We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Al Pastor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria El Fogon

Taqueria El Fogon
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Found in the Lonely Planet Tour Guide
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Al Pastor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been going to El Fogon now for over 8 years. We don't get down to Baja often, but we always make this one of our first and last stops on our trip. The Al Pastor here is exceptional....we have not found better in other parts of Mexico or the U.S. If they have the posole (used to be on Thursdays only)....definitely add to your order.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duchavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Service & Integrity Questionable - Good Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We, my wife & I, like to eat at local establishments whenever possible. El Fogon looked very promising & the good news is the food did not disappoint. On the other hand ... our waitress came by after about being seated for 15 seconds and we asked for a little more time. 15 minutes later we flagged her down & she said she could not serve as she had been cleaning the washrooms, which we had observed; an appreciated health attitude. Another waiter came by 5-10 minutes later to take our order. Should have left then as small red ants were biting our feet. Good food. The most disappointing part was when asked for the bill, the waiter brought the bill and said $20 which we assumed was US. I felt this was not in line with other local establishments we had frequented. The bill had a big $20 that was circled and 116 on the other side. He agreed the bill was 20 dollars & when I questioned him or 116 pesos he agreed. We paid the 116 pesos. He was basically overcharging twice the amount due. Sorry, can't recommend this one!!! Not your normal Mexican attitude at this establishment!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CowichanConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We found this restaurant by luck two years ago and could not wait to get back this year. We ate here on the first night and returned on our final night realising that it was the best food we had eaten. We tried higher rated restaurants that were aimed at tourists. What this one lacks in ambience, it makes up with the charm that it's where the locals eat. We were welcomed into their restaurant and met several families. The staff have limited English but are helpful. This made our trip and we will return to Mexico to eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great great food, but waitress did not wash her hands after she used the bathroom.......

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeyaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good local food for cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

No menus other than the life sized one on the back wall. Great pineapple salsa with the roasted pork taco. Order a few varieties! Staff barely speak english, but it makes it interesting. Only 1 type of beer, Pacifico, but you can bring in your own. For two adults, 7 tacos, 2 beer and a pop, $16 USD!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelSmarterJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria El Fogon also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Taqueria El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing