was very helpful and knowledgable about Mexican wine in particular. She was very passionate about wine but also obviously about food. She raved about Villa Valentina which shares the courtyard but is only open evenings. We retuned on Saturday and were very glad we did? We had one of the best meals we've ever had in the Baja. A couple of nights previous to the we had been to our (now former) favourite restaurant; Deckmans. The food was great as usual but I must say our experience at Villa Valentina was better at half the cost. We decided to make a meal out of the starters so it was essentially Tapas. We started with tortilla soup and a lentil salad, both excellent. The short ribs are to die for and all other dishes were yummy. The little courtyard was a perfect setting that reminded us of Italy. They have live music on the weekends. On this night it was a classical guitarist who played unobtrusively in the courtyard - just right.

Helpful?
Thank RickandSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Valentina Restaurant also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Villa Valentina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing