We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flora's Field Kitchen

Flora's Field Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ( Closed Mondays) Floras Field kitchen is about handmade food using our farm fresh ingredients. Our goal is to create a healthy family meal with a sense of place. Our day begins at four in the morning when Jose the baker arrives to fire the wood oven. Working with sourdough cultures and pre ferments he makes loaves of Pain L'ancienne baguette, ciabatta, sourdough, focaccia, whole wheat and herb breads. Chefs, cooks, stewards, the butcher and farm hands begin arriving after first light. Throughout the morning produce comes in to be washed and prepped while the line gets fired up to prepare the first meals- through dinner there is harvesting going hand in hand with cooking. All meats served at Floras Field Kitchen come from our nearby 150-acre ranch where animals are humanely raised on diets that do not include hormones or antibiotics. In the evening, and for Sunday brunches, the wood-burning oven becomes Mamas pizzeria. We make Neapolitan style pizza with fresh mozzarella and dough that is built over time and handled lightly.
Zürich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oh wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

an absolutely lovely place! your heart opens up so much when arriving there! lot's of stuff to see -so many beautiful details made with love.
we had brunch:family style- lot's of food all freshly made- home grown vegetables and salads. wonderul banana bread- oliv oil thyme muffins- super fresh salad- scrambled egg and potatoes and oh oh oh fluffy lovely ricotta pancake.
try their version of bloody marry- yummi!
a green juice if u want a non alcoholic fresh and healthy juice
totally going back there for dinner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLuckyDumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,394
    286
    91
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply ... Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Yes, it can be a little tricky finding this restaurant, but it's clearly worth it. When you arrive it pops out of the middle of a field. Several small buildings and wonderfully placed fields of green. In the middle is a completely open aired restaurant and bar that clearly can't be open when it rains. Everything is wide open and airy. The attention to detail all the way down to the mason jars places throughout with fresh flowers is a clear sign of whats to come. Drinks at the bar are all made from scratch and served with presentation in mind. Once seated you can tell right away that you will receive wonderful customer service. It was our honeymoon and we were congratulated by everyone and had a congrats sign on our table. Our table started to get somewhat crowded and somewhat rushed over with a small side table and it was constantly rearranged to make room for any new additions. The menu is varied and leans towards the american side with some local flavors added in. Food was ALL wonderfully prepared and delicious. All in all, we were extremely pleased to find such a wonderful quite gem on the outskirts of San Jose del cabo. I'm quite honestly confused by the few negative reviews. It is a little expensive but not near what we pay for something comparable at home. I would highly recommend this to ANYONE who visits cabo. As a matter of fact, we told almost everyone we met while we were in cabo, you must go!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place, but shrinking value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have been going to Flora Farms and the field Kitchen since about 2001 and we have always supported the entrepreneurial nature of the farm watching it evolve from an organic farm established in 1996, to a flourishing creative restaurant (including the subsequent addition of a pizza oven and bakery) and, within the last two or so years, the construction of environmentally efficient cottages and an arts and crafts gallery. The owners of this valley property have shown tremendous imagination and skill in drawing patrons to their rural location from throughout Los Cabos.

Set in an alluvial valley located just east of San Jose del Cabo and north of the newly enhanced marina the location is interesting and very different from what you would experience in other restaurants located in the towns. The gardens form both a practical and attractive backdrop for the restaurant. It is a casual environment with farm dogs mixing with the guests and pathways bordered with both flowers and produce. The food is good and the service is attentive if somewhat distracted at times.

Although we are fans and supporters we have also been dismayed by the increasing prices at the restaurant. As indicated, the food and service have always been good but the rising prices have eroded the value of the experience to the point where it almost feels like we are being exploited rather than welcomed as we were in the early years.

At a recent Sunday brunch the price for the set breakfast menu was $49.00 US per person. It was a good brunch; but it was not a stellar brunch and it did not provide the value that one would expect for that price. At that level you would have thought that you would be able to request to have your eggs cooked the way you prefer them, however, that was not the case. The eggs only came scrambled and it appeared that they had been scrambled some time before being delivered to our table. A loaf of bread from the bakery was about $8.00 U.S. Prices have certainly expanded along with the enterprise but the value has diminished.

Don’t get me wrong; it is a very nice place and worth a visit if you haven’t been before; but you should expect to pay a premium for the popularity of the Field Kitchen. There are good restaurants in the area for breakfast, such as Cynthia’s and La Serena (the one on the transpennisular highway across from Home Depot, not the one downtown), which provide equally good food but without the substantial premium. I hope that some balance in pricing will restored in the near future so that I can again enjoy my time at the Field Kitchen.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyagehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElVerano, General Manager at Flora's Field Kitchen, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a long, thoughtful review. Our only problem with it seems to be the facts. We do not charge $49 dollars for brunch. We do have a family style brunch that includes: Homemade pastries and breads, herb scrambled eggs, hollandaise, ricotta pancakes, potatoes, garden salad, house cured meats, fresh juice, coffee and desert, but it's cost is $35 dollars. We also have ala carte items such as huevos Ranchero's for around 8 dollars, as well as Lot's of Pizza's. We defiantly appreciate constructive criticism, and if you felt your eggs were not up to standard, we would gladly get new ones on the table right away. We do have a problem with with folks who seem to need to twist the facts in order to support a grudge. Thank you, and we hope to see you at the farm again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely. Like others said, it is well worth the short drive out and the decor is charming. The fixed three course menu options for lunch add up to a large (but delicious) meal so order only if you are really hungry. The desserts are very good, we especially liked the banana cream pie and the chocolate cake.

Helpful?
Thank RobinandCynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A lovely lady from Dallas suggested we stop here if we had time. We made a day of it and had a driver take us the 45 min from Cabo San Lucas. The farm is a little delicious oasis in the desert. All of the food served is frown organically on-site. We had a great meal, took a free 20 min tour and shopped in 2 shops on site. The rescue dogs roaming the property were adorable and the cooking demos looked really fun! We highly suggest this as an activity. Very yummy wine and cocktails too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flora's Field Kitchen also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Flora's Field Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing