We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try it once”

Buzzards Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are located in Laguna Hills just 10 minutes outside of Puerto Los Cabos.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“You have to try it once”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Reviews here got my curiosity up and I was really wanting a palapa taco experience. I was smart enough to map it and draw myself a copy and off we went. After I was sure I went too far the wrong way past a cement plant, I turned around, drove back to La Playita, and was told to drive past the cement plant. The drive isn't really that long, it just seems like it. Draw yourself a map to navigate the roundabouts and once you are past the cement plant, keep driving. Don't be tempted to speed like the locals unless you don't mind risking a collision with the cattle that roam along the road. Once you are there the setting is amazing, right next to an incredible beach. It is worth the drive. The owner is very friendly and his staff is great. The food and the margaritas are very good. Actually the margaritas are too good if you are driving back in the dark-I limited myself to one and was glad I did. The ceviche was as good as any I've had anywhere in Los Cabos. The prices aren't bad but are a little higher than comparable in San Jose, likely reflecting the usual clientele which probably comes from the upscale neighborhood its located in. My only complaint? The palapa doesn't have an ocean view. That's the only thing missing here. In my dreams I could sit at a table and drink margaritas there all day watching the ocean. If you go and don't like to drive in the dark, go early, enjoy a walk on the beach, and have an early dinner. Don't forget to make yourself a map and watch for the cement plant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlinDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    34
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Another great visit to Los Cabos and Buzzard's”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We vacationed in Los Cabos, March 11 - 15, 2014, and rented the same house on the beach in the El Encanto gated community. And, once again, we enjoyed several meals at Paul Meredith's "Buzzard's Bar & Grill". Paul also showed us his four guest rooms, which he recently renovated. They look very nice. So, on our next visit, we'll rent a house on the beach and the four guest rooms at Buzzard's. That way, more friends and family can join us. Buzzard's is a special place. The food and beverage service is always top notch. We already miss the coconut shrimp, the deep fried poblano peppers, and the flan with Kahlua dessert. Paul Meredith, along with Carlos, and the kitchen staff have the gift of hospitality and will provide you with a fun and relaxing guest experience. Thanks Paul!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank STC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great place to chill, lay back, sip on some Don Julio 70 & eat some great food. Walking distance from where we were staying, which was at the Measom's beautiful home. Try the stuffed Jalapeno, great taste. We walked in barefooted, which the sand filled floors felt good going through your toes. We even drove the 4-wheeler to Buzzard's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food but check the bill”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a nice lunch there the other day and paid our bill and was on our way out when my husband realized that we paid way too much. He went back in and asked the owner to check over the bill. Apparently, the peso to US dollar conversion by a staff member doubled the amount! The correction was made for us but we wondered how often this has happened without the customer realizing that they had been overcharged.

So, enjoy the atmosphere, food and margaritas but check your bill before leaving!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marianna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The BEST shrimp cocktail and staff!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This out of the way palapa'd restaurant serves the very BEST shrimp cocktail in all of Baja. A meal for one or an appetizer for two or three. Full of freshly caught shrimp and the tastiest sauce you will dream of this after returning to you home.

Helpful?
3 Thank theflyingcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzzards Bar & Grill also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Buzzards Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing