We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Paseo Los Marinos esq. | Balandra y Portaviones Col. El Chamizal, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
526241570443
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited El matador last November and it was amazing, the food is great everything perfectly cooked and the flavors where incredible, you must try the Scallops appetizer it is delicious, you will really enjoy this restaurant, it is probably the best location in Cabo, but you will have a unique experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rpfatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
How have you been? Please, come to say hello when you come back to Cabo again. Thank you for your review! A lot of people have visited this place because of it!
Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    27
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Made with Love (and Garlic)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful passion filled meal at El Matador in San Jose del Cabo recently. The food was flavorful and very generous portions (perhaps just a tad too much garlic in everything) The cocktails were fun and had a great kick. With the open kitchen you got to see the chef's (the matador) cook with his heart to make every dish with love and flavor. A really fun night off the beaten path.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RedShoesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Love and garlic! Good couple! It woud be great to see you again! This time you can add a cooking lesson to your experience!
Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Who would have known??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After receiving a tip that EL MATADOR was a good restaurant, we decided to give it a try....and are we ever happy we did! When we arrived, we were the only diners there and wondered if we had made a mistake!! After tasting our dinner, we knew that we had found a very special place and that other travelers need to know about it!
The restaurant has great ambiance, the service was great and very professional, but best of all, the food was fabulous. We watched the chef and former matador personally prepare our dinner of "Chateaubriand" with handmade pasta and perfectly cooked vegetables. I might add that the dinner was also beautifully presented on the plate. Owner, Chef and Matador, Pablo Velez also visited with us at our table making it a night to remember. We visit San Jose often and we will always make a point of going back to EL MATADOR!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PortOrchardposting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Across the years, we continue in the effort to deliver the better service. Thank you for your valuable contribution. We wait for you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Underrated Ranking; Read the reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Four of us went for dinner--our 9th vacation trip to San Jose. It was busy, with 2 waitresses serving at least 5 large tables. Worth looking for. If you give the address to the taxi driver, he'll know where to go and probably pick you up at a designated time for return. Route 1 towards the airport from San Jose, turn left on Pescador, 5 or so blocks beyond.
We had chateaubriand for 2, a filet mignon, and sea bass--all excellent. All about $25-30 USD each. Excellent tortilla soup, better and more spicy than at 2 other restaurants. All food made to order, including Caesar salad at table side. We sat at the table nearest the kitchen and watched Pablo cook--extremely interesting. He told us how he became a chef after being a bull fighter, in response to our questioning. Some of his friends stood opposite the grill and talked to him while he cooked. Chocolate ganache baked after ordered (30 minutes) with ice cream on the side. Mexican key lime pie also excellent.
We agree with all the great reviews about the chef, the service, the food, the ambience, and the "worth-looking-for" comments. Read them in Trip Advisor. Value of the food and the experience is definitely worth the moderate price. Many more expensive restaurants can't touch the value of this experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bugdr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
We continue building up experiences and conversations of kitchen bar. Thank you for this great review, makes me go back in memories.
Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to San Jose del Cabo for 28 years. El Matador is probably one of the best restaurants in the area. It is tucked away in a residential neighborhood. You are in for a treat as everything is hands down delicious. As an appetizer we had the coconut shrimp, and grilled octopus. Then table side prepared Caesar Salad. Mains were Stuffed Poblano Chile with shrimp, and Veal Scallopini. We will be back before we leave!!

Helpful?
2 Thank iluvtotravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
The whole team of El Matador send you greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing