We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place is lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Costa Azul
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place is lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent five nights here and found it comfortable, clean, well designed, and beautifully decorated, mostly with excellent ceramics. It's a family-run spot and everyone is extremely pleasant and helpful. The restaurant on-site will cook your included breakfast to your specifications and can also cook other meals to order if you let them know early. The beach is probably better for learning to surf or for long walks than for relaxing dips. The pool is small and was quite chilly in December. The location probably works best when you have a car at your disposal. Although we were able to catch a cheap bus to and from Cabo San Lucas easily enough, in order to see more of the area and have more dining choices, we did end up renting a car for three days. Dickman's Restaurant, right across the road from the hotel, is absolutely superb. It was a joy to be able to put in a return visit just by crossing the road.

Room Tip: Higher levels have the nicest views. But there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
89
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in this wonderful small hotel over the Christmas holiday. We give this hotel and our experience there the highest rating because the owners are so deserving of it. Our room looked out at the gorgeous ocean. The room was very nicely furnished and extremely comfortable. The waters of the Sea are very special as is the immaculate beach. One of the best things about the place is that it is NOT a resort with pulsating music all day around a huge swimming pool. It is the kind of place that one visits for a peaceful vacation. The owners are extremely service-oriented--what a pleasure to be treated so warmly and given such good information about the area. We also want to mention that the small restaurant which is part of the hotel is outstanding. We had a special meal fixed for us, and the chef really knows his art. The meal was beautifully prepared and wonderfully presented. Don't hesitate to have a meal there--it is a nice break from having to go out to dinner elsewhere. We are already looking at our calendar for a return trip in a couple of months.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea have spectacular views but we spent one night in one of the other rooms, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 31323Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Like the other reviewers, we were very thankful for the peaceful stay. The hotel is tastefully decorated and impeccably maintained. Our room was spacious, with an unobstructed view of the sea. The beach was deserted, as was the hotel: We were the only guests both nights! We walked 5 minutes along the beach to dine at Zippers, and were pleased with the food and the live entertainment.

The only reason I am not rating this 5 stars (I would give it 4 1/2 if I could) is that I found it a wee bit expensive for what it is. Their advertised rate is $200/nt which is what the nicer all-inclusives were charging. The "continental breakfast" was a basket of granola bars, bananas and juice. I found that a bit chintzy for such a beautiful boutique hotel.

I would definitely stay here again, as we loved the quiet and intimate feeling, but would see if I could get a better rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laylaymowm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What an exceptional find! With Annabelle and Carlos seeing to our every need, we wanted for naught. A continental breakfast and a dip in the warm waters of the Sea of Cortez should be how every day starts. Ending the day with a swim in the sparkling pool and a short "siesta", we were ready for the night. With their knowledge of the area, we were directed to world class dining and other delightful pleasures. At bed time the sound of the waves lulled us to sleep. Our room was on the second floor facing the Sea with a most comfortable bed and pillows. On our day of departure, the co-owner Jorge drove me to the "lavanderia" to retrieve our wash and Carlos stayed beyond his shift to help this "gringo" find his keys. We will return because we are now family! Michael and Mary Reid

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Sea. Upper rooms require some stairs to climb. Have dinner at Deckmans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buglove2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you're looking for peace and serenity, look no further. Some like lively vacations where you are constantly being entertained by shows, clubs or fancy pool scenes. If that is your preference, this hotel is not for you. It is a vacation from the typical all inclusive resorts of Cabo, and a true get away from noise, American food and an over all fast paced life style. It was the perfect get away for my boyfriend and I in October of 2011. Every bit of our stay was relaxing comforting and "homey". Love the couple who own the place. You can really tell they have placed close attention to detail and the decor is artfully crafted reminiscent of "old Mexico". I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel for a 4-5 day get away to reset, meditate and rejuvenate your life.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I visited this is really lovely small low-key boutique hotel in June. Its run by a family and its pretty different from most other places in Los Cabos. Its tasteful, relaxing and quiet. I travel a lot and have no interest in giant all-inclusive resorts with time-share presentations. We wanted a nice room with a view of the ocean, a quiet stretch of beach, chairs, umbrellas and sun. We did not want to be hassled or bothered.

We found Casa Costa Azul very welcoming. When we arrived they offered us drinks while we checked in and were eager to answer questions. The rooms are simple but very tastefully done with nice woods and tile, good showers and nice toiletries. While it wasn't elaborate it also didn't feel cheap. We thought the whole effect was pretty nice.

We rented a car and each night either walked down the beach to the nearby bar & burger joint (Zippers) or drove into Cabo San Lucas for a nicer dinner. One night we went to the high-end place across the highway - Deckman's - which was surprisingly high-end and would have done well at home in San Francisco.

Casa Costa Azul has a nice little patio where they serve breakfast and they will organize a romantic dinner on the beach if you like, but they have no large restaurant and no nightlife. We went to Cabo San Lucas when we wanted nightlife. They do stock a room fridge with beer and sodas but we also bought our own drinks at market.

There is a surf break nearby so you can rent a board or just enjoy watching the surfers from your deck in the morning (we did the later).

With respect to Michael B's negative review, this isn't a resort. If you were coming for a bar scene this is not the right place. I think you just had the wrong expectations.

Excellent hotel and highly recommended

Room Tip: The premium views with full ocean view offer a postcard sea view. Views get better the higher you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel in March with my partner. Was scheduled for 8 nights, but after night one, realized the entire resort shuts down at 7pm. Checked out the next day, got a receipt of partial refun yet my credit card has STILL not been credited back the money 4 months later! Complete nightmare dealing with these people who lie and do not deliver on their promises nor their obligations. A complete joke. Oh, and they are not located near ANYTHING.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#12 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mar Adentro Cabos
Mar Adentro Cabos
#29 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa Azul

Property: Casa Costa Azul
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Cabo San Lucas - San Jose del Cabo Km 28.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Costa Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the beach, only 14 rooms, steps away from the best surf in Cabo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Azul Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing