We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best secret in Mexico”
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: To all our clients we want to inform you that due the low season, from August 15th to September 31st, this restaurant opens its doors only with reservation of at least one day in advance and for groups of 4 or more people. If you already have a confirmed reservation within this time, do not worry, your reservation is still active, it will be a pleasure to receive it. Thank you! El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years. This
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a fabulous meal at the Matador. The restaurant is located on the outskirts of San Jose and a must stop if you like great food. The Cesar Salad is made at your table with the freshest ingredients and is the best I have ever had. The spinach Ravioli is "to die for". It is made fresh and prepared with a wonderful sauce . The wines are very reasonably priced making the dining experience one of a kind . This is the best restaurant in San Jose and Cabo San Lucas. Pablo and his Staff do a wonderful job.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank johnpearson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2016

Thank you very much for coming, still with the construction on the roads for that we wait end soon. We are very happy that you have enjoyed the place and dinner.
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for El Matador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 419 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a perfect evening at El Matador.
Such great tastes of fresh ingredients mixed with cuisine of Mexico and Italy.
A new and different look to elegant in the middle of San Jose.
A very worthwhile experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Dear customer, if you have not known our new courtyard, or tried the new things of the menu, we invite you to visit us this season. You are going to be charmed with it. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Every positive review of this restaurant is true. We decided to give it a try recently during our first visit to San Jose del Cabo, Mexico, and I'm glad we did. The restaurant is located on the first floor of a home in a quaint neighborhood, not too far off the main road. The owner/chef is an actual matador who still performs occasionally and lives in the home. Back to the food. Expect greatness and you won't be disappointed. My tuna steak was perfect and their tortilla soup was outstanding. Following our meal, the chef gave us a tour of his kitchen. Friendly staff, interesting menu, great food with an excellent presentation. Don't miss this one! www.elmataorrestaurante.com

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Murph211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Hello! We hope you have the opportunity to enjoy some new things that we are preparing for next season! It would be great! Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited El matador last November and it was amazing, the food is great everything perfectly cooked and the flavors where incredible, you must try the Scallops appetizer it is delicious, you will really enjoy this restaurant, it is probably the best location in Cabo, but you will have a unique experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rpfatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

How have you been? Please, come to say hello when you come back to Cabo again. Thank you for your review! A lot of people have visited this place because of it!
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful passion filled meal at El Matador in San Jose del Cabo recently. The food was flavorful and very generous portions (perhaps just a tad too much garlic in everything) The cocktails were fun and had a great kick. With the open kitchen you got to see the chef's (the matador) cook with his heart to make every dish with love and flavor. A really fun night off the beaten path.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RedShoesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Love and garlic! Good couple! It woud be great to see you again! This time you can add a cooking lesson to your experience!
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing