We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Wonderful food, atmosphere, service; an experience not to be missed! You will feel transported to the grace and charm of the best. Each time I am in San Jose, El Matador is the one place I will not miss. Pablo and his staff are more than willing to accommodate your requests. Their goal is to make your visit special in every way. By the way, if you like chocolate be sure to order the cake for dessert - it comes fresh baked from the oven, so place the order in the beginning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    42
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, nice ambiance....annoying matador trying to sell his music cd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent food, great presentation, everyone enjoyed their dinner,

This restaurant has two matadors, brothers, one cooks, one sings, and goes table to table trying to pressure customers into purchasing his cd for $20, he is persistent.

Annoying, is being kind.....the prices are high, if he had been giving the cd away, I would not have wanted one.

It was embarasing, he was dressed in his costume, going table to table, and a polite NO GRACIAS
WAS NOT ENOUGH, HE CAME BACK....I was embarased for him.....give it up. He should be selling time shares......I did not go out for dinner to buy a cd I did not want..or would ever listen to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food an ambience tucked away in the back streets of San Jose del Cabo. Well executed, honest food in a patio atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sndgrss88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hard to find but well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

El Matador is located several blocks north of the main highway through town but takes some effort to find. It is located in a more residential neighborhood than most of the restaurants that cater to tourists but we have always found the area to be very safe. We drive there in a rental vehicle and parking is always available in front.

In years past the restaurant was very small with only a handful of tables arranged in narrow fashion in the dining room with the cooking station situated at the end of room that allowed for a view of food preparation. This year the restaurant has now completed an open air garden area in back that is very tastefully done with a small pool, nice furnishings and landscaping and a live singer entertaining on the night we visited.

Service was very good and the food was excellent. We had two appetizers---octopus which was grilled with an ajillo sauce and sliced rare tuna which was also outstanding. For the main course we had a scallops dish and the tuna--both outstanding.

The owner and chef shows his appreciation for dining here and is very proud of the new dining area---he welcomes guests to watch the cooking, and yes, he was a matador--in fact last year he took his cape out of its display cabinet and showed us some of his moves!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dubaytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No bull here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I selected this restaurant for our joint 143rd birthday dinner and were not disappointed. It must be one of the best restaurants of San Jose del Cabo.

El Matador is not located in the center of town. A taxa trip is necessary and it can be a bit of a wait to call or catch one on the way back from the place, as it is located in an apparently residential part of San Jose. The restaurant is found in a Mexican hacienda and you feel like in a private home. The chef and owner seems to live with his family upstairs on the first floor. We were seated in the garden next to the small swimming pool. The garden was beautifully lit with great atmosphere and keep heated by outdoor gas-lamp burners of an unusual construction and type.

Service and food was very good. The salad was tossed at the table by our attentive waitress. The best part of the meal was a nicely cooked rack of lamb. A singer, dressed as a matador, added to the atmosphere and did his best to sell CDs with him singing. We settled instead on a photo with him in his finery, which brought happy memories of a delightful birthday dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EagerBeaver_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing