We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Most amazing dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DECKMAN'S San Jose - CLOSED

DECKMAN'S San Jose
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: American, International, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: KM 29 Costa Azul
Description: DECKMAN'S San Jose offers a daily changing menu, progressive 100% Mexican wine list, live jazz and great bar! Award winning Chef-Owner Drew Deckman greets you nightly with a culinary celebration of local and Baja California Ingredients. Live Music on a regular basis! Mexican Craft Beers and ample outdoor seating.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Most amazing dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Amazing dinner! A fantastic Mexican dining experience not to be missed. Forget the menu, have Deckman and his crew bring out whatever the Chef likes. We had 7 courses with a shot of Mezcal to top it off. I took pictures of each course. I can't stop talking about what a great experience it was.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    27
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Modern Food in San Jose del Cabo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had dinner at Deckman's last week and it was perhaps the 4th or 5th time we've eaten there. Drew Deckman's food just keeps getting better and better, and his inventiveness has redefined modern food in southern Baja. No wonder he's been asked to be a judge on Top Chef Mexico! Great atmosphere at the restaurant, and the service was flawless.

He has a great bar, and hand-picks most all of the spirits - especially the mescals (we've had a tasting there; he'll pour you a flight and explain the subtle differences between each one). He's also now brewing his own craft beer, which is great.

Deckman's is a "Don't Miss" in San Jose del Cabo!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paulpap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Deckman's is a real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a business trip to Cabo. We go there quite often and never miss an opportunity to eat at Deckman's in San Jose del Cabo! Chef Drew Deckman, a creative artist when it comes to conceptualizing and realizing his ever changing menu, never disappoints!. Using only the freshest local ingredients his food is exciting and delicious. You can choose to eat either a la carte from the blackboard menu or put yourself in Deckman's capable hands, which is always a fun way to go. The atmosphere is causal and relaxed. The full bar has anythng you feel like drinking. and the wine list, which focuses on the wonderful wines produced in Mexico's Valle de Guadalupe, is an eye and brain opener! Deckman knows what he's doing. He's cooking some of the most original food in Sothern Baja. Don't miss dinner at Deckman's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jt1LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second time around was even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My dad and I came here back in December and I vowed to come back for my birthday in April. The food is that amazing! We got the seven-course meal and added on an extra course of foie gras. I definitely left there full! Each course is so elegant and the flavors and sauces match the main dish so perfectly. We already have plans to return when we are in town in June!

This place is pretty pricey, but totally worth it to try out new foods. We have had Gustavo as our waiter both times and he is amazing. He explains all the food, where it is from, etc. Great service, excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank aafgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best service in Cabo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Creatively prepared food and beautiful preparation. When there was a miscommunication about one of the dishes we ordered, Chef Deckman came out to our table to apologize and personally take care of us. The staff's commitment to making sure we had a great evening was exceptional. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Will272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DECKMAN'S San Jose also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing