We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights here over Easter after visiting Todos Santos and La Paz. The hotel was absolutely impeccable in every way - so tasteful, so beautiful. We LOVED our third floor, ocean-facing room (#33, highly recommended). The rooms are appointed with gorgeous Mexican furniture and have beautiful tile work in the bathroom. The breakfasts are lovingly made to order by charming Guillermo and his incredibly talented chef. Every breakfast was delicious. The Costa Azul beach feels very private - even over a very busy holiday weekend the beach felt very mellow and uncrowded. My husband surfed, and we went stand-up paddle boarding one day (renting boards from Zippers, right down the beach).
We had a rental car, which was very helpful, because we drove to historical San Jose in the evenings for dinner, and we drove to explore some of the other beautiful beaches in the area. One night we ate dinner at the hotel and they set up our own private table, right on the beach - we had an absolutely phenomenal meal, and the setting was truly exquisite - really a night to remember forever. The staff are friendly and eager to please (they gave us beach chairs and an umbrella to take to a beautiful neighboring beach one day, called Chileno Bay). I absolutely cannot wait to return to Casa Costa Azul!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katiedub0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just got back from a 5 day stay here and everything about the hotel was first rate. The room was spotless and roomy with a table and a small deck, and the bathroom newly tiled and exceptionally clean. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and you can ask them for anything. Breakfasts on their upstairs deck were out of this world! We booked through Expedia so they were part of our plan -- artful fruit plates, yogurt, granola, toast, a huge variety of egg dishes -- and the chef made me pancakes one day on request. The waiter is so, so nice -- a real gentleman. (You can have dinner up there as well, as long as you let them know before 1, and then you're pretty much alone, with candlelight and great food.) Gorgeous saline pool and hammocks and a nice garden. THE place to stay in San Jose del Cabo if you like small family boutique hotels. And we too saw whales from the patio! We went down to the Cabo scene one day and couldn't wait to get back to this quiet place. (My only complaint is that it's right off a busy highway, and there are no sidewalks, so you can't really walk into town.) If we ever go back to Cabo we'll stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 3 days this past week at this beautiful hotel. The owners have put their heart and soul into creating a very special place. We stayed in an ocean front king room. The attention to detail with beautiful and authentic Mexican artwork and furnishings is evident.
The beach is clean, wide and lovely walk on and there were whales in the bay to watch every day!

We had breakfast and dinner at the lovely little restaurant run by Guillermo. Each morning we had delicious fresh fruit and he was happy to prepare any kind of hot entree for us. The dinners were absolutely amazing, cooked with fresh local ingredients to perfection!

If you are looking for a quiet and tasteful place to stay, I highly recommend it! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ocean front! The view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethProsser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this charming hotel. We had a lovely big room with terrace and view over the white sand beach... We could even from our bed see some whales in the sea :-) The staff is very friendly and the responsible for breakfast is a charming man who will do everything to fulfill your breakfast wishes (even the choice of the music!!). The only drop of bitterness is that you don't have a lot of restaurants around the hotel... You can have dinner at the hotel but you have to book at least in the morning...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollofeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here two nights in January. Cabo San Lucas is so overbuilt with huge resorts and feels more like a college spring break place...so noisy and so crowded and so much traffice. San Jose del Cabo (where the airport is) has retained its colonial look and has a lovely, wide, long beach along which there are only a few hotels and condo developments..There is also a wonderful new port and marina and many really good restaurants. This hotel sits right on that beach with the most gorgeous sea views. We had one of the end rooms with a nice balcony facing the water and I actually was reminded of being in the Greek Isles.

The staff was incredible...5 star service....any request was handled with a smile. We also opted to do the dinner served on our balcony....we have eaten at restaurants around the world and I think the food, the wine, the ambiance and the service Casa Costa Azul provided were on a par with any of them. They put candles all along the balcony railing and that along with the crashing waves and starry skies was just the best ever.

The property itself is very tropical...beautiful trees, flowers, walkways and there is a lovely terrace just at the edge of the beach with a nice pool. Breakfast is included with the room and Guillermo will fix whatever you want....just let him know. There is also coffee and tea in the office starting at 6:00AM if you want a cup to take on your early morning beach walk. The rooms are furnished with very nice Spanish colonial pieces, tile work in the bathroom is gorgeous and the shower is great...good water pressure. Also, the free WiFi was quick and dependable.

I guarantee you won't find any other place like this in Cabo.....beautiful, quiet, relaxing in a superb loation.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the end for the best view...right on the beach. The rooms right behind those st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoGoPDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onanole, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in November 2012. The weather was perfect,sunny and hot for the time of year. We choose this hotel.for its location , just far enough out of San Jose but we did hire a rental car to get out and about. The hotel is set right on the beach and is lovely and clean , this part of the ocean is not rough ,so you can have fun in the waves. We had a ocean front room with beautiful views of the ocean, the house keeper did a excellent job, as so did the other staff. The breakfast was wonderful and included in the price. You had a choice of what ever you wanted cooked to order by the talented chef, and served.by the most friendly waiter, nothing was too much trouble. One night we had a 5 course meal cooked just for ourselves, they did an excellent job which was as good as any top restaurant in San Jose. This hotel was built over many years by the owner himself, his care and attention in the detail really shows. Thank you for a super stay. We would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Front ocean view, as long as we do not want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent five nights here and found it comfortable, clean, well designed, and beautifully decorated, mostly with excellent ceramics. It's a family-run spot and everyone is extremely pleasant and helpful. The restaurant on-site will cook your included breakfast to your specifications and can also cook other meals to order if you let them know early. The beach is probably better for learning to surf or for long walks than for relaxing dips. The pool is small and was quite chilly in December. The location probably works best when you have a car at your disposal. Although we were able to catch a cheap bus to and from Cabo San Lucas easily enough, in order to see more of the area and have more dining choices, we did end up renting a car for three days. Dickman's Restaurant, right across the road from the hotel, is absolutely superb. It was a joy to be able to put in a return visit just by crossing the road.

Room Tip: Higher levels have the nicest views. But there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,631 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,448 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
#27 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,148 reviews
1.6 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
497 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Cabo San Lucas - San Jose del Cabo Km 28.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the beach, only 14 rooms, steps away from the best surf in Cabo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing