We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal!”
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Pablo is an excellent chef. We loved it so much we went back a few days later with four more friends. Everyone was pleased.

Friendly staff.

And note that the posters on the wall are from his bull fighting days.

A great place to go. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clmeasom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
I were really pleased in that occasion with your visit! Thank you for your supporting in TripAdvisor. It would be great to see you again!
Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    46
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The food was A plus. The service was over and above. Thank you Pablo for an evening we will never forget. We will be back. Many more times. Thank you for the demonstration of what a Matador does. Gracias!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxieGenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 22, 2016
Hello!
Every moment and every year we are doing improvements in our service and facilities. Right now we are working to surprise you with some innovations that we have for next season, and It will be wonderful that you could come to know them. Thank you for your support in TripAdvisor. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tasty, and nicely done”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We ate here the first night of our week-long adventure in Cabo. We called ahead and found out they were booked all night (and then realised it was Valentine's Day--duh!), but they said they could squeeze us in for a very early dinner at 4:30 if we were willing. We said yes, and when we arrived, it appeared that they had opened early just to seat us. Very cool! The waitresses weren't in their cool matador-style uniforms yet, but that didn't bother us.
I ordered a steak (by the ounce) (very cool--they bring out the butcher's block with the whole chunk of meat and you choose the size and cut of your steak) and it was very tasty and had a good texture.
The courtyard garden out front is very lovely. If you can get a seat out here, that would be the prime spot, I think.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erynn_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“a evening you will want to repeat”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Dinner Feb 16. Ravioli was the best as was the sea bass. We enjoy every aspect of El Matador and expect you will also. If you are not in a hurry, request chocolate souffle when placing food. Hot from the oven, and a chocolate lovers delight.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Dining Experience Ever in Cabo”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We wished we had the same experience has all the other reviews indicated. We were looking forward to a fabulous dining experience, it was just the opposite. We had reservations, when we arrived we were asked if we wanted to be seated next to the fire place. We were sat outside next to the propane heater. When we requested to be moved inside, we were told there was only a table for 6 available. The service outside was awful. The only way we could ever get the waitress attention was to have the guy at the front door go get her. We ordered the Caesar salad. Some of the reviews we read indicated how great it was to have the salad made at your table. The menu indicated the salad was made at your table. This was the main reason we order the salad. We had to have the guy at the front door ask our waitress where our Caesar salad was. When she finally brought it, it was already made on 2 plates. We asked why it was not made at the table, She told us, it was only made at the table for inside guests. Nowhere on the menu was this indicated. We were about half way through eating our salad when our entrees showed. The entrees were the only good tasting food we ate at El Matador. The chef did come out and gave us a different reason why the salads were not prepared at our table. They made our salad table side with a salad they made inside. We had to request our bill 2 different times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 21, 2016
Dear Ms./Mr.
I apologize about my really late answer, I am not a computer man but I'm getting better. Just want to say that some times in life everybody could has bad days, mistakes or not be good looking. This is the life. We really sorry you have had a bad experience between so many happy people. We expect to have the opportunity to change your opinion into a following visit.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing