We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning food!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stunning food!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went for my birthday. The setting is lovely in the courtyard. The food was absolutely faultless - a beautiful rack of lamb and a fillet steak. Appetisers were also good - very well presented. Good choice of wines and friendly intimate service. A bit tricky to find as it is in a residential area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toandfromtheairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    27
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was outstanding. I did not expect to find fine Italian dining in this little tourist town but I was plesantly surprised. We had the lamb and the steak they where excellent. The qualitiy of the cuts where excellent and the presentation and taste was unique. The staff was plesant without being overbearing. I would go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Dinner at El Matador is in a beautiful house occupied by the restaurant owner and chef. You can watch you meal being prepared with a view from your table of the open kitchen. The food was fantastic and the owner took us for a tour of the kitchen after we were finished with our meal and introduced us to his uncle and brother who work in the kitchen with him. This was a very relaxing experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jvmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Deserves its number 1 rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Four of us had dinner here. Very nice, new outdoor courtyard with soothing fountain. Young serving staff was very attentive. We had the only Mexican bottle of wine (and the least expensive) on the wine list: XA Vinos Domcq ($ 18 usd). For appetizers we had grilled sizzling octopus (outstanding), 2 Caesar salads made at table side, and very flavorful tortilla soup. For entrees we had 2 fillets, cooked exactly to our specifications, rack of lamb with subtle light mint sauce, seared on outside, little fat; and a NY strip steak which was cut table side to desired thickness from a large piece and weighed; nicely marbled, flavorful beef taste--all excellent. Sides of potato puree, with asparagus, beet, squash, carrot. Save room for desert: key lime pie layered, with just the right amount of tartness; strawberry flambé like a cream, very light and fresh tasting; molten chocolate cake worth the 10 minute wait for them to bake it--very chocolaty (a chocoholic's dream)-- with ice cream cream. With coffee, wine and all, average cost for the 4 of us was $ 59 usd.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bugdr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just wanted to add my glowing review to all of the other excellent reviews. We had a large group of 20 which occupied the main floor interior. Chef Pablo Velez did an excellent job and even flashed his Matador cape for us in demonstration of his form! The service was lovely. We highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing