We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelence in Food and Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Excelence in Food and Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was amazing, the decor and ambiance was excellent and the service was impalpable. I highly recommend this place to all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mahmoudbadeanlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    44
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Coast CA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly,awesome food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food one of best on San Jose Del Cabo. Highly recommend... Ask the qwners to demonstrate how to bullfight as they use to be real bullfighters.. Very cool place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pfreix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food is excellent and always great!!! The service is the best in San Jose. The unique decor is charming . The Caesar sald is the best I've ever had. They prepare it in front of you. Authentic!!! A must visit if you are able to be so lucky to get a reservation..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wfreix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A night to remember! Great food, Great service, Ambiance - outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a fantastic restaurant! There were six of us in our party. From the time we arrived until we left Pablo (the owner) and his wonderful staff made sure our dining experience was nothing but excellent. They truly have a passion and dedication to ensure our evening was one to remember. And I have to say they exceeded our expectations. The food was exceptional! My wife had the Chateaubriane and I the Scallops and Linguini. Both were to die for! To top off the night Pablo, made a point to visit our table to make sure our dining experience was what we expected. He answered the many questions we all had about his experiences as a professional Matador. He did so with enthusiasm. Thank you Pablo and Staff for a very memorable evening. We can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfmoon, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“wonderful evening at El Matador”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Last night my husband and I went for a very wonderful dining experience at El Matador. Caesar Salad prepared table side which was excellent as was my husbands sea bass and my filet was done to perfection. We enjoyed this restaurant very very much. Service was outstanding and the chef/owner Pablo came to our table and spoke with us after our meal. We sat in the courtyard garden which was romantic and private. Next time in San Jose, we will be back for dinner at El Matador for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 22, 2016
Dear customer,
We have added new things to our restaurant as part of ambience. We hope you have chance to try it. It would be great to see you soon!
Best regards!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing