We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was outstanding. I did not expect to find fine Italian dining in this little tourist town but I was plesantly surprised. We had the lamb and the steak they where excellent. The qualitiy of the cuts where excellent and the presentation and taste was unique. The staff was plesant without being overbearing. I would go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    42
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, IL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Dinner at El Matador is in a beautiful house occupied by the restaurant owner and chef. You can watch you meal being prepared with a view from your table of the open kitchen. The food was fantastic and the owner took us for a tour of the kitchen after we were finished with our meal and introduced us to his uncle and brother who work in the kitchen with him. This was a very relaxing experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jvmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Deserves its number 1 rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Four of us had dinner here. Very nice, new outdoor courtyard with soothing fountain. Young serving staff was very attentive. We had the only Mexican bottle of wine (and the least expensive) on the wine list: XA Vinos Domcq ($ 18 usd). For appetizers we had grilled sizzling octopus (outstanding), 2 Caesar salads made at table side, and very flavorful tortilla soup. For entrees we had 2 fillets, cooked exactly to our specifications, rack of lamb with subtle light mint sauce, seared on outside, little fat; and a NY strip steak which was cut table side to desired thickness from a large piece and weighed; nicely marbled, flavorful beef taste--all excellent. Sides of potato puree, with asparagus, beet, squash, carrot. Save room for desert: key lime pie layered, with just the right amount of tartness; strawberry flambé like a cream, very light and fresh tasting; molten chocolate cake worth the 10 minute wait for them to bake it--very chocolaty (a chocoholic's dream)-- with ice cream cream. With coffee, wine and all, average cost for the 4 of us was $ 59 usd.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bugdr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just wanted to add my glowing review to all of the other excellent reviews. We had a large group of 20 which occupied the main floor interior. Chef Pablo Velez did an excellent job and even flashed his Matador cape for us in demonstration of his form! The service was lovely. We highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“# 1 Restaurant in Los Cabos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I were recently in Los Cabos again....on our last night we called the restaurant and got reservations. We were greeted warmly by Sondra and seated.....The chef Pablo Velez came by to say hello and to explain several of his recommendations.....The dinner , wine , and postres (dessert) were excellent....I can see why this was the # 1 restaurant in this area.......

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing