We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, Romantic and with just the right touch of Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morgan's Encore - CLOSED

Morgan's Encore
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, Romantic and with just the right touch of Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Light music and incredible aromas caught our attention while walking by. Are we ever glad we stopped in. At first it was only going to be for a Tapa and drinks, but we ended up here for hours. We ordered most of the Tapa's on the Menu and and loved them all. That night Lobster ravioli was the special and they allowed us a sample. What a treat. The service was fantastic. A wine (off the menu) was suggested and it was the perfect vino for what we ordered. The staff were friendly and fun, and very professional. The atomopshere made for a perfect night for my wife and I. Live music, candlelight, open kitchen and the stars above. This was our favorite stop in the San Jose / Cabo tour. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner after we left and we really appreciated his other recommendations, advice and tips on enjoying the area. Thank you Peter for a wonderful experience.
P.S we did go to Morgans (the original) the next night and we were just as pleased with this location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    6
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Morgans Encore is a much for us when visiting the Cabo area. The service is always top notch, the food is fresh and the ambiance is romantic. Having live music is a nice touch. My husband said he had one of the top five meals of his life here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora,Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Morgan's Encore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Awesome just Awesome!!! I will admit I know Peter the owner but that has nothing to do with my review. The atmosphere is extraordinary ,torches burning, live music in the back ground, decor, service was excellent . The food was,is top quality and done to perfection . If you are vacationing in the area MORGAN'S IS A MUST. We took a 25 minute drive by cab to enjoy this fine dinning. Peter GREAT JOB take care. See you next year !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Courtyard Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stopped in at Morgan's after a long, dusty drive to Cabo Pulmo and back to San Jose del Cabo. We were looking for something relaxed but with excellent service and food. Morgan's hit the mark in both cases. The partially covered courtyard is just the right combination of open air and privacy. Service was prompt, attentive and professional, even though we started quite late. The four of us each ordered a different main course: 2 fish and 2 beef - and all were excellent. The neighborhood is also great for an evening stroll.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Located in the historic part of Los Cabos- it is a quaint and romantic place. I really enjoyed this place for the atmosphere and service. The food was average to good but not excellent. I would recommend this place just for the atmosphere! It is unique and fun!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AukaiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Encore also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing