We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Mexican at a fare price”
Review of Taqueria Mexico

Taqueria Mexico
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: found restaurant in Lonely Planet guidebook
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great Mexican at a fare price”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Dine under the palapa and order anything,,,its all good...fantastic catering options...try it you'l like it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buzz326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprise find!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We happen to stumble on this place when we were getting some work done on our truck. It was a hot day and we decided to walk around and find a place to grab a quick bite and a beer. We passed several places and came upon this on. They had the coldest and most refreshing beer! We followed up with a plate of tacos that we shared. I can say we will be back and next time I won't be sharing the tacos. :)

Helpful?
Thank Ohbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good prices”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had two fish tacos and a seafood soup here. Portions were great so I was beyond full! Seafood soup has the right amount of spices. Fish tacos are yummy. They also bring complementary chips and salsa. This place is away from the touristy art central district but still draws a sizable crowd of tourists. Yet, their prices are not crazy like in the central district restaurants. Many locals come here too. Staff is very friendly. Highly recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sublimity, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find! ”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

A bit off the beaten path, but worth the walk. The staff is friendly and hardworking. The food is authentic and very good (no tummy issues as result of this food !). The margaritas were large and yummy and the beers served ice cold, which we found was rare in Mexico. I had the fajitas with corn tortillas which were fantastic. They take an average corn tortilla and infuse a section with beets and a section with spinach and as odd as this sounds... It was amazing tasting ;) The restaurant is open 7 days a week from 10am to 2am. Irma is the owner and simply an wonderful and hardworking individual. We went there twice during our vacation and would have fit in a third if we could have. The menu pricing is average, but well worth the money for the quality of food that you get (about $40 USD for 2 dinners, 4 beers and 2 cokes and all the chips and salsa you could eat). The atmosphere is nice, open and airy and the facility is clean and taken care of. I highly recommend a visit to Taqueria Mexico to any visitor.

Helpful?
Thank owenscj_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found this delightful, family friendly restaurant on Calle Valerio Gonzalez Canseco while visiting San Jose. The food is authentic, delicious and economical. Although the staff who served do not speak English, they made communication with them easy and fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4guysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Mexico also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Taqueria Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing